We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best trip ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hideaway Playacar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hideaway Playacar to your Saves list
Royal Hideaway Playacar
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book NOW & Save up to 45%
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Melun, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best trip ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I spent 15 days at Royal Hideway's hotel and it was the best holidays I ever had... The place, the room, the staff, everything was amasing.

I hope I could go back as soon as possible.

All memories I got back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Miss Ophelie_Raillard

Merci beacoup for your kind review. What an honor to You’ll be be happy to hear that we currently have a complete renovation of our Spa and Gym underway to better meet the demand of our dear guests. We hope to be able to pamper you there during your next stay.
Be the home of your best holiday! We hope that you can make a trip back soon, and we can spoil you for another amazing vacation!
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    492
    152
    73
    36
See reviews for
216
1,759
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's taken me awhile to write my review because I don't know what I can say that will add to all the already great reviews and information already detailed for the wonderful Royal Hideaway Playacar. It really is a great resort, perfect really. The location is absolutely fabulous. I loved being able to walk into Playa whenever we wanted. The size of the resort is perfect. I love the smaller, more intimate, and quiet atmosphere. The service was simply out of this world. Our concierge was awesome and made everything that we asked for happen. Every night he'd put a few glasses of wine in our bar fridge for me. On our anniversary our room was filled with balloons and champagne. And every dinner request was met without any problem at the restaurants and the times we wanted - even when we asked to change reservations on short notice to dine with new friends that we met. As noted, you can make reservations before you leave home and all of our requests were honoured.

We stayed in building 24 which is the closest to the beach and the pool. It was great but there are very few ocean view rooms here and our balcony faced directly onto foliage blocking the resort next door so we didn't ever enjoy our balcony which is usually something we do every evening. There is a lovely little lounge area past the Deck with excellent views of Cozumel and a very nice, quiet place to enjoy a before dinner drink though.

The pool side service during the day was absolutely fabulous. As noted, mid morning fruit kebobs are brought around as well as wonderfully smelling, chilled face cloths. In the afternoon they will bring around a water mist spray to spray your face. When you get up and leave your chair, by the time you get back a pool concierge has been there and flattened and tucked in your towels to your chair. It was amazing! As hard as I tried, I couldn't get the towels to tuck in like that!

We found the rooms to be just beautiful, spacious and lovely bathrooms.

The best part of this resort, hands down though, is the food. You won't even believe it. It's like dining in a five star restaurant every night. And I'm a foodie. It was really that good and the food is the most important part for me. Las Ventanas, their signature restaurant, was far and away the best. They have a goat cheese arborio rice with wild rice and an almond foam that my mouth still waters for. And the rack of lamb is just amazing! We also very much enjoyed our dinners at the Italian and the Japanese restaurants and the Grill was very good as well which we understand has recently benefitted from a change to their menu. They have a gorgonzola shrimp appetizer that was to die for.

During the day, the Deck has a great pool side menu (the Calamari is excellent - you must try it)! Spices was only open for lunch a couple of days that we were there but we did go one day and had the beer battered shrimp and mahi mahi with a chipotle aioli which was just outstanding! The buffet breakfast at Spices is also awesome. Las Ventanas was not open for breakfast while we were there nor was the theatre.

So, do I have any complaints? I do have one. And it's really a personal issue that others won't even notice and many will disagree with me on. This resort is so high end, so impeccable in every way, and I think if they addressed this issue it would really cater to the high end clientele that they serve. When you arrive at Spices for breakfast you are asked if you want to sit in the smoking or non-smoking section. We, as well as many others we saw, asked for non-smoking so we were seated inside (no air conditioning) instead of on their beautiful deck with the beautiful view and open air which we love on vacation. On the following day, we asked to be seated outside. No one smoked out there at all during the whole week we were there except once. That day we heard others complaining about it as well. On the third day, we weren't asked if we wanted smoking or non-smoking but rather whether we wanted to be seated outside or inside. Now don't get me wrong, I agree that smokers are entitled to an outdoor space where they can smoke, but it shouldn't be the only outdoor eating area available and to the disadvantage of the non-smokers. Unfortunately, this was also the case at the Deck and all of the outdoor tables. All tables had an ashtray on them including on the chairs outside of Spices where no one sits, all the outdoor tables in the lobby area, in the tea area, and (understandably) outside the bar. The funny thing is there were very few smokers there so it seemed they were catering to a clientele that isn't really there. I personally just found all the ashtrays around to bring the level of class of the resort down. I would suggest that when someone asks for an ashtray in an outdoor location they should be provided one but to have one on every outdoor table everywhere was unnecessary for such a classy place. But I'm partiuclar and just don't like the look of them.

Other than that, an absolutely perfect resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear SunSeeker37,

What a detailed review! Thank you very much for your comments about our resort and we appreciate the time you took to write this review. We love to pamper our guests, and we’re thrilled that you had a memorable wedding anniversary at the Royal Hideaway.

Thank you for your suggestions on the smoking/ non-smoking area. We do our best to accommodate all guests, and I have discussed this with our manager as we’re always looking for ways to improve. In regards to the view, we wish we could provide all our guests with full ocean views however this can be a challenge. We encourage our guests to request any changes while they’re at the resort, as we will do our best to provide a solution.

