We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the best in one place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xcaret Eco Theme Park

Xcaret Eco Theme Park
Highway Pto. Juarez - Chetumal Km. 282, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 998-251-6560
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Water Parks
Activities: Swimming, Swimming with dolphins, Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Xcaret (pronounced eesh - carette )is a must-see destination while visiting Cancun and Riviera Maya, situated only 37 miles from Cancun International. Xcaret," Mexico ’s sacred paradise" was opened in December 1990 as an eco-archeological park where visitors from all over the world can enjoy the splendor of Mexico’s biodiversity and cultural heritage. Attractions: Underground Rivers, Beach, lagoon & pools, Tropical Jungle Trail, Rotating Scenic Tower.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Teaneck, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“All the best in one place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Xcaret is a great way to see and experience alot of what Cancun has to offer in one location. There is so much to see and do. My daughter (16) and I swam the underground river while my parents (mom in a wheelchair) took their time and wandered along the lovely shaded paths through the park, seeing parrots, monkeys, turtles, and all sorts of wildlife. We met up again at the Mexican Buffet (we did the plus option on our tour) and it was delicious. Spent the afternoon swimming and relaxing on the beach. Didn't bother snorkeling because there wasn't much to see, and we've been spoiled by the great snorkeling we've done for years off Paradise Island in the Bahamas, so we weren't impressed.

Here's a hint for dolphin fans: if you want to get close but don't want to pay, you can swim from the beach right up to the fence that separates the dolphin pens from the general swimming area, and even though you don't get to participate, you get a great view of the performance. It's a long day, but you should not miss the evening show. It was spectacular. Moving, entertaining, educational, and lots of fun! You should definitely visit Xcaret.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,984
    1,855
    856
    301
    196
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Nature at its finest, so many things to do. 100% satisfaction everyone that visits Cancun should do this excursion. The food was delicious!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Honeymoon Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

We went snuba diving, Amazing!! My Husband dropped his wedding ring and Jose dove right down and saved the day! We also went through the underground river, it was very busy when we were there but it was beautiful!!

Bad Parts
It was a lot of walking, food was not included ($30 per person for a buffet!!), not many people spoke english and the signs didn't always give the right direction :( and picture prices are INSANELY expensive!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Time - to expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

This was an awesome day. If you just want to go swimming or snorkeling save the money and go somewhere else.

We (2) paid 100/129 $ i brought my own snorkeling gear. Everyone gets a swim vest so we were snorkeling in the river. So if you get the Plus entrance you get the dine and the snorkeling gear and fins. If you buy the dinner its also 3o dollars.

Bring a backpack with water and some snacks then you don't have to buy something at every stand!

What i like was that you can take pics all over with a code that was on the bracelet. Just remember to use only one bracelet for the pics.

We didnt do the encounters because we already did that in the USA. I was shocked how small the cages were for the dolphins and how many people were watching. I would have felt uncomfortable.

Everybody has to decide if it is worth it!

The show in the evening is a must see. It wa awesome but too hot. If you pay with master card you can come back a 2nd time for free. If we would have known that earlier we would have done that, but we flew back home 2 days later.

Try to come as early as possible. we were there about 2 hours before 1000 of busses arrived. That was perfect.

Its very clean, they have lockers and there is always an area to sit somewhere to relax. The people who work there are very nice and always want to help. It is very good for people with handicaps.

So i wouldn't come back again but it was an awesome day

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great cultural experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

We had a great time today at Xcaret. We took our own taxi from our hotel in Playa Del Carmen and bought tickets at entry. This way we came and left on our own schedule. DEFINITELY do the Plus option. The lockers and scuba gear were worth it and we ate at the Mexican Buffet, which was super delicious!!
Some things to be aware of: when you travel from lockers(39) down the river they tell you to put what you will need in a bag to be transpirted. This bag is driven down to the other end. We did not know this and therefore didn't put in money or our phone. I would change this next time. You need money for a deposit to snorkel. We didn't have any, however a manger in customer service helped us out.
The turtles are amazing and huge. The show was superb at night, definitely worth staying for! We also purchased the picture package early in the day for a reduced price(68 instead of 79). There are photo stations all through the park. Also, At the end of the day one of the photographers pulled us aside and took pictures all over the front of the park. It was great!
Overall a great day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xcaret Eco Theme Park also viewed

Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Xcaret Eco Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xcaret Eco Theme Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xcaret Eco Theme Park to your Saves list