We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to explore Playa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Yebo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Yebo to your Saves list
Club Yebo
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1st Avenue | at the corner with 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fontana, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place to explore Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I really loved this little hotel. We are a family of four and they upgraded us for free to a two bedroom apartment! It was very spacious and comfortable. The mattress in the master was not great, but the other beds were fine. The AC worked good and we appreciated the drinking water.

You are walking distances to a lot of the major night clubs in Playa. You are also very close to the beach and 5th street. If you stay here you could enjoy yourself without a car.

We only stayed here one night for the Taste of Playa Food festival, which was great, but very crowded! My kids and I enjoyed the pool and hammock area, but did get a few mosquito bites.

It is nice that they provide an umbrella, ice chest and beach chair in the room.
I would defnitley recommend this place to a friend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    57
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
90
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just loved Club Yebo! We are in our late 40s/early 50s & have done the big all inclusives (Sandals, etc...) but love the small feel of Club Yebo. With only 14 rooms it is cozy, everyone staying there says hello, the staff @ the check-in can give you lots of time. Here are some inputs on the hotel, hints for transportation, restaurants and suggestions to make your Playa time wonderful:
HOTEL:
- we stayed in basic room (Kahlo)- if steps are an issue, choose this room (only 3 steps) & 6 total steps in other basic room (Lupe)
- small room w/ pretty hard double bed but all that we needed: safe, small frig, coffeemaker, microwave, hotplate, big water bubbler, chairs, cooler, cups/plates/utinsels
- AC & overhead fan worked fine, large shower w/ plenty of water pressure and hot water
- Super clean, never saw a bug (rare for Mexico), poinsettas at Christmas time a nice touch, cute shy cats, palapa area near pool great area to meet other guests
- Staff awesome! Thanks Joel for all your help in making our stay great!
- Two signs for Club Yebo so hotel is easy to find; look for Phantom Dive shop and blue statue
- Glad they are renovating and keeping the place nice but the noise is an issue, if you plan on enjoying your room or being in the hotel from 8-5, book elsewhere or confirm construction over 1st
- Constuction near our room and in pool but just went to sister hotel (Playa Palms) on the beach...just bring blue towel and show room key if questioned
- If after 5pm, go to Playa Palms to get key (walk away from Club Yebo down 14th towards water, take 1st street to the right and PPs on left) - 1 min walk
- Can buy ice for 20 pesos, security guard at night nice
BEACH:
- Get $1 Amarento beach pass from front office (along w/ beach towels); can pay total at end when check out
- Amarento beach is straight down 14th street (1 min walk), on left side. Has umbrellas & chairs w/ cushions
- Willy is dynamic guy; get 4 beers for 120 pesos; may want to avoid 2:1 drinks (weak and yucky)
- Beach is eroding & area in front of Amarento is boat area; nicer swimming area to the left (30 seconds on beach)
- South of ferry & Sr Frog area (to the right when looking at water) is a nicest, widest, flattest, least crowded beach. If you are a beach walker, enjoy this quieter residential area. Best people watching is the other way.
DIVING:
- Phantom Divers right next door great! Ramon is energetic, professional and a great dive master
- $125 for 2 two tank dives w/ all equipment (including wetsuit) can't be beat
- 8:30 am showup for a 9 am departure; back by noon
- 90 ft and 40 ft dive - 15 minutes to 1st site (great coral and lots of fish) & super visibility
- small boat w/ back entry and can be sporty getting back on if rough water

RESTAURANTS:
Breakfast - Cuervo de Chango (38th St & 5th-beach); go N on 5th, right on 38th and it's on the right; look for the monkey - cute, jungle like setting w/ stream; super juices & great omelette
Lunch- La Tarraya - beach & 2nd (near ferry to the south); great 50 peso fish fillets; go in bathing suit and fit right in; oldest restauant in Playa; take pic w/ wooden pirate out front
Dinner - El Diaz - 5th Ave & 28th or 30th (across from Hagen Daz) & on left side on corner; 300 gram steaks for 200 pesos ( $15 US); avoid wine; overpriced and not good
- Carboncitos - mexican food; good chicken faitas 140 pesos; fun to watch waiters bring margaritas stacked 2 deep on their heads!
- Fusion - on beach and 6th/8th - good grilled grouper. Fun low slung chairs and feet in the sand. Hurricane lamps on tables, brightly colored funky lites, live music each night = fun & good food; belly dancers & fire shows some nights too!
TRANSPORTATION:
- ADO bus super! 130 pesos & runs every 30 minutes on 1/2 (until 7:30pm when it is every hour); Bear right and pay lady at lane one. If miss bus, there is an outside restaurant to kill the time (near departure area @ terminal 3)
- Bus takes 1 hour to get from airport to Playa; plan on 1 1/2 hours for return to airport (to terminal 3; stops @ terminal 1 & 2 first)
- Buy ticket to airport day prior to leaving (tickets sell out fast); check which terminal your airline is at (at ADO bus station); long walk between terminals
- 10 minute walk from ADO bus station (corner of 5th Ave & 2nd ave) to hotel. Go left (north) out of ADO bus station, right turn at Starbucks (on right) onto 10th St, go left on 1st & hotel on left (2 more minutes)....look for Phantom Divers sign & big blue dude

