We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This resort is INCREDIBLE! We had nothing but the best, most attentive service we have experienced so far. Great family resort. The resort is very interactive with all its guests, hosting special nights, and games for the families and kids. Kids were always VERY safe. We could relax as they enjoyed the pool and the kids arcade. Food was excellent! Staff friendly, always smiling:) loved, loved, loved our stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,569
    2,557
    836
    344
    225
See reviews for
2,763
2,693
84
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to Sandos twice now. Each time was a very good experience. Great white sand beach, clean and private to the resort. They have a great kids club. Just drop them off, and they plan out the day for them and the kids have great fun and make friends. The have good night entertainment, family friendly. The only complaint we had was, the food could be better. But then you can always go outside the resort at times like we did for shopping and site seeing and drop in at an outside restaurant. But we still took advantage of the all inclusive. We recommend Sandos for anyone who is looking for a fun family friendly resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Thanks to all staff and Matias who show us the facilities and best places to have great times and a lot of fun on our honeymoon! This was my first time at the hotel and second for my wife, and for sure we'll be back!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

we stayed at sandos playacar for our honeymoon april 25-may 2. Neither one of us have ever been to this part of mexico. The staff is extremely
friendly and very accommodating. I never met a single staff member that was unpleasant. The beach is gorgeous and pools seemed to be well
maintained. I have never been to an all inclusive resort so was not sure what to expect and would
say the selection of drinks, food, etc was more than expected. I was not happy with the room however. There were stains all over the walls, the jacuzzi tub had urine colored water that would always comes out of the jets, and the shower leaked all
over the floor. The beds were extremely hard but the staff really made our stay better by getting us a mattress topper to put on the bed and down pillows which we really appreciate! The mexican a la carte restaurant was my favorite. I wasnt a fan of any of the other a la carte restaurants and we mostly
eirher ate in the buffet or would have dinner outside the resort. The breakfast was delicious and had a great selection. i see alot of
people
complaining about the time share. We were asked about this twice during
out stay and when we were not
interested they were not
pushy and
let us go on or way! I also
want to say the sandos caracol resort is also beautiful
which we visited during our stay!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are time share owners of Sandos and were staying at Caracol but decided to spend the day at Playacar and were really glad we did. we visit every year and like the changes and improvements they have improvised. The beach area is beautiful as well as the Royal Elite Pool near the Beach. The service there is amazing, food is great. Special mention to David at the Royal Elite Pool. His friendly and super efficient service was beyond compare. He was very attentive to all our needs and from the looks of the people we met there, they shared in our sentiments. He made our day there extremely enjoyable........needless to say we spent most of our day there at that pool because of his great service. He is really a wonderful asset to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived March 2, 2015. This was our third trip to Sandos Playacar, each time is better and better. Daniel Perez took great care of us on the beach. Hope to visit again next March. Loved our room in the hacienda section. Looking forward to March already.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, looking at the booked room versus wanting to be on the beach, I asked for a room upgrade. Nelsilu's wonderful patience with my room change made a great first impression. The room we changed to was ground floor facing the beach, which was a few steps from our patio. Loved the beaches, especially to the side of the resort where there aren't any resorts. It made for relaxing early morning walks. The buffets were good and more than generous. Luis H. at the Italian Dinner Buffet was a wonderful waiter, going above & beyond and finding a dish for us that was not in the Italian restaurant. The a la carte restaurants were also good. We ate at the French, Brazilian, and the Steakhouse. Our steaks at El Gaucho Steakhouse were cooked as ordered and tasted great. Our waiter, Cordero, provided excellent service to us from start to finish. Our after dinner drinks were at the Premium Bar near the buffets. Rodrigo provided wonderful service with our "not on the menu" specialty drinks. We did do a couples massage in the Spa. The massage rooms were wonderful, very relaxing. Anahi and Llaymi did an awesome job on the relaxing massage, applying the perfect amount of pressure. During our stay, we spent most of the day lounging on the beach, doing absolutely nothing and loved every minute of it. Treysi, our beachside waitress with her ever present smile, did an awesome job with our drink orders. The resort is huge but beautiful. You can see that great care is taken throughout the grounds of the resort. We will be back, this time with our daughters. Stayed April 24 through May 1.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.