We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Quetzal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Quetzal Playacar to your Saves list
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Iberostar Quetzal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a ten night holiday at this great resort.
The bad points-Arriving on the 4th January 2014 we were sadly greeted by rain/grey skies which lasted for half of our holiday.
The good points-The weather improved !!!!!!! - the hotel is traditional and not too big.The room was fine and was cleaned once a day,with towel designed animals a feature courtesy of the maids.
The staff in general are very attentive in particular the lobby bar staff who waited on us hand and foot.
The staff at the buffet and various restaurants were always happy to serve and never left you with an empty glass.
The waiting on staff on the beach were fantastic-always smiling and bringing drinks-so you did,nt have to stray too far from the sun lounger.
The grounds were fantastic and the presence of the animals was fascinating,great fun to see them daily.
The beach was great with warm water and white sand.
The weather as mentioned was a bit of a bummer but we did have a few good days and made the most.
The food is plentiful and varied-you would have to be really picky not to find something you like.
As an experience I would certainly rate this hotel and would look to go again.
My only criticism was re the various Al La Carte restaurants.
It stipulates that gents have to wear shirts with sleeves and no shorts,but on the four occasions we attended we saw several guys wearing sports/beach shorts.
I think in the Buffet restaurant its fine but if its stipulated then it should be encouraged as the Al Le Carte Restaurants are meant to be the more "special" dining nights.
Im not being picky but its just an observation.
Hopefully we will visit again in the near future-



The grounds of the hotel

Room Tip: We were situated in Room 2726-about 5 mins walk from the beach-however if you are elderly it would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mark C,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for choosing us. We are deeply grateful of your visit to our beautiful resort!

Besides the rainy season and other weather issues, we are very glad to receive your comments and great appreciations about our services and the natural hospitality of our staff during your stay.
The best reward that we can have is your compliments and suggestions that help us to improve and offer you a memorable stay.

Your points of view regarding our A la carte restaurants are very well appreciated and will be shared with our restaurant staff too. After listening to our guests about the dress code, we recently changed our policy.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    783
    191
    84
    34
See reviews for
1,001
965
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the Quetzal side. Grounds are pretty and it was nice to see the forest from our balcony. I did however request a top floor room, twice before our trip, and we were given a middle room. When I asked the receptionist if we could change rooms, it was a very curt no. We had problems with the electricity shutting off in the middle of the night, which included the air conditioner. Stopped by the front desk twice to get it fixed, as our phone did not work in our room. Finally came at 11:30 at night and the next day it happened again.
Beach is great and it is a nice pool area. The Star Friends are excellent. Even though the weather was not great, there was still plenty to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your hotel review and your nice comments regarding our services and the beautiful tropical forest you could enjoy from our balconies. We appreciate your positive comments and feedback about our hotels Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

We want to apologize for the inconvenience incurred into the electricity system during your stay. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to keep all premises in optimum conditions in order to prevent inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. We highly appreciate your comments and take them into consideration to keep our areas and rooms impeccable.

We also would like to mention that all guests requests concerning room allocation or type are taken into consideration and our Front Desk Manager will do his best to fulfill them if availability allows, but unfortunately they cannot be guaranteed. We regret to hear that one of our Front Desk representatives was not helpful to you as this is not part of our customer service principles.

We also appreciate your kind comments to our enthusiastic hotel team; the star fiends are always looking for new activities to exceed our guests’ expectations.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal in a next visit to the Mexican Caribbean.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Christmas vacation with 6 adults age 31-55 and 4 children age 2-9. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Check in was a minor hassle due to the info required to be filled out but what are you going to do. Accept it.
We enjoyed our room in the 2100 block, close to the beach but a little walk to dine. My wife and I both thought the beds were fine, not hard or soft but this is all subjective. Play hard, drink hard and you will sleep well! The rooms were very well kept and tended to daily, kudos to our maid(s).
The beach was fantastic, the 2-5 year olds needed life jackets(bring your own) for the ocean. Water was a little murky as expected when the waves are up but when wave action is low the water was clear and many schools of fish could be seen close to shore. Four of us when went on the short snorkeling tour and the 9 year old thought it was better than Xel-Ha (me too). Saw rays, sea turtle and numerous fish and coral. Pools were nice and the kiddie pool was perfect for the 2 and 4 year old. It was busy on the beach and many people had reserved chairs with their towels early however we usually found somewhere to sit. Sand was clean and easy on the feet (no rocks). Beach activities were good, zumba and beach volleyball were our passions but there were many activities throughout the day on the beach and in the pool.
We found the buffet food to be very good especially with 2 picky eaters, there was something for everyone. Water and wine was topped up often and wait staff were very good. Beverages around the resort were awesome.
We attended the nightly entertainment starting at 8 pm for the kids and the granddaughters loved taking part on stage and dancing around in front of the stage. Adult entertainment was very good and nightly humorous games with guests were entertaining.
They gave every child a gift from Santa on Christmas Eve and you could drop off a special gift at the front desk which Santa would give out as well.
A special thanks to Andres of the entertainment staff who made a special connection with our 4 and 5 year olds. They really enjoyed the extra attention he gave especially after trying to learn Spanish with him. If you take an interest in other peoples language, culture and country you will find they really open up. Some simple words go a long way...hola, gracias, por favor.
This was a great resort for a group our size and definitely recommend this resort for family vacations with children.
Tip: don't start your safe code with a zero

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

Your positive evaluation about our rooms, the beach, the several activities and our food confirms us that we achieved our goal to ensure every single guest an unforgettable stay.

