We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Honeymoon Experience......leisure meets romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Yucatan to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Yucatan
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #70 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING Honeymoon Experience......leisure meets romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We were very impressed at the elegance of the resort upon the first glance of the lobby. The room was kept very clean, the staff was friendly and always greeted us with a friendly, "hola," in passing. The bar staff kept the drinks coming, and provided their own style of entertainment as well. The food on all the buffets was great, and we enjoyed being able to visit other Riu resorts that were close-by to dine at their restaurants as well. The pool was very clean, and this time of the year was perfect for anyone looking for a relaxing, and less-packed vacation. There were always plenty of chairs by the pool, and on the beach no matter what time of day we finally made it to the water. They provided beach towels for all guests, which is a great feature so you don't have to bother packing several large beach towels yourself. My new husband and I were a little skeptical about the evening entertainment, but all the shows that we took in were phenominal! Don't miss the Mexican Folklore show if you get a chance.....the caballero with the roping skills is insane! The location of this resort was only about a $10 (usd) from the Rio Secreto cave tour (absolutely HAVE TO SEE!), and our fishing trip in Puerto Adventuras. There's a small plaza about 10 minutes from the resort, or another 10 minutes walking you can be on 5th avenue, the main shopping spot in Playa del Carmen. We loved this trip, and absolutely enjoyed our first all-inclusive experience! If you go, make sure to look for Carlos in the bar by the pool - he's the BEST! The only complaint I have is the insanely uncomfortable bed, but after asking the staff about it, they were able to add some large blankets to give it a little padding. But don't let a bed stand in your way of checking this place out for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    1,170
    512
    150
    92
See reviews for
860
1,586
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel the first 2 weeks in October and could no fault if. The food was good perhaps not the choice in the main restaurant as we have had in the last few previous rius that we have stayed in but sometimes I think you can have too much choice. The food in the 3 speciality restaurants were excellent about the best ones that we have been too in all inclusive hotels and you weren't limited to using them only once a week as in most other hotels.
The staff were all extremely friendly and happy and nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment staff very good if you like this sort of thing.
No problem with the pool being dirty as stated in previous reviews and the beach is wonderful.
Could not really fault the hotel at all the only problem I encountered was the mossies although my husband wasn't bitten at all. Tried everything not even the off as others recommend worked. I did take anti histamine tablets with me and they helped the itching a lot. I think from now on they get a lot less trouble with mossies as the rainy season is coming to an end.
Didn't do any trips as we have been here a few times before and done most of them.
We did have quite a few massages but not at the hotel if you go down to Playa Carmen they are half the price to the hotel. We used Veronicas as recommended on trip adviser - massages were really good and amazing value 55-60 USD for 2.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We have stayed at quite a few all-inclusive resorts, in this area and up and down the Mayan Riviera. It was our first time at a RIU, having favored the Iberostars mainly. We were here with a very large group of 30-35 for a destination wedding (our son), mainly 20-30 years in age with a few of us older ones.
We loved the resort mainly because it was the perfect size and easy to walk to the lobby or back to the pool without having to take a tram or pack a day's rations.
The wedding was perfect, the attentiveness and details were outstanding. It was beautifully done and the dinner reception with the ocean backdrop was as gorgeous as the bride and groom. Of course, the couple and the attendants themselves made the wedding, but our fantastic memories are so many. People lined up to watch the nuptials. But many people stopped to congratulate them and offer their best wishes, compliments and copies of the pictures they had taken.
We met so many wonderful and friendly people and having the right-sized resort made it feel more like a family reunion. You begin to recognize everyone after several days and get to know all the great people from around the world that flew long hours to get there.
We made our own entertainment as a group but we did also enjoy the evening shows. The entertainment staff and dancers worked very hard to please. There weren't any audience participation shows that we saw like many of the resorts have, but their were talented dancers. Obama was a very engaging and very dedicated behind the scenes person who quickly became my favorite. He lacked the self-absorption of a few but yet was humbly responsible for much.
We loved Obama, Lester, Christian, Jonathon and yes, even over-the-top Rigo Bob (oh MY God!) to name a few. The bartenders were hard-working and friendly and always had a smile while even wearing a jacket and tie, specially Eduardo. Drinks were fun (Paradise, Miami Vice), plentiful and tasty.
The staff in general was very hard-working and tried to please. The maids were efficient and the room always stocked. Every employee smiled and greeted you and made you feel welcome and wanted.
We had an incident of the disco being promised for the wedding by someone who said they were in charge(shame on you Elvis and in front of witnesses!), only to find out later he was not and so it was a disappointment. But that was an ego problem of the employee, not the hotel and the fact we did not go to the REAL person in charge led to that dispute. Had we not been misled I am sure it could have been handled in time. The front desk staff, hospitality and managers always aimed to please, even with our rowdy group and we appreciated that. We also had an incident at the Riu Tequila disco with a bartender (who was too overwhelmed to handle that large of a crowd in that very overcrowded disco) so that was disappointing but was limited to that hotel so we just did not go back there. It would have been nice had the Yucatan had their disco open as we were led to believe, so that you didn't have to walk back and forth but maybe they can rectify that for future use. I am sure if they had a younger crowd regularly they will realize that need. We got to use it just one night and it was so much fun!
