We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'' Great First Experience In Mexico ''” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Yucatan to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Yucatan
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“'' Great First Experience In Mexico ''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our first trip to the Caribbean and Mexico and we were not disappointed. The hotel was perfectly located about 5 to 10 minutes from the local city. The area was Playacar which is an extremely upmarket '' Rich '' peoples place so the houses etc were out of this world. The hotel itself was pretty large with lots to do, The entertainment was the best I have seen, The activities was the same every day also. The rooms were OK but nice and spacious, The air conditioning worked fine and If it didn't, All you do is phone reception and they fixed it for you, All very friendly. The excursions within the hotel are always expensive but you pay for the safety really. If you want to find excursions cheaply then go into Playa Del Carmen and you will get some of them cheaper but I personally think that's too risky as some companies are not trustworthy. The staff at this hotel were the best we have been around, They were always working hard and looking out for everyone. We found it difficult not to tip any of the waiting staff but Only tip if they deserve it, Some of them do expect it which can be slightly rude. The drinks selection was OK but lacked some of the international brands like Smirnoff etc but not a problem, They had Corona on tap :). The whole resort was spotless clean and the weather always sunny, Few days of rain which actually cools you down for a short while. You could only book al cartes three times a week which is pretty poor but I would try my best to use only the al cartes every night, If it's quiet it won't be a problem. And wear trousers not shorts into the restaurants, They will be strict if it's busy. For children I would say this hotel is good but not fantastic. If your looking for a nice couple holiday with drinking then here is good but for family I would highly recommend the second Mexico trip we went on and go to the Grand Palladium Hotels in the Riviera Maya :)

Fantastic - Made is decide that we will marry in Mexico

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea views and closer to the reception area, Ours was tucked away at the back but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    1,048
    471
    141
    84
See reviews for
775
1,418
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a one week family holiday here back in October with Thomson. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish from checking in at East Midlands airport to landing back in the UK (albeit a little jetlagged). The planes we flew on didn't have great entertainment systems (you could hardly hear as the volume seemed to stuck on low) but I believe new 787s are coming in next year. In the meantime take your iPod.

The staff at the Riu Yucatan are the best I have come across at any resort I have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they always have a smile and a 'hola' for you. My sister turned 30 while we there and they decorated her room and sang happy birthday in Spanish which really made the day special.

The hotel is kept immaculately clean throughout and I'm sure it'll look even better once the refurb is finished next year. Yes the rooms are a little dated but who cares when you have a sea and beach like that on your doorstep. We had an email about the 'internal refurbishments' at the hotel next door before we left. It turns out they're pretty much stripping everything out including balcony doors, balustrades etc. We we're facing the building works but it didn't bother us at all.

The entertainment staff were great and full of energy. I don't understand why people complain when they aren't forced to sit through it in the evenings. Go to Playa Del Carmen town if you want a bit of variety.

Don't book trips through Thomson as they inflate the price of them. If you do go on any trips be careful as the natives will try and hook you in to buying pricey extras. We went to the beach at Tulum which was absolutely amazing.

The food in the hotel was much better quality than we were expecting and didn't get boring once during the week we were there.

