We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Quetzal Playacar to your Saves list
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Sharonn05
1 review
“Would not recommend.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our 7th trip to Playa Del Carmen and this resort was our least favorite!
The best thing about this resort is the location cause it's close to town and the beach! The grounds are nice too because of the wild life.
The pool is nice but the water was always too cold and it does not have a swim-up bar like other resorts. They have seperate little poor on the other end that has small swim-up bar. Other than that, the rooms are very old fashioned. The mattress and pillows are not good. The food at the specialty restaurants are not good also. They do NOT accommadate you when you have problem at the front desk. We ran into some problems and they did not show us that they cared! By far this lady in the front desk (Suemy) was the rudest person we had met. However the rest of the resort staff were very nice and pleasant.

Room Tip: For sure try to get the 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal during your recent vacation in Mexico.

We regret to hear that our premises did not fulfill your expectations. Your comments about our services represent to us an opportunity to look for areas to improve. The Management will review all our standards about our services in order to verify how we can personalize it for our valued guests with the only intension of recuperating your trust and loyalty for our hotels.
We deeply appreciate when guests present their concerns in order to ensure an immediate and appropriate solution.

Once more, we would like to express our gratitude in regards to your constructive comment.

We extend our apologies, and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, under more favorable circumstances.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    776
    190
    84
    32
See reviews for
996
955
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

lets start with the bad and go to the good, much easier that way...be prepared for a long line up when you land, we were in a very long one for 3.5hrs. The sliding glass doors in the hotel automatically lock so if you go on the sundeck dont close the door all the way (we found out the hard way), it was quite comical and the staff was very helpful. I have read the beds are hard and thought people were exaggerating but they were not. Ask for the foam topper!!!!! you will need it. The passage way to the buffet is like a bridge with wood slats so ladies spiked heels are definitely not recommended. The jungle path is very uneven so once again high heels, spiked heels not a good idea. The food in the buffet was good but pretty much the same thing everyday and night. If you are hoping for a nice warm soak in the hot tub with jets after a day of snorkeling etc don't, the hot tub was colder than the pool and the jets were not massage worthy.
The good; the staff are wonderful, friendly, generous and trustworthy. We accidentally left our safe open and the maid noticed it and relocked it for us and we just had to phone the front desk to fix it again. The activity staff work day and night to make your stay fun, entertaining and enjoyable. These young people from all over the world were not only talented but kind, caring and wonderful to be around. I highly recommend going to the shows, they were hilarious and very very entertaining. There is a lovely little plaza just 5 min from the hotel walking.
We went on a snorkeling expedition with maroma tours, the staff on the boat and the whole tour was lovely.
The beach at the hotel is breathtaking, we were in the ocean everyday. if you have a floating device bring it just to float on the waves. Also bring your own sunscreen as the sunscreen in Playa is expensive. I hope you enjoy yourself here. We had a great vacation.

Room Tip: choose the ones on the pool side, the hotel next door is loud, anything close to the beach and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just flew back last night for a week at this all-inclusive and I have had to take the day off as I am sick. There were six of us who all went together and out of the six, five of us got sick on various days. I managed to remain well until I was on the plane coming back home! We all had vomiting and diarrhea. Seems kind of coincidental to me. The resort itself is lovely but I`ve had to give it only three stars because of our illness and the specialty restaurants. We went to three specialty restaurants and they were all fairly ordinary and some downright boring. We went to the Japanese where we had a horrible chef cooking for us on the teppan grill. All the other tables around us were laughing and clapping because of how well the chefs were performing. Ours didn`t even talk to us and we had none of the knife skills that the other chefs had. When he tried a couple of tricks, he wasn`t very good. The food was basically stir fried with soy sauce poured over all of it. The chicken was dry and the vegetables were overcooked. The sushi we had beforehand was not bad. We then went to the Italian. We had been told by the man who took the reservations that the lamb was excellent so a couple of us ordered it. I`ve never had lamb taste less like lamb before. It actually tasted like liver. The desserts were pretty much the usual tasteless Mexican desserts. Our third choice was the steak house and it was actually pretty good. Nice steak cooked the way I asked.
The resort itself is lovely with native animals running throughout and well forested. The staff were all friendly and helpful. A couple people had toilets that got blocked and one had to wait in her room for two hours before anyone came to fix it. Perhaps having plungers in the room would be helpful as I`m sure this probably happens fairly frequently. Why you have to wait in your room for someone to come is puzzling. If the maids can get in using a key, why can`t the maintenance staff.

