We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facebook concierge is Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
hampstead maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Facebook concierge is Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I are pleased to report that, once again, Sandos Playacar Resort has met or exceeded our expectations. We have been members for five years, and we have experienced pretty consistent positive results over that time span. On Thursday, my wife asked me to look into booking our upcoming week’s dinner reservations by using the Facebook page for the resort. Apparently, according to several readings of several Tripadvisor reports, there are two individuals, Daniela and Alan, who work with the Facebook page as hotel concierges who have been assisting travelers in such plans. 

On Thursday, we sent a message on the Sandos Playacar Facebook page detailing our requests for dinner reservations each night. Within a couple of hours, we received a confirmation for the reservations, and, once we arrived at the resort two days later, we picked up our tickets and were able to meet Alan and thank him for his services in person.

If only everything in life were that simple…

Room Tip: If you enjoy the proximity to ocean views and the beach, then, select either the 1000 or 2000 buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,567
    2,555
    836
    344
    224
See reviews for
2,763
2,689
84
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were there in the middle of Feb. and had a fantastic time. We stayed in the adult section on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The room was beautiful and spotless, and kept that way during the week by the housekeeping staff. This section is the farthest from the beach but we enjoyed the walk and they do have the golf carts to get you around if you don't want to walk. We especially liked the breakfast buffet in the adult section.

The beach is beautiful and you can walk very far in either direction. We spent our days at the beach and never had a problem getting beach chairs. There is a beach bar and food right by the adult section on the beach.

We thought the buffets were good and they also have an excellent variety of a la carte restaurants. The cupcake cafe was a must mid afternoon stop for one (or 2) of their delicious desserts.

The staff was great-always very attentive and helpful. We want to give a special thank you to Daniela Delgado in Web Relations. We had emailed her and she setup all of our dinner reservations before we arrived We stopped by to thank her after we arrived and at that time realized that we were going on an excursion on one of the nights and wouldn't be back in time for our dinner. She changed it for us so we could go to the restaurant on a different night. We have been to many all-inclusive resorts and her customer service was the best we have ever had. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have visited this hotel 3 times in the past. We visited this time in February 214, this was our first visit after 3 years of staying in other locations. They have made a number of changes to the resort, we did not like the changes- beach was still great though!! Previously you could go to all pools, now you have use of only 2, unless you had certain status. If you are going to the over 21 portion you will have to go to areas where there are kids for some of your meals.....We had problems some of the staff were very unreasonable and others amazingly helpful although it did take us 3 days to sort things out and they did upgrade us all to gold when they sorted things out. We will not be heading back to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Sandos Playcar 3-1/3-7, first time there and not sure if going back. it was 4pm before we were told our room was ready. Check in is at 3pm. We get our room and bathroom had mold everywhere, and no toilet seat on the toilet, hair dryer didn't work. We went to talk with the people at hotel and of course they could not move us until the next day. They were very rude. We used Lomas travel and rep. at the hotel was acting very unprofessional because we did not book our extrusions with him for the week. He told us to be ready for our ride to the airport at 615am and shuttle didn't show up till 650am. They advertise all the restaurants at the resort but be careful you can only book so many for your stay . We were only able to book 2 of them for our length of stay. You will also get hit up to come to their time share presentation only 90 minutes ya right more like 3 hrs. Be sure to check out Cozumel it was worth it! We rented a scooter for the day and it only cost us 30.00 do bargain.

Room Tip: We were in the adults only section and it was quite, but it's a long walk over to beach. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my second visit to Sandos Playacar; this time I took my husband!

I booked a king-sized bed in the adults-only section; however we were given a room with two smaller beds that looked out to the path and the jungle. It was okay and they would have moved us but my husband had fallen ill (was fighting a flu from home) so we just stayed where we were. You could eat off the floors in our room, it was that clean! The attendant added whimsical little touches to decorate each day. The rooms are spacious and had a sturdy balcony. The air conditioning smelled very mildew-y though.

We spent mornings at the ocean and afternoons by the pool. There was one day with a sprinkling of rain, so we had the pool to ourselves. I painted ceramics at the family area just off the beach; a very pleasant pastime. The ceramics and the quality jewelry onsite was very reasonably-priced.

Lots of wildlife nearby, a few cats, a HUGE iguana and a couple of stray dogs. Strangely saw one one-eyed bird and one one-legged bird; I guess they survive as beggars.The ocean was spectacular, and the beach like sugar. A lot of people getting burned to a crisp.

