We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent well priced Italian food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
Av. Constituyentes Mza. 26 S/N Loc. 1 entre 5ta av y 1era | entre 5ta Av. y 1 era Nte., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
(984)8731822
Update restaurant details
Ranked #264 of 699 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $1 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We have terrace, but also our beautiful garden of tropical plants is smoking area, also we have a room with air conditioning, a quiet place suitable for the whole family
Grand Forks,BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent well priced Italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice and really enjoyed it!! The staf was friendly and attentive. The prices were a nice change to the generally high prices of PDC. Some of the pastas were homemade and delicious!! We had the mediteranean pizza, it was to die for!! Had whole clams and muscles in the shell on it, mmmmmm!!! Atmosphere in the back courtyard is better. If you are looking for a fancy envisroment, not your place but a affordable good food, definately a good pick!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    27
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
1 review
“one of the best in playa del carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent food, very good service and maybe the best prices in playa del Carmen. Every time we were spending for good food and good wine so much money because of the high prices in playa. A friend of us recommended Luna Rossa. We went one time and we fall in love with that restaurant. We are eating there in every trip at Mexico and we are always satisfied. Try it once and you will be thrilled too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is a find. Very good Italian food at very reasonable prices, just half a block from Quinta Avenida. My family of four all liked it (kids aged 3 and 5). It was comfortable, unpretentious and uncrowded. Our waiter couldn't have been better -- chatting playfully with us and recommending his favorite dishes. The decor and atmosphere was comfortable and soothing. We sat outside and enjoyed watching the street scene.

I find most of the restaurants in Playa are either overpriced tourist traps with mediocre food, or are faux-fancy. Luna Rossa was just what we wanted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian food, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our last night of our vacation in Playa del Carmen, my husband and I stopped here for dinner. We had a delightful dinner of pasta and pizza. This is a cozy little restaurant with indoor as wells as outdoor seating. The services was outstanding, the food was wonderful and the prices were very fair. We wished we had found this restaurant earlier during out trip - we would have had several dinners there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top Notch Italian - a real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have viisted Luna Rosa on each of our trips to Playa and really love the food. Its often quiet in side but do not let that put you off. Most in Playa stay on the main street and Luna Rosa is just off the main street near The Gran Porto Real resort.This restaurant just needs a bit more confidence in itself, its far better than many that are often busier.

The food is variety of Italian favourites and the vegetation food is excellent, especially the pizzas and the lasagne. The wine list is pretty good though as its imported from Italy a little expensive, but the food is great value. Service is always excellent. Its a real find in Playa and I'm sure you wont be disappointed. We will be back before we leave. Salut.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Luna Rossa to your Saves list