We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Hideaway: A Classy and Elegant Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hideaway Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hideaway Playacar to your Saves list
Royal Hideaway Playacar
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Royal Hideaway: A Classy and Elegant Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Just returned from the Occidental Royal Hideaway in Playacar and quite anxious to share this information with those who have already booked or are considering booking. Hope this is helpful!

General:
First, I should mention that this resort is really adults only - even though the resort says 13 and over, there wasn't one couple under 30 there. It's truly an adults only / couples only resort. It is a quiet, elegant place to relax and regroup.

The Grounds and Facilities:
Top notch. This is a beautiful resort surrounded by lush gardens, waterfalls, ponds and walkways. There are only 200 rooms, so it's a smaller resort than many of those larger ones. This means more personal service. There are two main pools and about 4 smaller ones scattered around the property. The pools were never crowded. The two main pools do not play music or have those loud activities there, so if you are looking for that "YEEHA" kind of pool volleyball thing, this is not the resort for you. If you are going to relax, have peace and quiet, then yes, it's the resort for you!

The Rooms, The Restaurants, The Lobby, Lobby Bar, Etc:
Each building has a private concierge who will arrange the a la carte dinners (translation: NO standing in line for 20 minutes like you have to at some resorts).

We had her arrange all our dinners, she just booked us in to a different restaurant every night at the time we said we'd prefer, and that was that. Never once was our choice "booked up" so we got what we wanted.

The food was great from start to finish. One thing - there are two breakfast places - the buffet (closer to the water, at Spices) and La Ventanas, near the lobby. Spices is a very small buffet , so you may be surprised by this if you are used to those mega resorts with what seems like acres of buffet! But it's a smaller resort, so bear that in mind. The food is just as good, really. If you don't want to do the small buffet, check out La Ventanas - it's a la carte and has a lovely menu and very attentive service. The hotel has a dinner theatre - definitely worth checking out.

House wine there is great! I'm a wine drinker and sometimes these hotels have mediocre (at best!) wine, but this was Chilean and I liked it a lot. Four varietals to choose from, so you can get what you want.

The lobby is gorgeous! You enter an open air lobby and then to the right is the front desk staff.

Actually the whole resort is gorgeous. Check in was FAST and courteous, and while we were there quite early and our room wasn't ready, we just went and had lunch and by the time we were done our room was ready for us.

There is no disco on the property, and no nightlife really, but they do have a beautiful lobby bar/piano bar, so enjoy that. It's a relaxed atmosphere. They also have afternoon tea (high tea) but we were too busy relaxing on that beautiful beach (more on that in a moment).

Ok, the room - they are really nice. They look just like the photos in the website. The jacuzzi tub is a little smaller than the ones in the newer resorts, but still ... this place is a few years old so we knew that. Seperate shower is nice, and really nice amenities (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap) are a nice touch.

There is limited shopping on the property, but being so close to Playa del Carmen it's not an issue anyway. The gift shop we found to be overpriced, but isn't that always the case on resorts anyway? Just get whatever stuff you need in town.

The Beach and Overall Location of Resort:
The beach is huge, and gorgeous. They've rebuilt it (check out the website) and it's lovely. Lots of beach chairs and nobody did that "get there at 4 am and throw a towel on a chair and then go back up to bed" stuff. There were always lots of chairs, never a challenge to find a great place to suntan.

The resort is about a 15 minute walk to Playa del Carmen, along a nice side street in Playacar. It's a great location. You can also walk to town on the beach. Either way will get you there.

The Staff:
What nice people. They work so hard and were always genuinely friendly to guests. They do want you to have a great time, so please treat them well, tip them and just say "thanks" because they really do appreciate it. Whatever you need, they will try their best to accommodate.

So overall, this is a terrific spot for a QUIET, relaxing holiday. If you want the noisy club scene with all day activities at the pool, this is not the spot for that. However, if you appreciate stunning grounds, superb service and a very quiet, mature and upscale environment, treat yourselves and go here! You will not be disappointed.

I think that just about covers it except to answer that very important question: "Would we go back?" You bet, in a heartbeat. In fact, we'll probably head there next year again. It's really a gem.

