We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% off & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great property, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the superlative reviews of the Maya Villas condos and beach club. Everything was fantastic - the condo (three bedrooms), amenities, maid service, jacuzzi, pool, Imprevist restaurant for breakfast, "The New Gym" (fitness center), convenient location, airport transportation, and concierge services. Only qualification is that for the next several weeks there is construction going on in the small empty lot next door. It creates a LOT of noise from 9:00AM-4:30PM. Check on the status of the construction before booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Newtuxedo

Thank you for the glowing review... As mentioned in the previous review, the foundation for the construction is completed and we strictly enforce the law which does not permit construction before 9:00am and after 5:00pm in order to insure our guests have the best vacation experience possible

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    41
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
120
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this property for 11 days in early December 2012. We were staying in Condo 411 which was extremely clean, comfortable, modern and spacious. The fridge was incredibly well stocked and the kitchen supplies were fantastic - we only needed to buy ourselves basic snacks from the nearby supermarket.

During our stay, we were helped by Miguel and Patricia at Reception - both were extremely professional and friendly.

Most of our days were spent down at the Indigo Beach Club which is included (except drinks & food) in our accommodation. The staff there were amazing! Chuc and Alfonso especially made sure we were set up each morning on sun lounges with towels and took care of our food & drink orders all day. Such a fantastic beach club with enough sun lounges and umbrellas for complete relaxation and great mix of chill-out music played.

Whilst we loved our stay there, the only suggestion I would have to the management is that of noise in the condos. All the condos have tiled flooring and we could constantly hear the scraping of wooden chairs/bar stools along the floor (directly above us) day and night. Suggestion would be to put rubber feet on all your furniture to prevent this from happening.

I would absolutely return to the property - it's in a great quiet location just a few minutes walk from 5th Avenue shops and restaurants but away from the craziness of it all.

Room Tip: I would ask if possible for a top floor apartment to avoid noise issues from condos above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, jack Perlman, Managing director at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Sydneygirl

Thank you for the wonderful review and suggestion... We have indeed installed new felt pads on all the chair legs in every unit.

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Maya Villa Condo Hotel after spending a week at a larger resort just north of town. We loved the in town (yet away from Avenida Quinta bustle) experience at Maya Villa.

Patricia at the front desk check in (located 1/2 block away at Porto Playa, a sister condo hotel) provided a warm welcome and very helpful advice throughout our stay. At the end of our stay she detected an error on our bill and promptly corrected it, sparing us from a potential hassle later on. Thank you Patricia!

We enjoyed delicious breakfasts at Imprevist (included with our stay) and again experienced great service by waitress Elisa. We enjoyed a dinner at Imprevist too.

It was just a short walk to the Indigo beach club, where we spent most of our time. The service there was fantastic as well. The staff even moves your sun umbrella throughout the day so that it provides shade all day long. Chairs are closer together than at other clubs, but it was nice at times to chat with fellow guests yet there is enough room to relax and chill. We had read other reviews about the boats in the water, but it is not a problem to simply wade past them and enjoy the gorgeous sea.

We loved that the visits to the Gym were included with our stay and it was fun taking an early morning spin class taught in spanish. We never made it to the spa... but maybe next year, since we have already booked our next stay. We are staying at Porto Playa next time, not because of any complaints at Villa Maya, but because the roof top pool at Porto could work for a bit of lap swimming.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As with previous reviews I can't fault this place. The service was absolutely impeccable; from the reception staff to the attendants and the restaurant staff. The rooms were spacious and contained everything you could possibly need for a holiday. I had a swedish massage in the spa one afternoon and it was the best massage I have EVER had.

When booking try to get breakfast included as this was outstanding. The food was delicious and it had a huge range to choose from. We ate at their beach club (Indigo Beach) most mornings and the staff were again fantastic (a special mention to Roberto, Edwin & Roger who served us most mornings and were great).

The beach is gorgeous (I happened to love the boats as they add character) & the sea is crystal clear. If you stay at Indigo Beach you get comfy beds and the staff are on hand to get you anything you may need all day.

I can't praise this hotel enough and would go back at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom penthouse, number 416 which was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were very happy with the condo, location, staff and amenities. The breakfast at Imprevist was fantastic, both food and service. Nice not to deal with a buffet, but be served by a great wait staff. Reception staff was terrific and made restaurant suggestions and reservations for dinners. Our condo was spacious and comfortable, and steps from the hot tub and gem of a pool. Also, only a block from the beach and from restaurants and shopping, so no need for a car or taxis. The beach is lovely, but the boats moored there make it a little awkward to get in the ocean and block the view a bit. We had a pizza from the beach restaurant that rivaled ones from Rome! Staff at the beach were very attentive and always ready to move our umbrella as the sun moved. A great find!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just finished a week-long stay at the Maya Villa property in Playa del Carmen and all I can say is that we were very, very glad we made the choice to stay here.

