We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty abounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Parrot Suites to your Saves list
Blue Parrot Suites
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   12th Street North and 1st Avenue North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Sonoma, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beauty abounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was the second time I stayed in the top condo at the Blue Parrot Suites and I couldn't have been happier! The feeling of privacy, ocean views and rocking in the hammocks on top of the world was truly a slice of heaven. A beautiful escape from bustling 5th Ave just minutes away. I felt like I had stepped into another world! On mornings when I would wake up early, I would bring my lap top with a fantastic yoga workout up to the palapa and watch the sunrise over the Carribean! What an exotic treat...throw on my bathing suite and head for the complimentary breakfast at the ocean front restaurant minutes away! What a way to start the day! Returning to the room after a hard day of sun bathing and reading at the beach, the beautiful cool air-conditioned room complete with kitchen and a cold cerveza, was the perfect completion to a nurturing day! Also the best ceviche in town is just two doors from the entrance to the suites! The rooms were appointed in classy casual decor. I will return again and again to this intimate yet inspiring and expansive location when ever I visit Playa Del Carmen! Gotta love those Blue Parrots!

Room Tip: The 3rd level Suite was fantastic, private and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    18
    18
    29
See reviews for
11
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited Playa Del Carmen recently and discovered Blue Parrot Suites. My wife and I wanted a place near the heart of the action and at first we stayed at other hotels but the noise from nightclubs was absolutely ridiculous. We visited some friends staying at the Blue Parrot Suites and found their place was beautiful, steps from the beach, centrally located and walking distance to everything, and more importantly quite. We bailed on our other hotel and booked a great rooftop/penthouse unit at the Blue Parrot Suites for an economical price. We had two rooms to spread out, and our unit had a private palapa on the rooftop with hammocks that looked out over blue carribbean waters. It was blissful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 327/328 which had multiple areas (ie: a balcony, a terrace, a palapa) for hanging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a perfect week at Blue Parrot Suites during the Day of the Dead festivities. We had a third floor suite with amazing views from the palapa and the balcony overlooking the Caribbean. The sunrises were absolutely spectacular. Lounging in the hammocks was heavenly. The service was outstanding. Our room was cleaned daily and having fresh sheets each night was total luxury, especially since we spend each day working beach side planning a future spiritual retreat. The bed was comfortable and just the right firmness for my taste. The complimentary breakfast by the beach was a wonderful way to start each day. Being located in the heart of the Playa beach district also made so many wonderful experiences possible. Great shopping, restaurants and entertainment were literally just outside our doorway. The swimming pool fit perfectly in the tropical landscaping. There was always a security guard on duty leaving a feeling of safety and security, even though Playa impressed me as a safe and comfortable town to be in. The sight and experiences in the area are fantastic. I can't wait to do this again. Thank you Blue Parrot Suites for an absolutely unforgettable experience. I didn't visit the fitness center, so I cannot offer my opinion about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved to hang out in the palapa, swinging in our hammocks, and reading novels listening the seagulls. The blue parrot suites are within walking distance to great clubs and dancing yet quite and private. Our suite had mutiple levels with a terrace to have lots of space for solitude or gather for margaritas and conversations. It is close to 5th ave and cafe's. A great get away to decompress, walk the beach and be romantic.

Room Tip: The top floors have palapas and hammocks what a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed at the Blue Parrot before and continue to be impressed by the location, boutique look/feel, and hospitality of the staff. The location couldn't be better - 50 yards from the beach and 2 short blocks to 5th Avenue - and we always rent a top floor room with patio so we can enjoy the ocean view from the comfort of our own palapa. The size of the hotel has always been a plus for us - so quiet! And the hotel staff are great - all of our interactions from check in, to towel requests, to restaurant waiters, to maid service - all very sweet and ready to help. I continue to recommend to friends/family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This boutique hotel has a terrific location! 30 meters from the beautiful, clean beach and a block or so from the bustling 5th Avenue shops and restaurants in the heart ( the BEST part) of Playa del Carmen. We were impressed by the staff when we checked in. They were accommodating, charming and polite. They were able to suggest activites in the area. Language was not an issue ! The housekeeping staff came in every day and the grounds were well maintained. I personally like a small boutique hotel verses larger properties or all inclusives, and with so many wonderful restaurants and dining choices in town it would be a shame to stay and eat at the same place everyday ! We will definatley be returning year afetr year! We feel like we have found our home away from home in Paradise !

Room Tip: there are rooms withMexican Palapays on top that would be fun for an authentic Mexican feel. Ours ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites in March 2012 and our suite had a large beautiful rooftop palapa to look out at the water and town of Playa. The private palapa is a unique addition that most hotel rooms in Playa do not have. Our rooftop palapa had lounge chairs, hammock and table and chairs to enjoy food or drinks. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the room accommodations were lovely and beds were comfy. The courtyard for the suites had a peaceful swimming pool. The friendly man who worked security was excellent throughout our stay. We enjoyed being in walking distance to both the beach and to the entertainment on 5th Ave. We took advantage of the invitation to enter the Blue Parrot Nightclub free of charge and had fun watching the fire dancers. We enjoyed sunbathing on the beach in the loungers during the day, having drinks brought to us by the friendly waiters of the Blue Parrot bar. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
#164 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#29 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#9 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#47 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#55 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Address: 12th Street North and 1st Avenue North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Parrot Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Parrot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.