Our Executive Chef was delighted to hear your comments about the cuisine. We have a very wide variety of gourmet dishes to please everyone´s palate. Also we have The Chef’s Table that is a very unique experience. The customized dining experience offers guests the opportunity to interact with the resort’s executive chef and his team while enjoying unique dishes created exclusively for the Chef’s Table.


We’ll keep the sun shining for you at Royal Hideaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been to PV and Cabo, and decided to try and Mayan Rivera. We ended up and the Royal Hideaway in Playacar and loved it. The staff are wonderful and really make the difference! The hotel is small and personal and the staff want to genuinely help you whenever possible. We were concerned about reports of construction noise from other hotels nearby that are renovating, but we heard nothing! The hotel properties are just too large. You can hear some music occasionally from the hotel next door, but it was absolutely unimposing. It was quiet and relaxing. The hotel only offers rooms to 13 and older, so families with little ones should look elsewhere. It is on a very nice beach opposit the island of Cozumel which you can see. It is 25 minutes by foot from Playa Del Carmen via the beach. It feels safe as well. We really liked our villa which was 27. One tip I would give is to book a dinner reservation for the day you arrive by phoning the local number during the daytime from home a few days before you leave. It is worth it. The food is very good, but you do need a res for the dinner restaurants. Breakfast is buffet or room service (which was good also). Lunch is a la carte or occasional buffet poolside as well. There are 5 restaurants to choose from. Overall a very nice hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear 3096yew,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is nice to know you are exploring all Mexican beach destinations and that you finally came to the Mexican Caribbean, the Riviera Maya specifically.

We strive to provide a paradise at Royal Hideaway, especially with our location and incredible staff. We all truly enjoy working here, and it shows in our dedication to our guests.

We love that you walked to Playa del Carmen, as it’s a great place to explore. We also recommend renting our complimentary bikes to take down town or around the Playacar residential area.

You’re right that our a la carte restaurants require reservations. We recommend emailing services@mx.occidentalhotels.com, before visiting the next time. We’ll gladly make the reservations prior to arrival.

We hope to see you again in Mexico soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just back from a wonderful week at the royal hideaway. Lovely superior room close to sea and one of the many pools. Nice to have personal concierge who solved any problems. Superb fine dining evening restaurants. Excellent attentive service. Beautiful beach front location. Only slight negative was occasional noise from adjacent hotels but nothing the R H could do about that. Superb gardens and grounds. Lots of returning guests - always a good sign. Thoroughly recommend it for a peaceful couples holiday

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This resort was fantastic!
We were initially concerned with our choice after reading reviews stating there was little to no night life. Although this is true, these reviewers failed to mention that the dining experience every night far surpasses what any evening show could offer.
The staff were very attentive, truly the 'royal' treatment.
We returned home highly recommending this vacation spot to all our friends and family.
We look forward to returning for our 1 year anniversary.. and 2nd .. and 3rd .. :)

Room Tip: Rooms close to the RIU may hear noise from their activity pool, ask to be on the opposite side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear n-kharpers,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Hideaway for such a special occassion, and for providing other readers with your recommendations. We’d have to agree that we’re the best place for a relaxing and wonderful honeymoon.

In regards to our night life, we do have nightly activities in the Allegria Bar ranging from special duets, karaoke, trivia and more. The Allegria Bar is open from 6:00 p.m. – 1:00 a.m. It’s the ideal spot for a beverage before dinner and to unwind after a delicious meal with low key entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back every year for your wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perfect place for a honeymoon. They treat you like royalty. I like it, because it isn't a huge Sandals resort where you are just a number and 100s of people are staying there. It feels much more intimate. They really make your experience one-of-a-kind. They care so much about wanting to give you a fabulous experience and will pull out all the stops. When we arrived, two men greeted us at the taxi/shuttle to take our bags and hand us champagne. Yes, please! Then, were taken to our room where they showed us where everything was and all about the dining options. Our concierge booked all of our meals, and the meals were OUTSTANDING. The italian place was our favorite - sit on the patio if the weather is nice. Beautiful views of the ocean. The food all week was really stellar. The tequila was always top shelf, and drinks were readily coming. I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear camacita202,

At Royal Hideaway, guests are royalty to us! Our goal is to ensure guests have an incredible experience with top notch service, and we’re thrilled to hear we achieved that with your stay. We think our resort is perfect for honeymooners too!.

Palazzo, our Italian restaurant, is a favorite among couples. The tables on the terrace offer impeccable views and you can actually see Cozumel right from your chair.
We’d love to help you celebrate your first wedding anniversary, and our concierge can help plan an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went on a grown up only vacation to Royal Hideaway and loved it. We went over Halloween 2012. The beach was near empty and the hotel was at 30% capacity. It was wonderful. The food was surprisingly good. We especially enjoyed the the Grill. Some reviewers have complained about the resort being boring but we wanted a relaxing trip without parties or noise and this was perfect.

Room Tip: To avoid the noise from the resorts next door stay in the middle of the resort. The second floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kelly N

On behalf of all the Royal Hideaway staff, I would like to thank you for staying with us, and for providing the TripAdvisor community with your recommendations. Also our entertainment is low key, although we offer dancing lessons, yoga, water gymnastics, bingo and darts during the day and have live music including piano, saxophone, guitar, harp, dj or karaoke at night
We are looking forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inlcusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Splendia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hideaway Playacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.