We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% off & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First class from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As with previous reviews I can't fault this place. The service was absolutely impeccable; from the reception staff to the attendants and the restaurant staff. The rooms were spacious and contained everything you could possibly need for a holiday. I had a swedish massage in the spa one afternoon and it was the best massage I have EVER had.

When booking try to get breakfast included as this was outstanding. The food was delicious and it had a huge range to choose from. We ate at their beach club (Indigo Beach) most mornings and the staff were again fantastic (a special mention to Roberto, Edwin & Roger who served us most mornings and were great).

The beach is gorgeous (I happened to love the boats as they add character) & the sea is crystal clear. If you stay at Indigo Beach you get comfy beds and the staff are on hand to get you anything you may need all day.

I can't praise this hotel enough and would go back at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom penthouse, number 416 which was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    34
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
102
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were very happy with the condo, location, staff and amenities. The breakfast at Imprevist was fantastic, both food and service. Nice not to deal with a buffet, but be served by a great wait staff. Reception staff was terrific and made restaurant suggestions and reservations for dinners. Our condo was spacious and comfortable, and steps from the hot tub and gem of a pool. Also, only a block from the beach and from restaurants and shopping, so no need for a car or taxis. The beach is lovely, but the boats moored there make it a little awkward to get in the ocean and block the view a bit. We had a pizza from the beach restaurant that rivaled ones from Rome! Staff at the beach were very attentive and always ready to move our umbrella as the sun moved. A great find!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just finished a week-long stay at the Maya Villa property in Playa del Carmen and all I can say is that we were very, very glad we made the choice to stay here.

Maya Villa is a condo/hotel (owned, appropriately, by the Condo Hotel company). So, you get all the usual hotel amenities like concierge service, daily housekeeping, etc., but you also get the space and other amenities (full kitchen, for example) you'd typically find in a condo. For us, this was the perfect combination. Hotels can feel so small that they make you want to spend as much time away from the room as possible. But sometimes all you want is to spend an evening cooking at home or kicking back and watching a movie. Maya Villa offered the space to make that happen. On the other hand, regular condos can feel a little too isolated, with not enough amenities/services to help the weary traveler. Again, Maya Villa solves this problem.

We stayed in one of the 2-BR penthouse suites, and it was stunning. Beautiful tile work throughout the unit, gorgeously modern and perfectly comfortable. Everything you could need for cooking in the kitchen, plus a bottled water dispenser for your potable water needs. Cable TV for those moments when you want to zone out. In-room safes for valuables. WiFi wasn't free, but the fee for the week was reasonable enough and included free international calls, which we actually used once or twice to tie up a few loose ends at home. Overall, they just seemed to have thought of everything here.

The jewels of the penthouse units (and what makes them worth the extra bucks) are the private rooftop patios for each unit. That's right, each unit gets its own private rooftop terrace, complete with a beautiful hot tub (there's a hot tub downstairs in the pool area for all guests), grill, loungers, and a giant thatched roof structure to take shelter under when the sun gets a bit too warm. The view from our unit was sublime - a straight, unobstructed view out to the Caribbean sea, gleaming in blue and turquoise, with the faint outlines of the hotels and ships dotting the Cozumel coast in the distance. We spent countless hours on the roof reading, lounging, enjoying the hot tub, and even napping in the shade. Complete and utter bliss.

The location of the property was perfect for our needs. It's just a block off Playa's famed 5th Avenue, with the its bevy of shops, street vendors, and restaurants. That block of distance between 5th Ave and the property ensures no noise issues too. The property's also just a very short block to the beach, perfect for those looking to get a beach side experience without paying beach side prices. A stay at Maya Villa includes access to the wonderful Indigo Beach Club, where we spent much of our time. We're not really "beach club" people, if you know what I mean, so we wondered how we'd like Indigo, but we actually loved it. There's complimentary towel service, plus the amazing beach chairs/loungers + umbrellas, all set up for you and serviced by Indigo's excellent staff. Prices for food and drink were reasonable enough. It's not taqueria cheap, of course, but for the service and quality of food, we found it reasonable. Besides, you're on vacation - let yourself live it up a little!

Our reservation through Expedia also included breakfast every morning at Imprevist, the downstairs restaurant, and it was excellent. Tremendous variety, tremendous taste...it'll make you grieve all the hotel continental breakfasts you've ever had before/after:)

Also included is access to The Gym, a very modern, upscale gym just a half a block away, which we used once and enjoyed thoroughly.

Overall, the folks at Maya Villa/Condo Hotels have thought of everything and provide a truly fantastic experience. Whether you stay here at Maya Villa, or one of its sister properties, I think you'll come away extremely impressed and satisfied.