Maya Villa is a condo/hotel (owned, appropriately, by the Condo Hotel company). So, you get all the usual hotel amenities like concierge service, daily housekeeping, etc., but you also get the space and other amenities (full kitchen, for example) you'd typically find in a condo. For us, this was the perfect combination. Hotels can feel so small that they make you want to spend as much time away from the room as possible. But sometimes all you want is to spend an evening cooking at home or kicking back and watching a movie. Maya Villa offered the space to make that happen. On the other hand, regular condos can feel a little too isolated, with not enough amenities/services to help the weary traveler. Again, Maya Villa solves this problem.

We stayed in one of the 2-BR penthouse suites, and it was stunning. Beautiful tile work throughout the unit, gorgeously modern and perfectly comfortable. Everything you could need for cooking in the kitchen, plus a bottled water dispenser for your potable water needs. Cable TV for those moments when you want to zone out. In-room safes for valuables. WiFi wasn't free, but the fee for the week was reasonable enough and included free international calls, which we actually used once or twice to tie up a few loose ends at home. Overall, they just seemed to have thought of everything here.

The jewels of the penthouse units (and what makes them worth the extra bucks) are the private rooftop patios for each unit. That's right, each unit gets its own private rooftop terrace, complete with a beautiful hot tub (there's a hot tub downstairs in the pool area for all guests), grill, loungers, and a giant thatched roof structure to take shelter under when the sun gets a bit too warm. The view from our unit was sublime - a straight, unobstructed view out to the Caribbean sea, gleaming in blue and turquoise, with the faint outlines of the hotels and ships dotting the Cozumel coast in the distance. We spent countless hours on the roof reading, lounging, enjoying the hot tub, and even napping in the shade. Complete and utter bliss.

The location of the property was perfect for our needs. It's just a block off Playa's famed 5th Avenue, with the its bevy of shops, street vendors, and restaurants. That block of distance between 5th Ave and the property ensures no noise issues too. The property's also just a very short block to the beach, perfect for those looking to get a beach side experience without paying beach side prices. A stay at Maya Villa includes access to the wonderful Indigo Beach Club, where we spent much of our time. We're not really "beach club" people, if you know what I mean, so we wondered how we'd like Indigo, but we actually loved it. There's complimentary towel service, plus the amazing beach chairs/loungers + umbrellas, all set up for you and serviced by Indigo's excellent staff. Prices for food and drink were reasonable enough. It's not taqueria cheap, of course, but for the service and quality of food, we found it reasonable. Besides, you're on vacation - let yourself live it up a little!

Our reservation through Expedia also included breakfast every morning at Imprevist, the downstairs restaurant, and it was excellent. Tremendous variety, tremendous taste...it'll make you grieve all the hotel continental breakfasts you've ever had before/after:)

Also included is access to The Gym, a very modern, upscale gym just a half a block away, which we used once and enjoyed thoroughly.

Overall, the folks at Maya Villa/Condo Hotels have thought of everything and provide a truly fantastic experience. Whether you stay here at Maya Villa, or one of its sister properties, I think you'll come away extremely impressed and satisfied.

One final shout out of appreciation to Addy for the lovely housekeeping and Patricia for the friendly front desk service, as well as the numerous other hotel staff that were all equally amazing. Hope to see everyone again soon!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple bucks and upgrade to the penthouses. The rooftop patios are unbelievable and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned to NYC from 2 excellent weeks in beautiful, sunny Playa del Carmen, with 3 other friends. Our first week was at Condo Maya Villa #407; a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom duplex, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, just a block from the beach, in a great location. We certainly agree with the other reviewers as to the quality, cleanliness and overall appeal of this property and the friendly and professional service provided by the various staff members.(Josue' and Patti at Reception, William and Manuel at the Concierge desk, Evi, our maid, just to name a few; also Roberto and other waitstaff at the Indigo Beach Club). We also had the opportunity to meet Francesca, the owner of our specific unit(407) who happened to be staying with friends in another unit. To the Condohoteles management, and Francesca, we say "Bravo!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#14 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#21 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa de...
#5 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#52 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#58 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.