We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe we are talking about the same restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa - CLOSED

Luna Rossa
Av. Constituyentes Mza. 26 S/N Loc. 1 entre 5ta av y 1era | entre 5ta Av. y 1 era Nte., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
(984)8731822
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We have terrace, but also our beautiful garden of tropical plants is smoking area, also we have a room with air conditioning, a quiet place suitable for the whole family
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Can't believe we are talking about the same restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just a couple of days ago we attended to this restaurant, we are talking about a 9 women group, and not even because we were starving, neither of us thought this was a “good” restaurant.
At first it looked promising, because the table bread we were offered was really good, as well as the sangria we had and the appetizers. But each one of the entrees we had, were just awful. Risotto was tasteless; besides myself, three other friends stated their pasta was terribly overcooked (got slushy) another one even though had a good flavor Ravioli), the pasta was undercooked. Mine besides been slushy, the salmon tasted old…
We had planned to stay for dessert and coffee, but couldn’t wait to order the bill and get out of there… A shame since us later on saw quite a few other options for Italian food along the 5th Ave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place small but worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had dinner here with four others and the food was very good, the staff was on top of thing at all times. Also had dinner with a large group of 14 and was in a room that fit us well. Again the staff was on top of their game all dishes came out hot and the food very good. Their were no mix ups and the billing was right for all parties. Small place but worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

After trying a several other Italian restaurants in Playa and being greatly disappointed, we stumbled onto Luna, and decided to try it, can't say enough good things about it, but by far the best we had. Great food, great prices, and excellent service and by the way try the sangria.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks,BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent well priced Italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice and really enjoyed it!! The staf was friendly and attentive. The prices were a nice change to the generally high prices of PDC. Some of the pastas were homemade and delicious!! We had the mediteranean pizza, it was to die for!! Had whole clams and muscles in the shell on it, mmmmmm!!! Atmosphere in the back courtyard is better. If you are looking for a fancy envisroment, not your place but a affordable good food, definately a good pick!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
“one of the best in playa del carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent food, very good service and maybe the best prices in playa del Carmen. Every time we were spending for good food and good wine so much money because of the high prices in playa. A friend of us recommended Luna Rossa. We went one time and we fall in love with that restaurant. We are eating there in every trip at Mexico and we are always satisfied. Try it once and you will be thrilled too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.