We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service - beware of resort credit game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Save Saved
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good service - beware of resort credit game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at the resort with a group of friends to celebrate milestone birthdays. I was told the resort was more expensive than “Adventura Cove Palace” due to its close location to Fifth Avenue shopping area. It is also close to Banco Santander ATM (on Av Benito Juarez, between 20 and 25 Av Sur). With Bank of America ATM, I can withdraw MXM (Mexican Peso) with no fee. The exchange rate is the best, USD1 = MXM 14.09 (November 24, 2011). Bus station is 5-minute walk from the resort. The closest Starbucks is at Paseo del Carmen, only 3-minute away on foot. Airport transfer from cancun-cab.com was good and on time. It costs USD45 per person round trip. However, according to the taxi fares displayed at Playacar Palace, it costs only MXM 520 (about USD 37) for one way airport transfer. This rate is per car, not per person. The resort architecture is minimalist (like the name says, the design is simple and minimal). It is not as grand as I thought after reading other reviews. If you want a luxurious resort with manicured garden and elegant landscaping, go to Westin Resort in Bali (see my previous review of Westin Resort in Nusa Dua, Bali).

Restaurants
=========================
There are two a-la-carte restaurants: Italian “La Terraza” and Asian “Mo Mo No Hana”, and one buffet “Café del Mar”. We dined at the Italian and Asian restaurants. The menu choices are fancy but the food is so-so. I think only the fried lomien is not bad. Similar to the grand buffet in Las Vegas, Café del Mar has more than 50 buffet items to choose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Before you travel, lose some lbs. first, so you won’t feel guilty at the buffet. Ask the waiter to “mix” Mayan coffee in front of your table. Mayan coffee is a mix of liquor, vanilla ice cream, coffee and flame. It is best to share this 500+ calories dessert. Ask for Styrofoam boxes and fill them with food – for picnic, eat by the pool or even take it to the airport for in-flight meal (since most airlines do not provide complimentary meal).

Rooms
=========================
Our room rate was $318 per night and we received $1,500 resort credit with 5 night stay in the Deluxe room. When we checked in, they could not upgrade our room. They said the room upgrade was based on availability. On the third day, I asked again about the room upgrade. The key here is PERSISTANCE. Finally, they let us upgrade to Suite on the ground floor using the resort credit ($140 upgrade fee per night). Later I was told by the room service that the suite has actually been empty since we checked in. Of course, suite is much better than deluxe. It has separate living room, two TVs, two fridges, liquor dispensers in 3 cabinets. You can host a private party at the extra-large veranda that can easily fit 8 guests or more.

Tours
=========================
I recommend taking Chichen Itza tour using the resort credit. It is a long trip, but worth every penny. If you want to buy souvenirs, do not buy from the shop that the tour agent brings you. For the best price, buy from the vendors at Chichen Itza. There are numerous (800+) vendors around Chichen Itza selling mostly the same stuff. Practice your haggling skill with them. It is always a good idea to carry MXM (Mexican Peso). As a general rule, if the price is in USD, you should pay in USD, not MXM. In my experience, the vendor offered the product in USD, but when I was about to pay, they converted the price to MXM with poor exchange rate (worse than big banks). Do your math.

Before the trip, I did some research about the full day tour to Tulum organized by Palace resort. This tour is accompanied with lunch and snorkel in Xel-Há. As I found out, they omitted Xel-Há for cost-cutting reason. So, basically you spend couple hours in Tulum, then they drop to at Adventura Cove Palace for lunch and 2 hour afternoon free-and-easy. If I have known that the itinerary was changed, I would not take the tour.