One final shout out of appreciation to Addy for the lovely housekeeping and Patricia for the friendly front desk service, as well as the numerous other hotel staff that were all equally amazing. Hope to see everyone again soon!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple bucks and upgrade to the penthouses. The rooftop patios are unbelievable and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned to NYC from 2 excellent weeks in beautiful, sunny Playa del Carmen, with 3 other friends. Our first week was at Condo Maya Villa #407; a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom duplex, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, just a block from the beach, in a great location. We certainly agree with the other reviewers as to the quality, cleanliness and overall appeal of this property and the friendly and professional service provided by the various staff members.(Josue' and Patti at Reception, William and Manuel at the Concierge desk, Evi, our maid, just to name a few; also Roberto and other waitstaff at the Indigo Beach Club). We also had the opportunity to meet Francesca, the owner of our specific unit(407) who happened to be staying with friends in another unit. To the Condohoteles management, and Francesca, we say "Bravo!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just got back from our 1 week stay at Maya Villa. We've been to Playa & Cancun before but generally did the all-inclusive thing. This time, I wanted a more authentic, adventurous trip. That said, I still like to have a nice place to say & left the authentic & adventure to our eating & touring experiences. Maya Villa was pure luxury.

My husband, two kids (8 & 11) & I loved this place. We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse (403). It had every comfort we could ask for. Kids had their own room, TV & bathroom, parents had their own king sized bed, TV & bathroom, internet, expanded cable TV in the living room with lots of movie channels, fully outfitted kitchen, bottled water & the list goes on... On the roof-top patio, we had 2 loungers, a huge covered coach area for sitting on when it rained, a jacuzzi, refrigerator & grill. We would have grilled out, but didn't realize this unit had a grill as it doesn't show in the pictures or detailed descriptions.

We had our driver stop at Wal-mart before getting to the condo & stocked up on beer, some yummy liquer called St. Clara, soda & of course some food items. The kids hadn't been to Mexico before, so shopping in the Mexican Wal-mart was a nice adventure in itself!

We got to the condo before our room was ready, but the wonderful gentlemen at Maya Villa took our grocery items up to our room & put them away for us so they wouldn't spoil while we had lunch at the nearby Indigo Beach Club. At the Maya Villa, service was always top notch. What ever I needed...nothing was too much to ask.

The gecko pool with waterfall was fun for the kids. They enjoyed swimming every day & most days it was just us at the pool. A couple of times, we ran into a very nice family who my kids enjoyed playing with & we learned a lot about Playa del Carmen from. Its a small place & you start to see the same people every day which can be fun.

An extra special experience was the free breakfast at the Imprevist every morning. I don't know if everyone gets free breakfast but it was something that came with our purchase on Expedia. We figured our free breakfast would be the same old breakfast buffets you get at the all-inclusive places. It was anything but...it was perfect, fresh & order from the menu. Our wonderful waitress, Elisa, greeted us every day & within a day or two began to learn our preferences.

Something to note, the condo/hotel is 1 block from the beach. I think that was noted in many of the reviews, but with many of the pictures from the penthouses, I somehow got in my mind that it was right on the beach. It didn't really matter though. Our view from the penthouse was amazing. It was a very short walk to the beach & I think not being on the beach actually made the place nice, quiet & secluded.

I could go on & on about Maya Villa. We had such a wonderful time & will return again some day.

Room Tip: Room 403 (2 br penthouse) had an amazing view of the beach & could see Cozumel in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Maya Villa for a week.
The condo was beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast each day at the Imprevist restaurant and it was great.
The massage at the spa was so relaxing I didn't want it to end.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and plan to return in the future.
We hope to try the other location - El Taj because we have heard that is
a beautiful place as well. Thanks Maya Villa for such a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Shawn A,

Thank you very much for you review!

Glad you enjoyed the property and breakfasts at Imprevist... Have you tried dining there, too? Imprevist is considered to be the top gourmet restaurant in Playa, and it's especially romantic at night, lit by candles and chandelliers, serving some of the most creative gourmet cuisines in town.

Please come back soon, and enjoy our properties as well as the region - just talk to our concierge, and he will be able to book adventure tours for you in the jungle, snorkeling in the Caribbean Sea or visits to Mayan towns. There is so much to do in the region!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a fantastic place, our friends recommended us this place, and surely we were not disappointed!! The rooms are beautiful, very clean, the staff is kind & professional, the atmosphere amazing, and the location just what we had wished for... perfect. We also loved the pool shaped as a gecko. Would return anytime if I had more holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sonnenfisch2000,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing Maya Villa!

I am glad you enjoyed it... we wanted to create a tropical paradise, surrounded by tropical plants, waterfalls, and our heated gecko-shaped pool, the only heated pool in Playa del Carmen... and it looks like we were able to achieve our goal judging by reviews of such guests as yourself.

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.