All in all a fantastic holiday which I would definitely recommend to anyone considering Mexico for their next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building works at the hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week break at the Riu Yucatan in Playacar. Brilliant location, food fantastic, friendly staff and an excellent daytime and evening entertainment gang ! Different show every night so congrats to Marcelo the choreographer. Very professional and entertaining.
Didn't try the Steakhouse restaurant, but the Mexican was good, and the main buffet restaurant was also very good with lots of choice....hence the half stone extra weight added on !
Our only complaint was the birds coming in to the restaurant at lunch-times, but they are aware of the problem and I think a cull could be on the cards soon !
They are going to be doing a refurbishment next year although to be honest, I didn't see any signs of this needing to be done, so an even higher quality of decor should be on the cards after July 2013.
The First Choice rep Lindsay was excellent and always on hand if needed
The room was lovely and the optics were a pleasant option if you wanted a relaxing drink in the room before dinner.Well stocked fridge too.
All in all, a fabulous time and will go back next year hopefully.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quiet but involve 39 steps to get there. Needed the exercise in my case !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Riu Yucatan for 10 nights in October 2012 and had a really good time there. This is the 5th Riu Hotel that I have stayed in and it met with all my expectations. Having said that, I have to agree with other contributors about " a lick of paint" being required. I have been reliably informed that this will be remedied in 2013.
The location of the hotel is excellent, it is set on a beautiful beach and only a short hop into Playa del Carmen. The only negative is that none of the rooms have either a pool or sea view. As a result of this, very few people use the verandah /patio for anything except drying beach wear.
The only problems that we encountered were down to Thomson and not the hotel management.
(1) They ran out of immigration cards on the flight out, so we were given one in Spanish as we left the aircraft. Because of the time spent due to the difficulty we had in filling this in, we were delayed getting into the queue for immigration etc. As we walked down the stairs another flight had just arrived and we were at the back of the queue. Cutting a long story short this meant that by the time that we got out of the airport the Thomson coach had left without us and no one was at the Thomson stand to meet us or sort this situation out. After much searching we found an English girl from another tour company who had the mobile number of the Thomson Rep. When he finally arrived he informed us that we could get on the next coach for the next Thomson flight that would be arriving in around an hour. Needless to say this was the point where I lost my cool and demanded a private taxi to the hotel, this was at first refused but as I got more and more agitated my demands were eventually met.
(2) We were informed by Thomson 2 weeks before the holiday that "some interior renovation" was being carried out on the hotel next door but that we would be accommodated away from this. Absolute rubbish !
The hotel reception staff were very understanding and some of our friends were relocated the next day. My wife and I decided that we could not be bothered to pack everything up again and stayed where we were, but spent as little time in the room as possible.
(3) On the flight back home a block of around 10 seats in our vicinity had no TV facility or reading light. The cabin crew tried everything within their power to restore it without success but unfortunately it still meant a 9 hour flight home seemed twice as long. Furthermore the second "meal" that we received was inedible it consisted of a stale bun and cheese and crackers served with half a cup of tea or coffee.
This was not a cheap holiday and I expected better service from the tour operator.
Anyway, this did not stop us from having a really good holiday and it wont deter me from staying at this or any other Riu hotel again as the service is second to none.
Whether we travel with Thomson again has yet to be decided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riu Yucatan is a standard all inclusive resort in Playa del Carmen. We stayed there for a diving trip so did not used their facilities too much as were most of the day out in the sea. However, though the hotel is not very new, I would say the service and cleanliness is good. All the staff are helpful and smiling. Locations is ok, with a nice beachfront on a very wide beach. It is about 5 minutes by taxi to Playa del Carmen city centre, and located in the Playacar resort area, where there is not too much to do, apart from a small shopping mall. Food offer is wide, but do not expect and amazing quality. Overall, price quality was more than ok if you get it in a good priced package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from spending 2 weeks at this resort, we had a brilliant time, the food was great, so much to choose from. the staff were so friendly always had a smile. The rooms were clean , comfortable , stocked fridge with beer, soda ,6 bottle of soft drinks and 3 bottles of water , and for the alcohol, there we 4 litre bottles of spirit these were replenished every 2 days. fresh linen and towels daily . Everything was great, saving up to return next year . Lots of Wildlife. Was around monkeys raccoons several birds .

Room Tip: A relaxed , enjoyable holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Riu Yucatan October 26-November 2, 2012. This was our 6th stay at the resort. We last stayed there in 2008, having stayed regularly, next door, at the Riu Palace Mexico for the past four years. We enjoyed our stay at the Yucatan very much, and I want to take a few minutes to share some of our thoughts. First of all, the bar staff is beyond amazing. Without fail, EVERY bar staff member exceeded our expectations. They are knowledgeable, tolerant, friendly and efficient. We always felt well attended to, even as it compared to our Riu Palace Mexico stays. They are a true treasure for the resort. We found excellent service at the terrace dining area for the main buffet as well. The chefs were friendly and attentive along the buffet line. We did have some inconsistent service in the main buffet and at the Mexican specialty restaurant, but the food was of excellent quality.

The pools were the cleanest and clearest we can remember in recent years. In fact, pool cloudiness and a surface scum had put us off of the Riu Yucatan a bit in recent years. We were thrilled to see that has been corrected.

In addition, we found the relocation of the pool activities to the north side of the walk up bar at the pool an excellent idea! The activities held there were well done and we really enjoyed watching them. They had an excellent choice of music, and they did have quiet hours as well. The Animacion team is outstanding, and the resort is to be congratulated for their efforts. Each morning the team members said good morning to each guest who was poolside at 10 a.m. The effort was well received.

Our room was well cleaned and made up in a very timely manner each day, we were wanting for nothing. Our room was decorated nicely for my husband’s birthday, and we had some lovely towel art.

The grounds are beyond compare, they are lush and green. We saw monkeys in the trees, and the grounds keepers were constantly grooming the vegetation to make sure everything looked perfect.

The beach is beautiful and clean. There are a great number of palms on the beach and the pools have many palapas if you desire shade. But don’t worry, there is plenty of warm Mexican sun to be had as well, if you prefer not to be sheltered under a palm or palapa.

We found the food and drink selection, and entertainment to be great. The grounds and facilities look lovely and lush, much like I remember back before Wilma struck in 2005. My first visit to the Riu Yucatan was in 2001, and I will always sing its praises. The Riu Yucatan is to undergo extensive renovations in 2013, and I have high hopes for how the resort will look when we return! All in all, we had a most excellent time, and look forward to returning again after the renovations are completed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.