Lobster Dinner
=========================
One way to cash out the resort credit quickly is to have a lobster dinner. Don’t faint - the price is $159 per person. Our group had the lobster dinner together accompanied by $195 champagne. Here is menu: Seahourse - juicy clam scallops served with tuna fish tartar on a delicious puff pastry (entrée), Real Cream Soup – a delightful combination of asparagus cream soup and crunchy masago fish eggs in lime vinaigrette (soup), Sunset – an exquisite Angus Beef fillet perfumed with Port and garnished with lobster tail served in beuree meunier au Cointreau and Napoleon style vegetables (main course), Chocolate Delicacy – a fine combination of soft chocolate and strawberry mousse in a crunchy basquet flavored with sambucca (dessert). Without doubt, the dinner was excellent, but is it worth $159? So far, the best dinner in my life was at Al Iwan restaurant, Burj Al Arab, Dubai, UAE (see my previous review of Burj al Arab in Dubai, UAE). If I rate it 10, then the lobster dinner at Playacar Palace is 6. Ironically, the lobster dinner costs 50% more (food at Burj al Arab was about $100, drinks extra).

Conclusion
=========================
Location is the main reason that we stay at Playa del Carmen Palace. It is close to shopping area, ATM and the ferry to Cozumel. All-inclusive experience at Palace resort is superb, especially if you like to drink (liquor dispenser is available in the room). Restaurant and bar staff is very nice and friendly but front desk staff is reluctant to upgrade the room, unless you are persistent. The idea that I stay in Playa del Carmen and I can enjoy the amenities in other Palace resorts, e.g.: Cozumel Palace, is delightful. At home, before you arrive at the hotel, think carefully what you are going to do with the resort credits. Certain tours are not scheduled every day, so plan ahead. For the best value of your stay, you need to simply utilize the entire resort credit. Our resort credits were used up for tour, spa, lobster dinner, photo, and room upgrade.

Duty Fee Shop, Cancun airport
=========================
Several liquors at the duty free shop are cheaper than Pennsylvania. Prices are in USD. Beware that if you pay with Amex, the price is converted to MXM. Don’t forget the foreign transaction fees charged by the credit card companies. But I think it is still cheaper to buy. Liquor-filled chocolates are overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    437
    136
    36
    27
See reviews for
718
995
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Background

My husband and I travel South to all inclusives about 3 times a year. In the past 4 or 5 years we have limited the resorts to Adults only. With few exceptions, we try to stay at 4.5 or 5 star resorts in Mexico or DR. Last month, we along with about 30 guests attended a family wedding at Playacar Palace. For this travel reason, we stayed at a non Adult only hotel. Not too many kids, except for the Thanksgiving weekend when there were quite a few, and typically hanging at the swim up bar and taking over water sports in the pool. Oh well..

In General

We very much enjoyed our stay. The first impression, after a quick check in and a short walk taking us to the large terrace overlooking the pool and ocean, is wow! Minimalist design. No landscaping but very attractive. We booked an ordinary room which was very nice with a great ocean view. The resort is spotless. The food and drinks are better than average, consistently. We didn't see much of the entertainment, but what we did see was simple production. I would say the majority of guests are upscale and in a wide range of ages.

Food and Beverage

The Italian chef who is up and about among guests frequently, has things together. The a la carte menu selection at both restaurants is better than at most all inclusives and well prepared and presented. The buffet is plentiful but I would say on the small side, likely because of the popularity of the 2 a la carte restaurants and the small size of the hotel. There's a barbecue pool-side about every other day or so. Every meal I ate, whether a snack by the pool, a 5 course meal, room service or buffet was excellent. My compliments to chef Massimilliano.

The drinks were consistently prepared with popular brand name liquors if that's what you ordered. There was no shortage. The house wine was hit and miss. The upgraded wine selection is extensive. If you don't see it on the wine list, ask the head waiter/ sommelier who is always more than happy to get it for you. Pool and beach side drinking cups are 10 oz washable plastic glasses as opposed to the large plastic hurricane glasses I've used at other resorts.

Pool and Beach

The pool was very warm and clean. Lots of chairs, even in shade if that's your pleasure. The beach was one of the best I've seen. It's extremely wide and you could walk it forever too. A variety of very good music most of the day. Entertainers kept guests busy with beach and pool volley ball, water polo, aquacise and various pool games.

