We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“palapa, hammock and beautiful sunsets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot Suites

Save Saved
You added Blue Parrot Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Parrot Suites
12th Street North and 1st Avenue North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Aptos, California
1 review
“palapa, hammock and beautiful sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved to hang out in the palapa, swinging in our hammocks, and reading novels listening the seagulls. The blue parrot suites are within walking distance to great clubs and dancing yet quite and private. Our suite had mutiple levels with a terrace to have lots of space for solitude or gather for margaritas and conversations. It is close to 5th ave and cafe's. A great get away to decompress, walk the beach and be romantic.

Room Tip: The top floors have palapas and hammocks what a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    14
    15
    25
See reviews for
9
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed at the Blue Parrot before and continue to be impressed by the location, boutique look/feel, and hospitality of the staff. The location couldn't be better - 50 yards from the beach and 2 short blocks to 5th Avenue - and we always rent a top floor room with patio so we can enjoy the ocean view from the comfort of our own palapa. The size of the hotel has always been a plus for us - so quiet! And the hotel staff are great - all of our interactions from check in, to towel requests, to restaurant waiters, to maid service - all very sweet and ready to help. I continue to recommend to friends/family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This boutique hotel has a terrific location! 30 meters from the beautiful, clean beach and a block or so from the bustling 5th Avenue shops and restaurants in the heart ( the BEST part) of Playa del Carmen. We were impressed by the staff when we checked in. They were accommodating, charming and polite. They were able to suggest activites in the area. Language was not an issue ! The housekeeping staff came in every day and the grounds were well maintained. I personally like a small boutique hotel verses larger properties or all inclusives, and with so many wonderful restaurants and dining choices in town it would be a shame to stay and eat at the same place everyday ! We will definatley be returning year afetr year! We feel like we have found our home away from home in Paradise !

Room Tip: there are rooms withMexican Palapays on top that would be fun for an authentic Mexican feel. Ours ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Parrot Suites in March 2012 and our suite had a large beautiful rooftop palapa to look out at the water and town of Playa. The private palapa is a unique addition that most hotel rooms in Playa do not have. Our rooftop palapa had lounge chairs, hammock and table and chairs to enjoy food or drinks. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the room accommodations were lovely and beds were comfy. The courtyard for the suites had a peaceful swimming pool. The friendly man who worked security was excellent throughout our stay. We enjoyed being in walking distance to both the beach and to the entertainment on 5th Ave. We took advantage of the invitation to enter the Blue Parrot Nightclub free of charge and had fun watching the fire dancers. We enjoyed sunbathing on the beach in the loungers during the day, having drinks brought to us by the friendly waiters of the Blue Parrot bar. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the blue parrot suites for about 5 nights. The rooms are great, very very cozy and romantic. The pool right outside the room is a delight for a dip once in a while. Security is excellent, one feels totally safe. Its nice and quiet in spite of being very close to the party central area.

Once in a while theres no one at the reception and you have to wait which is a little annoying. Overall the staff is nice though one of the waiters was a little sketchy and would very bluntly ask for tips all the time in spite of already having been tipped enough.

What came as a surprise was the breakfast which is supposed to be free but they only give a few fruits and some coffee in that, eggs and toast are charged separately; very clever money making technique.

The beach in front of the hotel is a little disappointing and I had to walk each time to the neighbouring beach to relax and go into the water.

But overall it was a very nice and warm experience and I'd like to stay here again; everything was great except i wish they had ocean view rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently stayed here with a few other members of our wedding party and were very pleasantly surprised by our room, which was spacious, private, with a king bed, and an opening window in the bathroom, with a view! This is an intimate place and each suite is unique, some with decks accessible only from your room, as well as table and chairs outside each room entrance. The hotel is centrally located, so it's very close to all the shops and restaurants on 5th Avenue. We walked the beach every day to the Cozumel ferry dock and either walked back along 5th Avenue or just walked back along the beach. Some of the reviews have mentioned the nightclub noise and you could hear the nightclubs, however we found that with the air-conditioning on, it did not bother us at all and we did not use the earplugs we had brought with us. The continental breakfast was great and served right by the ocean. Their coffee was delicious, the fruit plate was yummy, and there was toast with jam and butter, as well as OJ. We would definitely go back and we would stay here. We were on the 3rd (top) floor, which we really liked.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous - Room 329, but I think any room on the 2nd or 3rd floors would be good. I pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - we usually love our stays with boutique hotels, but this was memorably terrible. The staff is sketchy, the rooms were dirty and outdated, and at one point we had water coming in the front door. Reception never picked up any of our phone calls and the entire organization just seems run down. We felt like we were staying in a dirty 1980's college dorm room. Stains on the sheets, broken safe, dust bunnies everywhere....not to mention the constant puddle of water on the bathroom floor from the shower water leaking out. If it weren't for the pricey cancellation policy, we would have stayed elsewhere. Incredibly disappointed....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoroAzul, Owner at Blue Parrot Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
While we respect everyone's opinion, I can't help but wonder if we're talking about the same hotel when I hear the Blue Parrot Suites characterized as a "1980's dorm room." The Blue Parrot Suites opened in 2005 and are fully furnished in Tommy Bahama Home. While not the Four Seasons, the units are very nicely appointed, cleaned daily and refurbished on a quarterly basis. Our highly experienced English speaking staff and Canadian Manager have been with us for the better part of a decade and continually get glowing reviews. This is the first time I've heard the term sketchy used to describe them. Hmmmm?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Suites

Address: 12th Street North and 1st Avenue North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot Hotel And Beach
Blue Parrot Resort And Beach
Blue Parrot Suites Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Parrot Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.