HELPFUL HINTS:
- Playa has grown alot in last 2 years since we were there! Better restaurants & atmosphere to the North
- $20 massages wonderful!
- From hotel: closest pharmacy (5th Ave & 16th St); closest convenience store (1st Ave & 10th)
- Get pesos in Playa (terrible exchange rate @ airport); should be over 13 peso:1 US dollar in Dec 2013
-Scottia Bank (10th St & Constitution); Walmart (10th St & 25th Ave) & Mega (Mexican grocery store; Constitution & 30th Ave) - 10 min walk max; may want to taxi back if heavy groceries

Hope this helped & you enjoy your time in Playa. Remember to try to speak a little Spanish & have fun!

Room Tip: I'd spring for the studio or studio plus if you can. 2nd floor w/ your own little balcony looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thanks for your extensive and positive review of our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed to stay with us and all services available in our area.

One comment I wanted to make regarding construction. As per Christmas we have completed finished all renovation works. All rooms on the garden side, including where you stayed, have gone through an extensive remodelling and new photos will soon be posted on our website.

As an extraordinary event during the renovation of our pool, we offered guests to use Playa Palms´ pool, but this is not customary.

We hope to see you here again next time you are in our area.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Although I can't say I'm the biggest fan of Playa del Carmen, I would return to Club Yebo in a heartbeat. The location could not be any better unless you were right on the beach itself, and the staff is very friendly and helpful (and the speak good English which was a blessing when my high school Spanish failed me LOL). Our room was rennovated, clean, and modern. And he's believe it or not, it had comfortable beds! We had an excellent room with a very large patio with kitchenette. The little touches such as a candle for our patio table, a large jug of drinking water, daily beach towels, and only $1 to use the beach club were all nice touches. We did have problems accessing the Wi-Fi at first, but they sent their tech guy to our room and he was able to get all of our devices connected for us. And yes the construction noise can be quite loud (they were doing major rennovations to the room next to ours) but at least they waited until 9am. The construction noise is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars but that is obviously a temporary issue. All in all it was an excellent value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent 10 nights here and was perfectly comfortable. The rooms are really different , check before you commit. I didn't like my first room , but the next day they easily moved me to the Garden room which was right by the pool. This one was larger, bathroom newer and the table and chairs outside my door looked out onto plants and the pool.
Everything was clean and there is a night guard walking the premises, so I felt safe, important as a single woman.
The wifi connected just fine both in and out of my room.
Each day I was given fresh beach towels, and although I didn't care for the closest beach club( too many dive boats), I had a short walk to several other options.
It is conveniently located, quick walk to beach and fifth ave., but it was a bit difficult to find.
I would return, to me this shows my level of satisfaction.

Room Tip: Look at them online, or ask if you can chose when you arrive and see them. The garden room was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second stay at Club Yebo. They are currently upgrading their rooms so there was some construction. The rooms are small, cool, and clean. We spend most of our time at the beach club. The staff is helpful, especially Carmen! She's the best.

Room Tip: we stayed by the pool this time, as we do not utilize the pool, I'd rather be on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandville, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you came to Playa to hang out in your hotel, then you should just stay at home. This place has little or no amenities, the wifi is sketchy. So what! I spent at least 12 hrs a day doing things in and around Playa. The hotel is still nicer than any hotel chain room and 5th avenue was 1 min by foot away. Anyone who has a problem with this hotel doesn't deserve to travel a experience new and exciting things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Helge Sturesson is the one of the most conscientious vacation hotel hosts I've seen in the Caribbean - he actually worries about Club Yebo guests enjoying their stay! The attention to small details is the mark Helge and his colleagues put on the entire hotel operation. Sleeping, often a serious problem in Playa del Carmen, was not an issue during the week or on the weekend. The air conditioning worked efficiently and quietly and the bed linens were clean. I hgighly recommend Club Yebo - thank you to Helge and his staff for making our stay so pleasurable

Harvi Rollict-Annu

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Club Yebo, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thanks for your kind review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Of course we worry about our guests having a good stay, that is what we are here for :-)

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sunny Mexican greetings

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Yebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Yebo

Address: 1st Avenue | at the corner with 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club Yebo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- A COZY AND TRANQUIL HOTEL, RIGHT OFF THE BEACH Our well-equipped studios and apartments are set in a lush tropical and tranquil garden, in just a two minutes walk from the beach. We have intended to make the rooms a home away from home during your vacation. Our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes so you may cook your own meals/ mix margaritas/etcetera, and enjoy them on a private balcony. Hang out on a lounger next to the pool, or take the beach kit with chairs and cooler to enjoy the Caribbean Sea. Club Yebo is a small tranquil hotel but it is also a place to socialize and make friends over a drink or BBQ in the common palapa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Yebo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Yebo Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Club Yebo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Yebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.