Credits

Having been to Secrets Resorts and so having used their credit/point system, I wasn't really excited about the 2000 credits assigned to us. The difference between Secrets credits and Palace credits is that you don't have to spend money in order to use the credits. There is no "catch". We used it for golf - round, cart, transportation, beverages, food - all included in the credit for $150. We paid nothing and there were no limits. We had 3 massages all for free - The spa is limited to $400 in credits but that's the only limited area. The point is the credits are truly like cash. I think it made a difference in our vacation.

Service

Impeccable, very eager to help with anything, friendly, not attached to whether or not you tipped. In fact, the service was so good everywhere you wanted to tip, and tip often. I've never seen a pool bar even a swim up bar without customers waiting for their drink. You simply never, never waited. The pool and beach servers were providing new drinks before your old drink was finished - consistently. The hotel, from my perspective, did a very good job with the wedding which included the after ceremony cocktail reception, dinner and dancing in a privater terrace area in front of the ocean.

Having said all that and including my raving about the consistent service, I will mention one dinner at the Asian restaurant which was bizarro. Everything good we experienced about the service was reversed. It was so disastrous that after the initial annoyance phase passed it became and continued to be hilarious right up to receiving another table's soup while I was eating my entree. The manager eventually took over our table. I think the poor waiter was so frustrated, he just made things worse with time.

All in all, a beautiful, well managed resort. Be prepared that it is not only small in the number of rooms, restaurants and bars but also it is very compact with no green spaces. You would enjoy instead very nice, but cemented terraces.

No problem to contact me if you need more information.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA-USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This resort is on the BEST stretch of beach in the area. Also, very close to everything. no cab needed!! Very safe area.
Rooms are great, food is great. Nice restaurants. As I stated above, the rating is very good. The only aspect I did not love was the lobby and check in area. Kind of open air, not much air conditioning. I was dripping sweat as I checked in. The other aspect was some staff could have been more professional and or accommodating.

But, that being said I will go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Smaller than most and low key, we chose it based on prior experience with Palace, proximity to the shopping area of Playa del Carmen, and the ferry dock to Cozumel. Although our agent said we could use resort credits to upgrade our room, our daily requests were turned down by front desk manager, always claiming "we are very full". The empty bars, beach cots, and tables in restaurants disputed that; I would generously give it about 2/3 occupied.

Good points were the cleanliness, upbeat and friendly attitude of the serving staff, and - due to low occupancy I would think - availability of good tables in restaurants and beach cots. Food was quite good but not a lot of variety. The daily buffet became a little boring after three days, and the theme restaurants (Italian..sort of, and Asian...sort of) were just OK. We used $350 of credits for the Romantic Beach Dinner of lobster and champagne on our last night there, and would only recommend it if, like us, you had a slug of credits which would otherwise go unused.

There was construction/repair going on, but they started up at a reasonable hour and quit early, so we were never disturbed by it. On the beach or out touring.

A big plus for us was the proximity to the extensive Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue shopping district. We have stayed at some of those huge but isolated resorts, and really enjoyed being able to enjoy a change of scene and some local color with just a very short walk.

We really enjoyed the tours to the Mayan ruins at Coba and at Chichen Itza, both "free" using hotel credits. Book early for these, as you will be riding a smaller bus or van to shuttle to a larger Palace resort to join the full-size bus. Coba will use up most of your day, Chichen Itza will take from 0800 to 1900, but is worth it - it's been deemed one of the seven modern wonders of the world along with the Great Wall, Machu Picchu, etc. (A big thank-you to Cristina of the customer service crew, who acted fast to help us get on the Coba tour after we booked late!)

Stay there again? Well, we like to move around and try different places and areas, but it would be high on our list, and I would easily recommend it to those who don't need the full 5-Star experience, but like the things I have pointed out here as positives.

Room Tip: Try to get on 3rd, 4th or 5th floors overlooking pool, with a room numbered from 335-339, 435-439, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This was a "girls" getaway for much needed r&r. This Palace is low keyed and very quaint. It is a great place for couples or someone wanted a layed back atmosphere. The mexican market is beside this resort and was great to get out and walk around. The ferry to Cozumel is, also, beside this resort! Food very good!