Any questions, happy to discuss. Have a great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,002
    474
    141
    71
    33
See reviews for
204
1,647
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to the Royal Hideaway and this time it was just the 2 of us. It managed to exceed our expectations AGAIN! The Dining, the pools, the staff ...oh the staff! Edgar (Eddy) Rivera was our personal concierge and boy did we hit the jackpot! The first day he greeted us and asked what we would like- we started in the wonderful daybeds w/ champagne & guacamole then went on to get ready for our first night at the resort...dining at one of their amazing restaurants! Night 2 we wanted a little dancing, so when Eddy was asked- he recommended V.I.P. tickets to the CocoBongo... WOW, is an understatement! We passed all of the people in the line to enter our private area directly across from the stage with open bar and a view that was SPECTACULAR! We danced until 3 then ate pizza @ a local hot spot next door...amazing! Night three Eddy booked us V.I.P. @ Brahma & then night 4 we went to Mandolin. Each night was completely different and I only wish we had a night 5 so we could see what Eddy had in store for us. The best part is each night he was always around, making sure we were safe & having fun. Eddy made this our best vacation! The Royal Hideaway provided an amazing- relaxing place to eat, soak in the sun, nap in a daybed & unwind. This was a PERFECT combination and a secret I only share because every marriage deserves this luxury! We are recharged !!! I want to be there right now :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Magnificent and luxurious accommodations. Even the most demanding traveler can find himself to be more than flattered when the hotel provides services beyond his expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Feb. 4-7, this was our second stay at Royal Hideaway and I would definitely go back for a third time. When they welcome you "home" at the entrance with your name and you remember their name (Marcos), it's a special homecoming.

The best change from our last trip is the beach. It is super wide and very long so it was great for walking the beach and people watching. Previously the beach had been eroding but it was in great shape this trip.

The food as always was fabulous. One lunchtime the chefs had the grills going by the pool and they had whole grilled red snapper and large shimps plus the full menu available which was excellent. They did not skimp on the quality or quantity of the food. We sat at the same table for lunch everyday (not necessarily the same time) but our waiter Reyes got to know us and our preferences so he was really excellent throughout our stay.

It was great having the concierge arrange all of the dinner reservations when we arrived. One hint for future travel is to contact the hotel in advance of arriving and request dinner reservations. This wasn't a problem for us but we did hear some grumbling from other guests about not getting their reservations in the restaurants they wanted at the times they wanted. I think if you're flexible enough to work with the concierge you'll get close to what you want with a little give and take. In fact, it doesn't hurt to check directly with the restaurant to see if anyone has cancelled or changed their time at the last minute if you don't get your first choice of restaurant or time.

We were there over Super Bowl Sunday and they had the game on a big screen in the theatre with Super Bowl type snacks galore. It was a fun way to get together with fellow travelers and helped to build camaraderiethrough the stay.

I do have to say that I noticed that the ratio of guests to staff seemed lower on this trip. If the hotel had been more full I think that would have been a problem.

Hotels are struggling because of the overblown media attention to crime in the border cities but why people would be afraid to travel to the major tourist areas I have no idea. I live in a large Midwest city and we have shooting/other crime daily in our newspaper but I still live here. I just don't go to the "bad" areas of town.

I found that the value staying at Royal Hideaway was still excellent and I would go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived, we were treated very well. The food was fabulous, especially at Las Ventanas. We ate there twice. We checked out bicycles one day and rode them into Playa del Carmen. The bikes need a little service, but they were complimentary to take, so it wasn't a big deal. Jose makes an amazing Mayan coffee!! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Things got off to a slow start, our room wasn't ready when we arrived (3pm) but we had a late lunch at the Deck restaurant by the beach, nice but a bit chilly that day. As soon as we opened the door to our room there was a musty smell, quite strong, and there wasn't another one available . The staff were wonderful thougn and arranged a transfer the following morning to another room - suites are lovely, tastefully decorated and quite spacious. Bonus for free internet access throughout the resort too. There are also free computers in the business centre. The weather changed on our second day and for the rest of the week it was sunny and beautiful. The sea was warm enough for swimming even in January, with a great choice of places to relax, either by the pools, on the beach, under palm trees or on the terraces. Always plenty of fluffy towels, smiling staff, great food and drinks, all inclusive. There's lots to do if you want - tennis,golf, some shopping across from the hotel, you can also rent bicycles, learn scuba diving at the resort. Evenings are a bit quiet, but there are shows a couple times a week, plus a band almost every night. All the restaurants had good food, each with a different theme so you wouldn't get bored. The Italian and the Japanese teppanyaki were our favourites. The breakfast buffets were wonderful, lots of fresh fruit and great service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Fantastic resort in so many ways but absolutely nothing to do in the evenings after dinner except listen to the mariachi band from the resort next door! There was a very large theater in the main building but it was never used during our stay. We were treated like royalty including special room decor for our 40th anniversary. The food in all the restaurants was excellent but many of the portions are quite small. If you are with a big eater, order 2 entrees or an extra appitizer. Our only complaint was the first night when we wanted to dine early as we'd been up since 3 AM. No reservations could be had except for 10PM dinner. YIKES! We had cold room service. Later in the week we would have probably just walked into the more casual restaurants and asked to be seated anyway. What could they do -- throw you out -- especially if there were tables open? A $5 taxi ride took you into Playa del Carmen's 5th Avenue with lots of shops and restaurants. The ruins of Telum are also close by.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inlcusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LHW, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Splendia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hideaway Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.