The suite was very roomy and clean. We had requested bed toppers (thanks to a tip from a tripadvisor review) and that made the beds very comfortable. We were up so late enjoying the company, shows and the ocean breezes, we always fell asleep immediately anyway. Although the in-room liquor is nice, it was not needed for us and I would have preferred a coffeemaker instead. First thing in the morning, that would have been so delightful.
Any other complaints I had were due to things that could not be changed and most likely found at any of the resorts. As others have said, the mustiness of the towels and room was an inconvenience, but nothing seemed to dry out easily with the humidity. The mosquitoes were the biggest annoyance, and we took 4 cans of spray, returning with none. But we have run into that at all of the resorts we stayed at, Cozumel had the worst. The heat took some getting used to as even though Texas has heat and humidity, this was pretty oppressive. It just made me move at a slower pace, which was okay by me. The lobby had them the most, since there was very little air movement, but if you went down to the beach bars for the show it wasn't bad at all. Plus the breeze and views were so beautiful it was the place to be anyway!
We hardly used the pool at all since we can do that anytime at home so the beach was our hangout. The sand was nice and not too hot and the water the perfect temperature. We never had trouble finding a chair and shade if we needed it. The view of Cozumel was incredible and so very relaxing to just watch the waves roll in and out. There was an occasional afternoon shower that was so brief and cooling it was welcome.
Having a large group, the buffets made every breakfast, lunch & evening meal easy to handle. Some people went into town and did their own dinner at Parilla or Blue Lobster along with shopping, but the cheap taxi and quick ride made that easy. Even with picky eaters no one went hungry.
The size of the resort made it easy to always know where people in the group were and so it was easy to connect. We were grouped closely in several buildings for the rooms which was very handy. With so many arriving and departing at different times and on different days, we had no trouble getting everyone together.
It was a very laid-back feel to this resort and different than the younger crowd at the Tequila. This was a perfect fit for our needs and our group.
The wildlife watching was so fun. My son and his new bride had a monkey tap on their glass balcony door while they were watching TV and so they went out and played on the balcony with her and fed her fruit. She was a little one who enjoyed the play like a kitten. We have some wonderful pictures of that and memories to go with them. How often does that happen?
Several in the group used the spa and beauty services which were all good. Massages were very good and needed. The fitness center was well-stocked for those who were still disciplined enough to use it. I never made it that far myself, I was in a low-key mode and the walking to and from the room to the beach to the buffet was enough for me.
After 8 days we reluctantly came home. But I would go back again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway, family gathering or destination wedding. Get that disco ready Obama!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at the riu yucatan from the 16th september for 2 weeks flying from east midlands with Thomson. The flight was fine, we were sat in the premium seats and i must say for a long haul flight it was definately worth the money. Our Transfer to the hotel just just over an hour but it wasn't too bad as the reps on the coach were selling bottles of water, cans of pop and bottles of corona which was nice as it was so hot.
Check in at the hotel was very quick and within 10 minutes we were in our room in block 4 and the bellboy had brought our cases down. The rooms probably could do with updating a lick of paint here and there wouldn't have gone amiss but as we spent little time in there we really weren't too bothered. The rooms were always clean and the mini bar always fully stocked. The hotel is right on the beach and there was always plenty of sunbeds available although if you did want to be round the pool in a shaded area you did have to get up pretty early to reserve the beds.
The Riu entertainment team throughout the day were brilliant especially christian, rigobob and lester who always came round and asked if you wanted to take part in any of the activities. A simple no was fine if you didn't want to and they were never pushy.
The hotel has 4 restuarants the main buffet restuarant was breakfast lunch and evening meals plus 3 a la carte reatuarants which were the asian, mexican and steak house. By far the best was the steakhouse, (if you eat in there i don't recommoned that you have too much for lunch as they bring you so much food! The mexican was very nice, the garlic prawns i had were amazing only thing was the food in there wasn't really mexican myself and my husband were expecting things like chilli, fajitas burritos etc but they didn't have any of that. The asian was our least favoruite it was nice but we just went the once where as we did go twice to the others.
The bars onsite were very good. Eduardo, jose and abraim were brilliant we tipped them a couple of dollars every few nights and our drinks just kept on coming! You really have to try the mexican flag and the tequila boom booms they are lethel after a couple!!! None our our drinks were watered down.
Entertainment in the evening was ok the Greece, mama mia and las vegas show were probably the best nothing fantastic though. We often used to go over to the Riu Tequila at night as there shows seemed to be a bit better than ours.
Excursions- We did the royal swim with dolphins which we booked through our rep for $149pp and the captain hook pirate dinner which was $97pp both trips were really good.
If you wanted to do the coco bongos club trip its best to book that through the riu entertainment team as its only $50 with them and is a fantastic night out.
Now the only complaint we had which wasn't down to the hotel is the mosquitos. We took everything with us including the jungle formulas. Word of advise dont waste your money taking it over we got bitten to death in the first couple of days on our legs. We also bought the spray off over there which was a bit better but still not great. The best thing we found was take an empty spray bottle with you and the vodka that is in your room on the optics spray that all over you (don't worry you cant smell it) after we had done that we never got bitten.
Overall we had an excellent honeymoon and we would go back to the hotel tomorrow if we could. If anyone has any questions don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

