We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa del Carmen-No Stress!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 45% off & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Playa del Carmen-No Stress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned to NYC from 2 excellent weeks in beautiful, sunny Playa del Carmen, with 3 other friends. Our first week was at Condo Maya Villa #407; a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom duplex, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, just a block from the beach, in a great location. We certainly agree with the other reviewers as to the quality, cleanliness and overall appeal of this property and the friendly and professional service provided by the various staff members.(Josue' and Patti at Reception, William and Manuel at the Concierge desk, Evi, our maid, just to name a few; also Roberto and other waitstaff at the Indigo Beach Club). We also had the opportunity to meet Francesca, the owner of our specific unit(407) who happened to be staying with friends in another unit. To the Condohoteles management, and Francesca, we say "Bravo!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    31
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
98
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just got back from our 1 week stay at Maya Villa. We've been to Playa & Cancun before but generally did the all-inclusive thing. This time, I wanted a more authentic, adventurous trip. That said, I still like to have a nice place to say & left the authentic & adventure to our eating & touring experiences. Maya Villa was pure luxury.

My husband, two kids (8 & 11) & I loved this place. We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse (403). It had every comfort we could ask for. Kids had their own room, TV & bathroom, parents had their own king sized bed, TV & bathroom, internet, expanded cable TV in the living room with lots of movie channels, fully outfitted kitchen, bottled water & the list goes on... On the roof-top patio, we had 2 loungers, a huge covered coach area for sitting on when it rained, a jacuzzi, refrigerator & grill. We would have grilled out, but didn't realize this unit had a grill as it doesn't show in the pictures or detailed descriptions.

We had our driver stop at Wal-mart before getting to the condo & stocked up on beer, some yummy liquer called St. Clara, soda & of course some food items. The kids hadn't been to Mexico before, so shopping in the Mexican Wal-mart was a nice adventure in itself!

We got to the condo before our room was ready, but the wonderful gentlemen at Maya Villa took our grocery items up to our room & put them away for us so they wouldn't spoil while we had lunch at the nearby Indigo Beach Club. At the Maya Villa, service was always top notch. What ever I needed...nothing was too much to ask.

The gecko pool with waterfall was fun for the kids. They enjoyed swimming every day & most days it was just us at the pool. A couple of times, we ran into a very nice family who my kids enjoyed playing with & we learned a lot about Playa del Carmen from. Its a small place & you start to see the same people every day which can be fun.

An extra special experience was the free breakfast at the Imprevist every morning. I don't know if everyone gets free breakfast but it was something that came with our purchase on Expedia. We figured our free breakfast would be the same old breakfast buffets you get at the all-inclusive places. It was anything but...it was perfect, fresh & order from the menu. Our wonderful waitress, Elisa, greeted us every day & within a day or two began to learn our preferences.

Something to note, the condo/hotel is 1 block from the beach. I think that was noted in many of the reviews, but with many of the pictures from the penthouses, I somehow got in my mind that it was right on the beach. It didn't really matter though. Our view from the penthouse was amazing. It was a very short walk to the beach & I think not being on the beach actually made the place nice, quiet & secluded.

I could go on & on about Maya Villa. We had such a wonderful time & will return again some day.

Room Tip: Room 403 (2 br penthouse) had an amazing view of the beach & could see Cozumel in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Maya Villa for a week.
The condo was beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast each day at the Imprevist restaurant and it was great.
The massage at the spa was so relaxing I didn't want it to end.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and plan to return in the future.
We hope to try the other location - El Taj because we have heard that is
a beautiful place as well. Thanks Maya Villa for such a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Shawn A,

Thank you very much for you review!

Glad you enjoyed the property and breakfasts at Imprevist... Have you tried dining there, too? Imprevist is considered to be the top gourmet restaurant in Playa, and it's especially romantic at night, lit by candles and chandelliers, serving some of the most creative gourmet cuisines in town.

Please come back soon, and enjoy our properties as well as the region - just talk to our concierge, and he will be able to book adventure tours for you in the jungle, snorkeling in the Caribbean Sea or visits to Mayan towns. There is so much to do in the region!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a fantastic place, our friends recommended us this place, and surely we were not disappointed!! The rooms are beautiful, very clean, the staff is kind & professional, the atmosphere amazing, and the location just what we had wished for... perfect. We also loved the pool shaped as a gecko. Would return anytime if I had more holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sonnenfisch2000,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing Maya Villa!

