We stayed at the Iberostar Quetzal for 5 days in July 2013. This was our 6th trip to the Playa del Carmen/Cancun area. We never stay at the same location twice, because we like to experience different hotels.
Upon our arrival we were greeted by the beautiful lobby area. The palapa/hut style is awesome. along with the nice layout. We found numerous people near the front desk area either checking in, checking out, or making other inquiries. The front desk area was severely understaffed and we had to wait quite a while to get checked in. No big deal. One thing we discovered is the lack of change (currency). We love to tip the waiter/waitresses/bell hop/bartenders, but did not have change for larger bills. Every time we asked the front desk for change we were told they did not have any and that if we needed change we could always ask the bell hops to make us change from their tips.
We finally got checked in and went to our room. Upon entering and placing our bags down, my wife immediately found ants crawling on the tables and walls. In addition to the ants, we found the room's décor to be a little outdated. I compare the room to be equivalent to what you would expect with a $60/night hotel room (Motel 6/La Quinta) in the U.S. During the next 2 days we found that the blow dryer did not work properly and that the shower's water temperature would fluctuate while we bathed from scalding hot to cold. We are not complainers, so we dealt with it.
After the 2nd day, we found a letter slipped underneath our door. It offered a free upgrade to a Junior Suite. We presented the letter to the front desk, who appeared stumped at the request. It was as if they had never seen a letter like it before. After a few phone calls, a male (A supervisor I assume) arrived and upgraded us to an ocean view Junior Suite on the Tucan side for free.
We packed up and were quickly moved to the Tucan side. The room was almost identical to our previous room, minus the ants. The hair dryer worked and the shower worked properly. The only problem was the Air Conditioner did not cool as well as the first room. It was a bit warmer, but bearable. The view was beautiful, but the room was not worth the $99/night that they were asking when we first checked in.
The food at the resort was OK at best. The breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet was basic and seemed to be lacking. We had dinner reservations at the Japanese, Steak, and Seafood restaurants, and experienced better results. The Japanese restaurant was very good and entertaining. The Seafood and Steak house were much better than the buffets, but not by much. Overall our dining experience was probably the worst out of all our trips.
One reason we chose this resort was for the pool and beach area. The pool is extremely large and beautiful. There were ample huts and chairs to whereas you did not have to wake up early and stake claim to a chair just to have a spot later in the day (as we have experienced in past hotels). There was a swim up bar, but it was very basic and seemed to be outdated as well. This swim up bar was not connected to the rest of the pool area and was positioned in a way where the trees blocked the sun. Even though the swim up bar was large, there was limited seating. As far as drinks were concerned (main pool/beach area), we only had one waitress approach us. I believe she was just picking up our empty glasses because when I made a drink request, she rolled her eyes. The easiest, and most likely way to get a drink was to walk to one of the buffets and get one from their bar. There was a walk up bar located between the pool and beach, but it was usually crowded and the drinks were not prepared as well. Positioned in the middle of the large pool, was what we thought was a hot tub. It was shaped like a hot tub, and had jets and bubbles like a hot tub, but when we got in the water was cooler than the pool water.
The beach was easily the most beautiful we have ever experienced. The area was clean and gorgeous. There were plenty of seating and huts available. The beach and water are what you envision when you think of a vacation. Once again we had to get our own drinks, but overall the beach experience was very good.
There were some things we did like about the resort. The scenery and eating areas were very pleasing to the eye. The peacocks, iguanas, monkeys and other creatures roaming the area were magnificent. Once again, the beach was absolutely beautiful.
In closing, we are not world travelers and are not complainers. The cons definitely outweighed the pros in this case for us though. We had previously stayed "The Royal Playa del Carmen" and loved it. There were some things that could have been better, but I imagine that is the case with all hotels. This time the difference between the Iberostar Quetzal and The Royal was approximately $400. For $400 you get SO MUCH MORE at "The Royal" than the Iberostar Quetzal. Even though we enjoyed our vacation, it was disappointing that we experienced so many negative issues.
If you decide to try Iberostar Quetzal, ask to stay on the Tucan side. There is a hotel being const...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review.
We would like to express our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences experience during your recent stay at our hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. Definitely, this is not the type of impression we want our guests to have after visiting our resort.
The feedback about your experience during the check in process will be forwarded to our Front Desk Manager, who we are sure he will look into options of restructuring the representatives available to avoid this service to take too long. We know how uncomfortable it could be to wait to check in after travelling from different parts of the world.
Regarding US dollars change, we would like to explain that Front Desk only has Mexican pesos due to a 2010´s Law that was implemented to prevent foreign currency being of common use. You may change your US dollars for Mexican pesos, in which case front desk staff will request a pictured ID and will take a photocopy of it to comply with the 2010´s Law mentioned above. We are sorry about the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.
All our rooms are supervised by our Housekeeping and Maintenance Department prior to assigning them to our guests so we are very sorry to hear that the one assigned to you did not comply with the requirements we have as standard. The issues regarding the hairdryer and shower will be addressed to Housekeeping and Maintenance. Our rooms are decorated and adapted to match with the environment that represents our hotel; we regret to hear that it was not what you were expecting. We are glad to hear, however, that you took advantage of the special promotion offered to you to upgrade to one of our junior suites which features a privileged location with sea view and particular amenities. Our facilities and rooms are constantly being enhanced; your comments will be taken into consideration in order to look for alternative decorations that might suit with our hotel style.
The comments about our buffet have been addressed to our Chef to identify areas to be improved. Our main buffet offers a variety of dishes accordingly to the theme. Besides this, our guests have the option during the day to visit our snack bar by the beach, our buffet by the beach or order room service in set schedules. We have a great variety of food options available 24 hours, including our 5 a la carte restaurants where our guests may make reservations based on the length of their stay. However, every feedback received is forwarded to management to take into consideration when we are planning improvements.
We are also sorry to hear that your experience with the drinks quality and the service in the pool and beach area was not satisfactory. We already shared it with the persons involved as our guests entire satisfaction is our primary goal. Please note that our beach area has a self service bar, our waiter service is mostly located at pool areas. We also would like to mention that our pool bar has been recently restyled, and this location is located independently because it is meant to be for adults only. Due to the hot weather at our beautiful destination, we offer a cold Jacuzzi in the pool area that provides lots of health benefits; we also have the option of hot and cold Jacuzzi in the spa area which can be alternated.
We hope our answer represents for you and our future guests a welcome note to feel free to contact us while vacationing at our hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and present your concerns. Our staff is always willing to coordinate efforts with the only intention of providing services and assistance to offer unforgettable experiences.
We invite you to stay in touch with our representatives through our website as your opinion is highly valued and it represents to us an opportunity to gain your trust ad loyalty for our hotels. You will also find out in our website the different hotel categories Iberostar offers all around the world, we are sure you will find the one that might be the perfect one for you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.