Room Tip: Always book an oceaview or oceanfront room for the other views are of the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We just returned from the Playacar Palace and were amazed by the service, amenities and staff ! When they say all-inclusive they are not kidding...from the fantastic meals to the fully stocked mini-bars in the rooms...everything exceeded our expectations. Everyone connected with this property was super friendly, efficient and accommodating. Especially Vaney in the breakfast dining room. She greeted me very morning with a smile and hola while making omelets, waffles, pancakes and french toast. The girl can multitask! Rodrigo made activities in the evening fun.

We used our $1500 in credits for Spa treatments at Moon Palace, swimming with dolphins at Dolphinas (amazing experience...better than Discovery Cove or the Bahamas), souvenir photos and bottles of Moet Champagne (there is Mexican "champagne" included in the all-inclusive...good but the Moet was for a special occasion).

We have stayed at all-inclusives in Jamaica and the Bahamas and this was by far our greatest experience. We will be back.

Also, as tarheelmom said, the membership spiel was painless and no pressure. We also $200 in Spa credits for listening.


There is nothing more that I can ad to the reviews by tarheelmom, Dikocsis and the rest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent the week of November 12-19. My husband and I have been to many resorts over the years this was the best so far. The entire staff was amazing. Always greeted with hola and a smile. From the time we checked in until we checkout all our needs exceeded all expectations. At check in you are given $1,500.00 credits for a week stay. These credits can be used for the following: room upgrades, golf, spa treatments, tours, dinner on the beach, photos, wine and champagne upgrades, tequila and limo ride back to the airport if you are staying at the Palace resorts in Cancun. Went to the spa twice, very, very nice. They offer good tours and the photo session was fun!!! Did not feel any pressure about their time share spill. Was only asked once when we first got there. We have felt pressure at other resorts that we have stayed at. The rooms are very nice and clean, beds are comfortable too. We had a nice pool and ocean view room. Free calls from your room back to the US, very nice touch. The frig in the room stayed stocked with soda, water and beer the entire week. Room also has a liquor dispenser in the room with top shelf liquor. We spent time at the lobby bar and the service was the best. By mid week the bartenders knew what my husbad drank. Many thanks to Gaspar, Geraldo, Juan you guys amazing!! The bars have Sol and Dos Equis draft. Or you can get bottled Bohemia. Ate dinner a few times in the Italian resturant and meet Ernesto. If you want service this man can give it. I had a little too much to drink one night and had to go back to the room before we got our food. Next thing I know there is a knock at our door. It was Ernesto bringing our dinner to us. Now people that is service. We had not asked to have it delivered but Ernesto is the man. Tried again the next night, which happened to be my birthday. Ernesto had a special table made up for me. Red napkins, candles and happy birthday with stones on the table. A wonderful dinner, birthday cake and a song. Hats off to a special night for me. Angel is the head matrdee in the Italian Resturant. What a happy and sweet man. Take the time to talk with him you will enjoy his spirit. Other that I want to give a special thanks to is Santos at the buffett. Always there to refill your coffee, get you more juice or anything else you need. Heads up to Leslie at the lobby bar, ready to take you drink order. The shows at night we not bad. I have seen better and worse. The beach is beautiful, pool is very nice and just a very short walk to town. We ate well all week, food was very good. One night we did take a taxis and went to El Fogon for dinner. A locals resturant for great Mexican food!!!! Also had lucnch twice at a family owned no name joint beside the resot in an alley on the way to 5th avenue. Really a hole in the wall. Very much a locals place. We ate a light lunch with soda for $4.00. WOW!!!! Nothing fancy at all, just good food. As you can tell we had a wonderful vacation, sorry for the length. Please feel free to ask questions I have nothing negative to say. Ready to go back now. We usually don't stay at the same resort twice, we like to try different ones. Hope to see the staff and Playacar Palace real roon!!!!!

Room Tip: Use your credits to upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;