We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Pizzeria ROMEO

Trattoria Pizzeria ROMEO
Calle 4 entre 10 y 15 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
9841416507
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is one a hidden gem. The food is OUTSTANDING. It is very small and very popular, so get there early. :) The salads, the eggplant, the gnocchi...I wish I lived right around the corner!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    61
    11
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Walked by Romeo and saw many eating there and as the saying goes, follow your nose and it will lead you to the food; well this was surely true. We ordered our Pizza and they left me wanting more, was surely the best I've had in quite a while, when in Playa, this is surely a must do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NILES
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went here because of Trip Advisor and found the food to be outstanding. Pricey but good. Pizza was done to perfection and salad was great. The owners were in the back cooking (both Italian) and the the wait staff were very friendly. Go!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

While our trip to Playa in September we where walking next to Romeo every day, as a result we ate there few times!
every time everything was delicous, we took there our friends and they loved it too!
the place is busy but it is just a good sign- everyobdy want to eat there!

The owners are very nice and at that time there was a lovely waitress working with them!

all the best for them!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

*This review is solely about the service, since it was so poor we elected not to dine there.* We arrived at the restaurant and were informed it was full (as we could see) and told it would be about 10-15 minutes for a table. We were a group of 5 and understood since most of their tables seat 2 or 4. My parents are down in Playa for a few months a year and had dined here many times before; they assured the rest of us it was worth the wait.

The disappointment was when we watched a group of five (locals) come up right behind us, and have the server say "Oh, this table if about to get up I'll get you seated right away!". While we were standing right there. My father confronted the server about having another group of five get seated prior to us, as we had been waiting for more than the promised 15 minutes. She said they were going to get seated first because they had an elderly lady with them.... ummmm my grandmother is 75 and was standing right next to us. Her excuse was pitiful, and she offered no other explanation when we pointed out that my grandmother was also elderly. My father asked to speak to the manager, and she said that was not possible. We left and will never go back after being treated like that. My parents (who have many guests who come down to visit them in Playa) will never recommend a place that treated patrons this way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pizzeria ROMEO also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Trattoria Pizzeria ROMEO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Pizzeria ROMEO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.