this was our first 10 hour flight, but so worth it, this hotel is great, cant say alot about the nighttime,the few shows we saw were great, but we did so much in the day we were so tired at night we were in bed early ready to do it all again the next day, i have already enquired about coming back here next year,
The food was great, covered all tastes and the puddings were great,there are lots of places to eat and drink, and named drinks too, there are drinks in the room, shorts, beers and pop,
cant go with out telling you about wendy and mayeli, the reps, mad as hatters,really made my and the boys holiday, also would have been lost without her car boot, (anything you run out of she has in the boot of her car) great girls we miss them,
sea water was warm, beach was heaven, can recomend seeing the sunrise at 06.45am, the pools were paradise, the whole place is paradise xxxx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My girlfriend and i travelled with friends from the first week of june, First of all i have to say do not listen to the bad reviews especially from martin pritchard, really dont know where he stayed but it certainly wasn't here.

Now to the good stuff, from the moment we landed we were wellcomed with open arms, when we got to the hotel the staff immediatley greeted us and gave us drinks while introducing us to the hotel. The rooms were great, very cool and spacious plus plenty of drinks in the mini bar which is re-filled every other day but dont be afraid to ask if you need more. The resort its self is very large and other hotels are just minutes away.

The pool which i know comes under a lot of critisism is not at all dirty, yea there are a few flies floating about but that cant be helped plus it gets cleaned every day, the beach is amazing and the sea is gorgeous (be sure to take some bread down to the water to feed the fish). Staff are very helpful and couldn't do enough for you, look out for wilbert and almero they are both guaranteed to get ya wasted on boom booms and tequillas, animation team obama, lester, and UH OH rigo (you'll get the gag when ya see him) are all a laugh aswell and put on an amazing show every night, dont know how they do it.

Food was very nice plenty of choice, if you want to eat in any of the a la carte restuarants then be sure to book a table at 8.00am or just see wilbert he'll sort ya out. The resort its self is very nice with lots of shops to look around, playa del carmen not that far 5 mins in a taxi, weather was gorgeous very very hot make sure you take high factor sun cream, Biggest problem was the mossies others have said to buy OFF but that didnt work that well either they go for your ankles the most especially during the show so be sure to spray your legs loads but really the only thing you can do is to put up with it n hope you dont get bitten to much.

We booked through thomson for the trips which were pricey but well worth it, we did the bar crawl which ended up in coco bongos in cancun BEST PLACE IN THE WORLD!!, chitzin itza the old mayan ruins which was very interesting and the day trip to isla contoy a little island of the coast of cancun which i highly recomend, we started by snorkling and then had a barbecue on the beach, we even got to feed a sting ray which was quite an experience. Night life after the show is great, we went over to the tequilla sports bar a few nights, also lovely hotel. I highly recomend this hotel to anyone and will defo be comin bk next year also try not to be put off by some of the reviews, note!.. most of them from moanin americans or just misserable sods!! because you wont regret it TRUST ME!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel was not very large, but everything we needed was there. I would go back again

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.