We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family booked 3 units and we choose units directly beneath each other. Unit 417 was designated as our party headquarters as this unit offers a very large private roof deck, Jacuzzi and BBQ. The other two units were identical except without a roof deck. We enjoyed a private chef who cooked for our whole group twice during the week. The unit was awesome and very quiet even though Maya Villa is only 1 block from the bustling 5th ave. The location can't be beat as it's one block to the beach. The ocean view from the roof deck is awesome and great breezes.The only issue was the Jacuzzi needed repair as it made a lot noise. It took 1 day for them to replace the motor and everything was perfect. The unit has a 50 inch flat screen which was perfect for the guys who are football fanatics. We highly recommend getting a penthouse unit. Also the room service is great. We booked the same unit and coming back in July. 

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Itraveeel

Thank you for being so patient for the jacuzzi motor to be replaced.

We look forward to seeing you again. A chilled bottle of champagne will be waiting for you next to the Jacuzzi when you return in July!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    29
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
97
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in condo 417 during Christmas holidays for 9 nights with «los Abuelos». Although it's a nice condo, fairly clean, well-equipped, big enough for two couples, handy location, there is a MAJOR NOISE PROBLEM in the condo. All central AC units for the 4 condos on that side are simply sitting on the roof beside the spa on the rooftop terrace and DIRECTLY over the master's bedroom. On the first night, the roaring was so bad -just like standing on an airport-track. We called the concierge and a serviceman came to hear, nodded, but did nothing. Later we tried to shut up the spa but there was little or no improvement. The noise was always «on» improving only with exterior air cooling at 3-4 o'clock in the morning with AC working less... We ended wearing earplugs for the whole stay but there was still a major vibration problem with AC units running most of the time... A real nightmare.
Also, we found one day that they were doing repairs to decorative ropes on our outdoor stairs (to go on the rooftop terrace) because there were leftover old nails and scraps on our balcony... One day the servicemen were staring at us going in and out of the condo and we could hardly use our outdoor stairs and balcony while they were doing works: they were using our table and chairs as a workshop, and one was even sitting on our balcony chair tweeting on his wireless phone. And yes, we had to stand hammer banging to add to the in-room noise!
The worst part: when we complained about the situation at the Concierge desk, they told us that they could not address it because it was a contract with a private company and blablabla... Come on! It's your biggest time of the year, your client has paid near 1000$/night(tx incl) and you send service people to repair decorative ropes on outdoor stairs but you do nothing to address the MAJOR noise problem? What a shame! Definitely not a place to relax with all the mess and poor management.

Room Tip: Rooftop terrace is nice but the main drawdown is the noisy AC units sitting over the master's ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Grassou

We sincerely apologize about the the noise you encountered from the roof deck. It was actually from the Jacuzzi as the motor needed to be replaced and it was making a loud noise and vibration every time the filter went on. We have replaced the motor which took a few extra days as the equipment had to be imported from Miami by DHL. All the A/C condensers in all our buildings are located on the roof top just like every other building in Playa. The location is designated in certain areas which are not part of the private roof decks and is located on common areas of the building. We use the best A/C equipment and never received complaints . There is a normal sound that all A/C condensers make.

We do however attend to all necessary repairs and usually do them when the guests are away enjoying the beaches or attractions of the rivera Maya. Again, we apologize if this was an inconvenience but perhaps this is one of the reasons Maya Villa is ranked top ten hotels on Trip advisor and we have hundreds of glowing reviews as the ones below.

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the superlative reviews of the Maya Villas condos and beach club. Everything was fantastic - the condo (three bedrooms), amenities, maid service, jacuzzi, pool, Imprevist restaurant for breakfast, "The New Gym" (fitness center), convenient location, airport transportation, and concierge services. Only qualification is that for the next several weeks there is construction going on in the small empty lot next door. It creates a LOT of noise from 9:00AM-4:30PM. Check on the status of the construction before booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Newtuxedo

Thank you for the glowing review... As mentioned in the previous review, the foundation for the construction is completed and we strictly enforce the law which does not permit construction before 9:00am and after 5:00pm in order to insure our guests have the best vacation experience possible

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this property for 11 days in early December 2012. We were staying in Condo 411 which was extremely clean, comfortable, modern and spacious. The fridge was incredibly well stocked and the kitchen supplies were fantastic - we only needed to buy ourselves basic snacks from the nearby supermarket.

