We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding spot!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #9 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect wedding spot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I decided right after getting engaged that I wanted to have a destination wedding. I couldn't decide where I wanted to go so I worked with a travel agent (Nanda) at Beach Bum Vacations who recommended Playacar Palace. I took her recommendation and I am so thrilled that I did! Playacar was a large enough resort to have all of the services and amenities that we wanted without being so big as to be overwhelming.
We had a wedding with about 30 guests, all of whom stayed at the resort. Our wedding on the beach was absolutely perfect! Planning it was a breeze with the help of the wedding coordinator that Playacar provided us - Wilma. Our guests had a blast at the resort, they couldn't say enough about how much they enjoyed their stay. A few have already made plans to visit Playacar Palace again!
The beach in front of the resort is just beautiful, the pool area is really fun and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need!
One small incident did have potential to ruin the big day - the laundry lost my fiance's wedding clothes that we had sent to have pressed! This could have been a huge disaster but the management acknowledged their mistake and accompanied my fiance to buy all new wedding clothes in town - and he ended up with something even nicer than what we had brought with us!
I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a great location and a relaxing stay in Riviera Maya. Oh - and the food is amazing!

Room Tip: Just make sure you aren't on the first floor behind the pool bar - I think that might be the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,924
    514
    152
    38
    28
See reviews for
857
1,162
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Absolutely perfect location for a destination wedding. We had about 50 people stay at the resort and attend our wedding. Food is delicious. Service is top notch. Beautiful property. Very friendly staff. They couldn't have been more accomodating. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at Playacar in April 2011 and went back in March 2012. It is a lovely resort--down to earth, but still very pampering! The staff and service are excellent at the restaurants, pools and even the beach! We love walking into "town" down "Fifth Avenue"! It is fun, safe and just an easy "something to do" if you want to get off the beach for a while or do some souvineer shopping. My husband enjoyed the golf there as well. We were fortunate enough to be able to upgrade to a "Governor's Suite", which was a beautiful room, with a gorgeous view. We traveled with two other couples in 2011, and we all had very nice rooms with good views as well. There was a little construction noise this trip, as they are adding an on-site spa to Playacar. We can hardly wait to enjoy the spa on the premises instead of having to go by shuttle to another location. If you don't enjoy your trip to Playacar, it has to be your own fault--the staff does their very best to make sure you have everything you want, and to entertain you daily!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Staff are amazing..I have never experienced the service they provide. The resort is absolutely beautiful ...will definately go back and highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good...make sure you get a pool/beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I just got married at the Playacar Palace on April 29, 2012. We had 25 guests with us and we can easily say everyone LOVED it! The service was amazing from the moment we arrived at the Playacar. It is about a 40 minute drive from the airport, but as soon as you arrive you are offered a drink and check-in was fast and easy.

The rooms at the Playacar are beautiful. They are clean and modern and the views are beautiful. We have been to Cancun before and the views of Cancun and Playa del Carmen cannot be beat. The sand is so white and soft and the ocean is the bluest blue. The hotel, as you have read, is in a great location next to the ferry to Cozumel and 5th Avenue, a huge area with shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend going when the sun goes down since it gets a little warm! :)

What we loved most about the Playacar Palace is the size - it is not a "mega-resort" so there is only one pool area and it is easy to get from room to room. The restaurants were all delicious - our favorite was La Terrazza, the Italian restaurant, but the Asian was also great and the buffet always had a variety of different foods to choose from. We have only stayed at one other all-inclusive, but the food here was definitely better.

The service at the pool bar is excellent - Blanca was especially wonderful and we always had a drink in hand. Although gratuity is "included", please leave them tips! They are so wonderful and everything you say is responded to with "it's a pleasure" - they are so nice & wonderful. Gabriel at the pool during the day and Luna Lounge at night was hilarious and always kept us entertained. Josefina at the lobby bar was also someone we came across a lot at night and she was amazing. She was so friendly and helpful and we will all really miss her! :)

And for the wedding - talk about the most perfect day imaginable. Thanks to Wilma, our wedding coordinator (and the rest of the staff of course), we had the most amazing wedding day. We were married at the wedding terrace (La Terrazza del Sol) on the 3rd floor and it was absolutely perfect. The view was amazing and it was much more private than the weddings on the beach (although those were all beautiful as well). Wilma really kept everything calm and stress-free. She had everything organized just the way we wanted it and made everything look amazing. Thanks to her and everyone at the Playacar we had the wedding of our dreams and will forever be grateful to them and their staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My daughter and her fiance picked this property because they wanted to get married on the beach. Very beautiful beach. The wedding planner, Laura made things very easy and enjoyable.

A big thank you to cesar, judith, laura, alma, gerado and blanca. You guys made our trip a pleasure.

If you love a beautiful beach this is your place.

Room Tip: Ocean view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Apr 16-23.

Service is excellent at this hotel. It only has 200 rooms. The staffs make every efforts to please you. It seems that their wage is a little higher than other hotels in Riviera Maya.That's why they have more passion to serve the customers.

Location is great. About 100 meters away from the ferry terminal to to Cozumel. 50 meters away from 5th avenue. One night, we walked the whole 5 th ave up to 38 street. Very nice. Be aware, the hotel is right below a small airport's take off track. You may get waken up at 8AM due to the plane's take off noise. It only happens one or two times/day though.

Beach has very soft white sand. The hotel's neighbourhood are condos and there are no other hotels. So the beach is not crowed at all. If you walk along the beach for half hour and close to RIU place area, you will see totally different scenario. Thousands of people lie down there.

The food quality was above average. But not much selections though. We tried Italy restaurant 3 times. Excellent service. We also tried romatic lobster dinner at beach. Lobster is over cooked.

They gives $1000credit/room for 7 nights stay. We used the credit to swim with the dolphin, massage at spa, romantic dinner at beach and professional photos. I suppose they charge $1500 per adult for 7 nights. Those $1000 credit maybe worth $300/room.

We also have noticed that this hotel's mainstream customers are from corporate event or group travellers. It is not seldom to see hundreds of people coming and leaving together.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.