Room Tip: When we arrived, we were told that all the good rooms were taken because we had arrived late. It to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of our Hotel Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal, we would like to mention that we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay with us. We appreciate the time you have invested in writing this feedback.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your stay and we hope to have the honor to welcome you and your family back to Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal.

After reading your review and investigating in regards to this, we would like to inform you that the analyses performed on food, ice, water and surfaces discarded the presence of viruses. Enteric viruses, which causes vomiting and diarrhea, have the characteristic of being transmitted from person to person (like the flu), so it cannot be associated exclusively or directly with food or drinks.

Iberostar Hotels and Resorts work very strictly according to the internal and external hygiene regulations. Our hotel has a specific Health & Safety department which works in association with consultancy of an independent company who is in charge of verifying our hygiene procedures.

All your comments about our different specialty restaurants will be forwarded to our Chef in order to look for areas to improve our services. Our only intention is to do recuperate your trust.

We are sorry to hear that the information was not given properly when you requested our maintenance service. Our guests do not need to wait in their rooms since our maintenance staff does have keys to get into the rooms whenever there is report from our guests.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your comments. We would like to remind you that our guests well being is our priority and the hotel will not take any risk when it comes to the hygiene and Security issues.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back in the hotel in the future under more favorable circumstances.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to the Mexican Riveria (November 8 to 15, 2012) and by far our least favorite. Although the staff at the resort are very good and try very hard to address issues as they arise, we seemed to have a number of troubles along the way.

We arrived late (not the resort at fault) and that started the ball rolling in a bad way. Upon our arrival at the resort we found out none of the requests we had made (cot in the room for out teenager, type of room etc) had not been attended to, the air conditioning in the room didn't work, the fridge was broken, and I have never experienced such a "posture enhancing" mattress in my life (and I trave a reasonable amount for work).

The staff fixed everything they could but it did take a few phone calls to the front desk and some fairly pointed requests to convey the appropriate instructions.

On the plus side - the beach has to be one of the best along the coast line. Absolutely no rocks and suitable for all ages. The walk to the beach from even the furthest room is only about 5 minutes as the very most. The staff are very good and from our experience very trustworthy as we found out when we realized our in room staff didn't close properly and we weren't missing anything.

The food is passable at best. We found the Italian a la carte to be not good at all - poor flavour in the pasta sauces and not a great selection of salads etc. Reminded us of very cheap pasta sauce out of a bottle and badly made homemade fresh pasta. The steak house was very nice and we enjoyed that meal. As for the buffet meals - no variety, everyday the same thing, fairly bland and tasteless. We are by no means foodies but would have appreciated a big more variety. Also figured out that the food served in the buffet in the evening magically appears as the lunch menu in the beach eating area the next day (either that or it looks remarkably similiar). Overall - let's just say all of our family came back weighing less that we did when we left mostly based upon a self-impossed diet of fruit and toast as everything else had lost any appeal by about day 3 of seeing the very same food.

The rooms were good. The cleaning staff deserve a great deal of the credit for this - we found them to be very good, including cleaning the corners and dusting everything in the room.

Overall - the resort is clean, its adequate and it does the trick. Don't expect anything fancy and assume the food will sustain you but not much else and you won't be disappointed.

Would we go back to this resort - nope, far to many other options in the same price point with much better ratings related to food and comforts. As well, the mattresses are absolutely rock hard, even after they put a bed topper on it. We had a private theory that the concrete plant down the way actually manufactured the mattresses as well.