During our stay, we were helped by Miguel and Patricia at Reception - both were extremely professional and friendly.

Most of our days were spent down at the Indigo Beach Club which is included (except drinks & food) in our accommodation. The staff there were amazing! Chuc and Alfonso especially made sure we were set up each morning on sun lounges with towels and took care of our food & drink orders all day. Such a fantastic beach club with enough sun lounges and umbrellas for complete relaxation and great mix of chill-out music played.

Whilst we loved our stay there, the only suggestion I would have to the management is that of noise in the condos. All the condos have tiled flooring and we could constantly hear the scraping of wooden chairs/bar stools along the floor (directly above us) day and night. Suggestion would be to put rubber feet on all your furniture to prevent this from happening.

I would absolutely return to the property - it's in a great quiet location just a few minutes walk from 5th Avenue shops and restaurants but away from the craziness of it all.

Room Tip: I would ask if possible for a top floor apartment to avoid noise issues from condos above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sydneygirl

Thank you for the wonderful review and suggestion... We have indeed installed new felt pads on all the chair legs in every unit.

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Maya Villa Condo Hotel after spending a week at a larger resort just north of town. We loved the in town (yet away from Avenida Quinta bustle) experience at Maya Villa.

Patricia at the front desk check in (located 1/2 block away at Porto Playa, a sister condo hotel) provided a warm welcome and very helpful advice throughout our stay. At the end of our stay she detected an error on our bill and promptly corrected it, sparing us from a potential hassle later on. Thank you Patricia!

We enjoyed delicious breakfasts at Imprevist (included with our stay) and again experienced great service by waitress Elisa. We enjoyed a dinner at Imprevist too.

It was just a short walk to the Indigo beach club, where we spent most of our time. The service there was fantastic as well. The staff even moves your sun umbrella throughout the day so that it provides shade all day long. Chairs are closer together than at other clubs, but it was nice at times to chat with fellow guests yet there is enough room to relax and chill. We had read other reviews about the boats in the water, but it is not a problem to simply wade past them and enjoy the gorgeous sea.

We loved that the visits to the Gym were included with our stay and it was fun taking an early morning spin class taught in spanish. We never made it to the spa... but maybe next year, since we have already booked our next stay. We are staying at Porto Playa next time, not because of any complaints at Villa Maya, but because the roof top pool at Porto could work for a bit of lap swimming.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As with previous reviews I can't fault this place. The service was absolutely impeccable; from the reception staff to the attendants and the restaurant staff. The rooms were spacious and contained everything you could possibly need for a holiday. I had a swedish massage in the spa one afternoon and it was the best massage I have EVER had.

When booking try to get breakfast included as this was outstanding. The food was delicious and it had a huge range to choose from. We ate at their beach club (Indigo Beach) most mornings and the staff were again fantastic (a special mention to Roberto, Edwin & Roger who served us most mornings and were great).

The beach is gorgeous (I happened to love the boats as they add character) & the sea is crystal clear. If you stay at Indigo Beach you get comfy beds and the staff are on hand to get you anything you may need all day.

I can't praise this hotel enough and would go back at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom penthouse, number 416 which was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were very happy with the condo, location, staff and amenities. The breakfast at Imprevist was fantastic, both food and service. Nice not to deal with a buffet, but be served by a great wait staff. Reception staff was terrific and made restaurant suggestions and reservations for dinners. Our condo was spacious and comfortable, and steps from the hot tub and gem of a pool. Also, only a block from the beach and from restaurants and shopping, so no need for a car or taxis. The beach is lovely, but the boats moored there make it a little awkward to get in the ocean and block the view a bit. We had a pizza from the beach restaurant that rivaled ones from Rome! Staff at the beach were very attentive and always ready to move our umbrella as the sun moved. A great find!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.