I am glad you enjoyed it... we wanted to create a tropical paradise, surrounded by tropical plants, waterfalls, and our heated gecko-shaped pool, the only heated pool in Playa del Carmen... and it looks like we were able to achieve our goal judging by reviews of such guests as yourself.

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Family members, friends, and my husband and I spent several glorious days at the Maya Villa in Playa del Carmen for my nephew's wedding celebration. The Maya Villa has fully furnished, beautiful, clean, two-bedroom villas in a lovely tropical setting. It is just a block from the beach and its Indigo Beach Club provides lounges,umbrellas and fabulous food/drink service. The Indigo Beach Club also hosted the wedding reception...on the beach, lit palm trees, under the stars...with wonderful food, music, entertainment and drinks! The concierge was so helpful both before and during the trip, arranging airport transportation, a deep-sea fishing trip, and massage at the spa (for me!). Playa del Carmen is absolutely charming and I enjoyed the intimate atmosphere and quiet beauty of the Maya Villas.

Room Tip: The top floor condos have a rooftop patio/party space with hot tub, bbq grill, and beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear CathyNewton0613,

Thank you for your beautiful review!

You made a great decision to come here with all family and friends - Maya Villa is perfect for groups and families. In fact, our vision was to create spacious multi-bedroom units, some with private rooftops, BBQ grills and Jacuzzis, so that families and groups of friends could have enough space and privacy, which really helps to have a fully enjoyable vacation.

Next time, you can also talk with our concierge about adventure tours, snorkeling and visits to Mayan towns - there is so much to do in the region!

You and your family and friends are most welcome to come back whenever you'd like!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place was absolutely amazing! My husband and I stayed there for 11 days for our honeymoon this October. We were upgraded to a 3 bed/3 bath penthouse (room 408) which was bigger than we needed but so beautiful! The property and the rooms are immaculate, the service is superb, the location is perfect! We had a view of the ocean from our rooftop, so even though it's a block or so off the beach you could see the ocean and still have SOO much privacy! The condo is also one block from 5th ave where all the restaurants and shops were located. Because the El Taj has the same owners we were able to use the private beach club. One of my favorite things was every morning we had breakfast at Imprevist, which is attached to Maya Villa. Seriously, it is a gourmet breakfast!! Our waitress, Elisa was outstanding!! She is so very sweet and a wonderful server!! I highly recommend Maya Villa to anyone wanting something different from a huge all inclusive resort! You have privacy and 5 star accommodations for a fraction of the price!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a rooftop are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Camille816,

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and penthouse with the private rooftop. Our goal was to create an exclusive luxurious property that offers all that our guests might imagine, our own small paradise. As you correctly observe, we are anything but an all-inclusive factory-style place.

I hope you were able to enjoy all of our complimentary amenities, including a free world-class gym with various classes, including yoga on the beach.

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near TA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Really great hotel, perfect service, very helpful stuff, very clean and comfortable rooms. The only inconvenience- but not by hotel itself- the hotel is not on the beach (2 min walk) and anyway the beach in this part of Playa is not recommended- it is not amazing as in other areas in Riviera Maya, pretty dirty because of all fisherman boats there. Even for easy swim you need to walk to other place. If it was possible to copy-paste the hotel to other area- it could be perfect. From the other hand the hotel is near 5th av with all restaurants and shops but still very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Svefri,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our boutique hotel, and its atmosphere of a luxury oasis in a perfect location that we worked hard to create.

Speaking about the beach, I believe you simply happened to find yourself there around hurricane Sandy, which left lots of seaweed sprawled all around the beaches of Playa del Carmen and all the Caribbean in general, and as you know, we cannot predict the ways of Mother Nature.

On the contrary, seaweed on the beach speaks about its natural cleanliness, and it is usually promptly removed by the workers of local municipality - we as a hotel would be there cleaning our beach non-stop, but the coastline is in the jurisdiction of the government, and we are not allowed to touch it. Sometimes they get slammed because of unpredictable natural happenings, but generally the beach is cleaned every morning.

You also mentioned the little fishermen boats - we actually think that they add some old-world charm to our beach, because just fifteen years ago Playa was only a small fishing village with unpaved streets. By removing the small boats from our beach, we would remove the means of livelihood of local fishermen, who have been there long before we came. As you mention, if you wish to swim, you just need to walk a few feet on the beach, or you can also talk to our concierge about spending a day at one of our affiliated beach clubs that are completely pristine and are located a short ride away.

I hope to see you at Maya Villa very soon!

Cordially,
Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.