Room Tip: Some of the other reviews mention to stay away from building 19. We actually stayed in it, on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your hotel review here in TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and balanced feedback about the hotel.

We do take all feedback very seriously as it does assist us to refine our services and continue to offer the best possible standards for our guests.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Mi.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 25th. wedding anniversary at the Quetzal. We also celebrated our 20th. anniversary here and could not wait to return. I have to say that the whole vacation was amazing. Our room was decorated with rose pedals when we arrived!! I had emailed a few weeks before we arrived for a room request and also included a back up room request but did not recieve either one upon check in but the very friendly front desk staff arranged for us to move after 2 nites. I was aware the room requests are not guaranteed and from the other reviews I read on tripadvisor I had not expected to get it anyway. The room we finally setteled into was just what we wanted. The beach was greatly inproved from our last visit, very large now!! The grounds were as beautiful as ever. We went on 3 seperate snorkle excursions, all right from the dive shop. The all day one to Cozumel was nice but it was a 9 hour day only to be in the water for under 2 hours. Beautiful but alot of traveling!! The 1.5 hour one that takes about 15 minutes to arrive at was amazing!! We actually liked it much more then cozumel and decided to do it again before we left! WHAT YOU SEE IS ABSOLUTELY BREATH TAKING!Loved the turtles.The food was better then it was five years ago. You can always find something to eat. Loved the steakhouse!!!!!!!! PLEASE TIP EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floors facing the jungle are great...but remember there are no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in November.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First visit to Mexico and we werent disappointed ! Everyone at this hotel goes the extra mile to make sure that you have a brilliant time. Low rise properties with shared facilities rooms are fairly standard but comfortable We were fortunate enough to be overlooking the trees and had several visits from the resident monkeys wow now you cant book that as an extra amazing! Thats the joy of the place its different there are animals and birds in the gardens and its a nature lovers dream we saw peacocks agouti iguanas flamingos its so pretty. Many of the guests had been previously which is a good recommendation.Buffet dining room was good but the speciality resteraunts were really excellant and the steakhouse was fabulous. We had our first visit to the Bonsi japanese resteraulreadynt and that was a great evening with delicious food prepared infront of you. The entertainment was plentiful during the day and the evening entertainment was of a really good standard the team worked so hard to provide a high standard Beach is beautiful turquoise sea and white sand with a lovely breeze maybe a little too many breakers for very small children but great for the rest of the family,There was plenty of action going on watersport wise and for those wanting to dive or sightsee a wealth of opportunities. We all loved it ! Negatives ? well the distance to travel was very wearing particularly the hour and forty to get to the hotel your first days gone already And take insect repellant didnt consider the mosquitos which were a pest. Was it wortyh it you bet Thank you for a wonderful holiday and for the beautiful fruit basket left in our room for my birthday. A very memorable holiday

Room Tip: ask for jungle view or view of flamingo pool third floor room looked into trees lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My daughter and I visted this hotel for the 2nd time 1st to 15th October. Slightly worried about returning in case it was not a good as the first time. It was better....everyone in the Quetzal/Tucan hotels went the extra mile to make sure our holiday was fantastic and it was.
The food was fantastic in all restaurants.....we tried all the specialists and never had a problem getting booking.
Pool area was clean and never a problem finding a sunbed.......beach is beautiful and no "vendors" trying to sell their wares. The "Spa" team were a bit of a pain every day coming round pool/beach trying to sell massages etc.
110% effort from the star friend they quite honestly made the holiday...from .their day time activities to the professional quality entertainment at night it was out of this world.
THANKYOU EVERYONE.

Room Tip: Quetzal side you can sit on the balcony watching the monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in October.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Quetzal Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Quetzal Playacar

Address: Av Xaman-Ha. Lote hotelero No. 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Quetzal Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. A watersports and diving paradise. Sub- tropical mangrove swamp. Great gastronomical variety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Quetzal Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Hotel Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Quetzal Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.