A couple of changes for the better since my last trip: the service at Reception is very speedy, and there are big water-dispensers in the room; much more ecological. There was wi-fi at the lobby and in the Meeting Place. We got to go into the restaurants this time. The best was the Mexican, then the Asian (for curry). The meat at the French restaurant was awful, but not the chef's fault - he did a fabulous job with what he had to work with (a bird the size and texture of an elderly grackle). The vegetables and dessert were fresh and flawless. The waiter, Lucien, was discreet yet attentive and so nice and welcoming.

The breakfast buffet is the best. For some reason, this was the tastiest and freshest cottage cheese I have ever tasted. Combined with the delicious fruits, it was heaven. My husband at first just had the traditional meat, eggs and potatoes, but later switched. Gabriella was particularly attentive, friendly and very, very hard-working.

The family section is closer to the beach but very busy and noisy, day and night. The best entertainment day is the Mexican theme. There was also a very cute show put on by the children's staff and the kids. Adorable.

The staff really make the resort. The older lady serving at the Lobby bar (sorry I forgot her name!) was welcoming, sweet and so hospitable. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: In the adults-only section, a higher floor is quieter. Poolside is noisy during the day but fairly q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear AlmaFudd,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our readers.
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa would like to thank you for your preference & loyalty. As you may notice we have new changes going for our Guest to enjoy in future visits and take home a wonderful experience. I will see that our Staff members receive great comments.
If there’s anything I can do for in your next visit, please let me know.


Warm regards.
Juan Oliveira
subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was out second stay at Sandos. This time there were many amenities that were added since the last time we were there. We checked in on my birthday and Daniela (Sandos Weddings) was really helpful. She setup all of our dinner reservations before we arrived and even had a special birthday cake and champagne for us in our room. The food was a lot better this time. The buffets were typical resort buffets, but there was enough variety to not get old in between our a la carte meals. The Brazilian restaurant, Fogo de Janeiro, is my favorite restaurant in the resort. We had a junior suite in the adults only section. Our room was on the corner facing the adult pool. Our balcony wrapped around the entire room which gave us different views of the pool area. The beach at this resort is the one of the best you will fine in Playa del Carmen. Sandos goes out of their way to keep it in pristine condition. The entertainment team had changed since our last visit and I have to say this time they were a lot better. We really enjoyed our second visit to Sandos and we hope to stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the adults only section are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Scott M,

We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the trip Advisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations during your recent stay in Sandos Playacar.

We hope to see you again very soon !
Kind regards

Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed from Feb 25-March 4, 2014 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We absolutely LOVED this resort. We aren't strangers to the Sandos resorts as we also enjoyed a stay at Sandos Caracol almost 4 years ago.

We loved Sandos Playacar even more! We were treated so well by all the staff and especially want to thank Abel at the front desk for his fantastic service and helping us get an important e-mail printed off during our stay. The things about this resort that made it stand out from the others for us were:

The BEACH - gorgeous soft sand everywhere. Chairs were always available and the service at the beach bar and from the select club section waitress were the best we've ever had!

The BAGEL BEACH restaurant - at 6pm the beach snack bar turns into a Bagel restaurant that is open until 11pm. My husband and I loved to sit there and sip our drinks with our toes in the sand, star gazing and listening to the ocean waves. (Service again was amazing there) The choice of bagel "burgers" and fries there are mouth watering.

The Cupcake Cafe - it's no surprise for those that know me that I fell in love with this place. A self proclaimed coffee addict's dream! It's not that hard to get drinks at an all inclusive - but I've never had an all inclusive do coffee like this - it completely made the resort for me! Plus wifi was readily available there and so we would often pop in there for a coffee, cheesecake and to FaceTime our kids!

We also enjoyed being relatively close to Playa Del Carmen. We are not partiers but it was really fun to be able to borrow bikes from the resort and ride into town (about 15 minute bike ride to 5th ave). The bikes are older but functional and really added to our experience with Sandos Playacar. We also liked that Playacar is a little community in and of itself and enjoyed biking around the area - especially to the plaza where there is a little flea market (and a Starbucks - though I didn't need one because of the Cupcake Cafe).

All said we will definitely be back here someday!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Playacar, General Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Conch06,

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Sandos Playacar Experience, our accommodations, meals, pool time, beach time, and social activities, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests.

Our Staff will be informed about your mention; we let them know how they helped to make your stay memorable.

Warm Regards,
Juan Oliveira
Subdirector
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Playacar Beach Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.