Especially your positive feedback about our staff team makes us proud and motivates us more to give every day the best service in order to make our guests happy.

It would be a pleasure if we could welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel Great staff always smiling all day and they work very long hours it's in a great location and the beach is very nice The pool is very big.Always found a sunbed on the beach all by the Pool The restaurants are very good and the bars are to all in all this was a great holiday very relaxing and I would definitely go back to this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear SteveBrighton,

In the name of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for having chosen us as the destination for your vacations. We also thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.

We are really satisfied to acknowledge that your stay was memorable thanks to our great staff, the restaurants and the beautiful beach. At Iberostar Hotels and Resorts are committed to providing the best service to our beloved guests. Your positive comments regarding our team are much appreciated!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I brought my family to the Iberostar Quetzal for the Christmas Holiday Dec 21-28 2013. The food was fabulous and the staff overall was very nice. The beach is beautiful and the resort keeps it very clean. Our trip was going very well until our 5th night. Our children kept showing up with bites and everyday they got worse. My husband and I were fine, not one bite. So we looked in the childrens room around their beds and found the excrement in the mattress and the little red bugs scattering over the sheets when we first turned on the lights. Yes....bed bugs. We have always read about them, but this was our first experience. They were in both the rooms our children were staying in, rooms 2201 and 2205. I immediately asked for new rooms. They provided one right away. For the second room they told me that it must be mosquitoes let in during cleaning and said they didn't have anything available. I threatened to yell bed bugs and finally did they provide a second room for my children. They did not offer us compensation or any apologies. I then had to figure out how to not spread these bugs to our home. I then spent the last days of our holiday vacation researching bed bugs. FYI...websites CDC and EPA. This place should train their staff to detect bed bugs just as much as they should train them for hospitality services in responding to an outbreak. I will not be returning this resort.

Room Tip: Building 2100, 2300 ground room. They are close to the pool and beach and breakfast area. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear 874jennyh,

On behalf of the Management of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the Riviera Maya.

We appreciate the time you have taken to forward your comments in regards to your experience with us.

We are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay with us regarding bugs in your bed. Iberostar fumigates regularly all rooms, with non hazardous and biodegradable chemicals. As we are located at the heart of a tropical and sensitive area, we work as much as we can to minimize insects entering at our guests’ rooms causing a negative impact. If a situation could be out of control, our front desk department will do the best they can to change rooms if necessary.

We will make sure to pass the information on to the Management and the different departments involved to continue improving our services, offering you a sincere apology for this inconvenience.

Once again, we thank you for writing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This whole place is amazing!!! We stayed there for a week in december 2013. (Dec22-29)
The rooms are basic (but you dont need a luxury room in this hotel because everything else is just waooo) but always nice and clean. I really liked the bathroom, it has a big shower and so nice.
Tha staff was amazing!!!! They are always smiling and so helpful and friendly! Thanks for everyone of them! There is always some activities! The pools are nice and clean and to many people around..
The beach is amazing!!! Best i have ever seen!! And it had a very comfortable temperature! On the 25th we had a private dinner on the beach where we got engaged!! That was amazing too!!
The jungle goes throughout the hotel is just...awesome!!! It has a lots of animal like monkeys iguanas turtles tucans etc....
This whole place is excellent!! Best hotel i have ever stayed!!!!
I can highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear gimesi0618,

On behalf of our Hotel Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal, we would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing us during your recent family vacation.

We highly appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and our services that make our hotel stand out. We will forward all your constructive comments to the Manager of each department so they can inform their staff.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the beach and the natural environment at our hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your engagement!!

It would a pleasure to host you in the next future, maybe for your wedding :-)

Kindest regards!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Quetzal for two weeks from 4 December 2013. This was our second stay having previously been in 2007. As before we thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks.

Booking in on arrival at reception was a bit chaotic. Only one Receptionist on. There was only about five couples booking in. As we had been before wee had as rough idea of where our room was.

We found all the staff pleasant and helpful. Ramiro the waiter at breakfast was very hard working but extremely pleasant and helpful as was Dora in the evening. Rosy in the lobby bar was lovely.

Beach and sea were beautiful. We swam in the sea every day. A few days were overcast and rainy. The Entertainment Team worked extremly hard and were very amusing. No trouble getting a bed by the pool for a couple.

Good choice of food available. We prefer the more rustic Quetzal to the Tucan but that is a personal choice.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A few people I spoke to had been to the hotel on numerous occasions, one lady told me it was her 12th visit and another her 10th visit. Good recommendation. A lot of thee guests preferred to go and lie on the beach. Shade was difficult to get as guests booked beds. For an all inclusive I TT is good value for money. I love the tropical plants and jungle feel about the hotel grounds. Loads of birds and monkeys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel Management we would like to thank you for posting your review about your 2nd experience at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and for choosing our hotel for your vacations once again.

We are very pleased to read that our beautiful premises, the service provided by our friendly staff and our good food ensured you a memorable holiday. At Iberostar we are committed to providing the best service.

We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

With regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.