We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinto Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quinto Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Quinto Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue & 28, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

On face appearance, the hotel appears to be in a great looking condition. But beware of what lies beneath the walls! Perhaps we had a bad run of luck but when we arrived there was no hot water and the jacuzzi was not working. Things got worse from there with the Luciano Bar next door pumping music to all hours of the night so we didn't get much sleep. The next night the Air Conditioning stopped working in our room and when reported late that evening as we were out all day, there was very little that could be done while we went out to dinner. To the hotel's credit, the hotel owner stayed at the hotel and waited for us to return from dinner and drinks at 1.15am, explained that there was nothing he could do about the air conditioning until the next day and offered to move us to another hotel at his own cost. We decided to take his alternative offer to stay and use a fan for the night and the next day he gave us a full refund for one of the three nights of our stay. Fair play to him but next time I think I would prefer to stay somewhere else, particularly as the location is a fair way away from the main bus station and most attractions.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 207!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Walter,

Thanks for taking time to write your review which is very important to us.
We apologize for the inconvenience you had in your room with the air conditioner. Normally we try to fix unexpected problems immediately but in this case, despite several attempts, it was truly impossible, being night time, to find an air conditioner technician. For this reason we decided to offer you to move to a different Hotel, in order to sleep comfortably and that's why we considered to refund you that night.
We hope you will give us a second opportunity, we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    97
    23
    20
    6
See reviews for
44
151
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

After staying at hotel lunata, which is on the same strip, I can't recommend hotel Quinta Sol enough. First, I didn't hear excessive noise at nihgt. The room I stayed in was spacious and a delight. There are books to use on every floor, copies of famous Mexican paintings hanging on walls, a lovely sitting area on each floor, and best of all, they are affiliated with Mamasita Beach club.

One warning though: the jacuzzi doesn't work.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Gerri & Jenny
We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at your home, Hotel Quinto Sol, and will be very honored have you stay with us very soon.
Warmest regards
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A wonderful location to bars and restaurants. Not far from the beach. Wonderful owner...friendly, helpful, appreciative for your business since they are new owners. Quaint decor, comfortable room...would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MBalk
We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel and will be very honored have you stay with us very soon.
Warmest regards
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed there in January.
Simple and clean rooms,in a beautiful architectural building (I would rate it 2 stars) with a great location, price,and staff that was always available and happy to help.
I usually travel 100 days a year for business,and this is one of the best hotels for the money I stayed in.
Right on 5th ave the main drag in Playa Del Carmen on the north end of the street,and a short walk to the beach(4 minutes)
Rooms and bathroom inside were spacious and clean,with a small TV,Refrigerator,Large bed,and nice size bathroom,with a shower.
Some of the rooms have a terrace. I would not recommend the rooms that face the street since it could be quite loud into the late hours of the night.
To make a long story short if you are looking for a pleasant simple,central located hotel at a great price this is the place to stay in.

Room Tip: back rooms not facing the street if you are going to sleep before 2am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Benny G
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Hotel Quinto Sol soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed in the best room upstairs, it was the most beautiful hotel we stayed in through Mexico. The staff were very helpful and easy going. Unfortunately the spa heater didn't work and the water was cold, so couldn't use it (although would be very nice on a super hot day...). everything else was great!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms would be nice, but the premium/best room with private balcony (and most e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Arlyn
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and I will share your comments with my staff.
Once again, we thank you and hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Hotel Quinto Sol soon.
Warmest regards
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, new and modern. Lovely decor built around a tree. Close walk to beach and bus terminal. Rooms v clean and modern, nice hot shower, A/c , beds firm but comfortable. Rooms on the inside quieter than on main road. Noise is heard until 1am but wasn't too loud and didn't affect us. Staff v friendly and helpful. Nice jacuZZI on top floor , not hot but nice to cool off from heat. Def recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear KSadvisor
We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel and will be very honored have you stay with us very soon.
Warmest regards

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

At the northern end of 5th Ave, this little hotel provides spacious, comfortable, clean rooms, attentive staff and great value. It is on the main drag so expect to experience a certain level of noise, the rooms at the rear of the hotel may be quieter. Courteous and attentive staff make this boutique hotel a delight and beachtowels/discount for beach equipment at the local beach club are complimentary. Will aim to stay there again next time.

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms and people watch! But go for the rear rooms if you want a chance of a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicoquintosol, Gerente at Hotel Quinto Sol, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Don
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Hotel Quinto Sol soon

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quinto Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinto Sol

Address: 5th Avenue & 28, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinto Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Quinto Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinto Sol Hotel
Quinto Sol Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Quinto Sol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinto Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.