We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Punto to your Saves list
Hotel El Punto
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Positives:
- Rooms in great condition. Looks like recently remodeled
- Housekeeping 7 days a week
- Beach only one block down
- Right in the middle of shops, restaurants, etc.
- Staff extremely courteous
- Free Wi-Fi
- Individual Climate Control with a Split A/C unit that was strong enough to keep the room very cold if you want - a must for me

Be aware of:
- My room did not have an iron / ironing board
- Wi-Fi can be tricky to connect and/or weak signal at times
- No elevator
- I think housekeeping has specific hours only - not sure, but it wasn't important for me as long as I had access to clean towels
- Because it's so close to the beach, it's located where cars cannot access directly; so cars, taxis, etc can only get as close as 1 block from the entrance

Room Tip: All bathrooms were good, but some rooms have much bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hola Dear Jaerheca and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have chosen our boutique Hotel El Punto and also that we have surpassed your expectations overall. We would like to add that we do have iron upon request dialing zero from your room. Our housekeeping service works from 8am to 6 pm providing also with daily turn down service, although we respect our clients "do not disturb sign" which could have happened during your stay with us. We believe that being very close to the beach is a positive comment and once more, we truly appreciate your review and we hope to host you again soon in the near future. We remain always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    66
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
134
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed recently here and I loved it. It is very clean, modern and has great service. It is the best option for young people and young honeymooners who like to have fun. La Azotea bar is on the rooftop and is a great place to have a drink or two. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo is tasty. One block away from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Iaxiola we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our boutique Hotel El PUNTO. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon in the near future. we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed from 8/3-8/7 in a junior king size bed. The bathroom was really small but, excellent very friendly staff especially "Julio" who was very helpful with booking our Mayan ruins tours - but we found out the certain hotels and tour businesses charge different prices so shop around first for ANY ACTIVITIES...Another think this hotel doesn't have swimming pool or its not next to the beach but they provide access card to get free sitting next to the beach but (don't loss the card because THEY WILL CHARGE YOU FOR IT) or another thing I happen to stained the hotel towel with make-up - nothing that wouldn't take off BUT I STILL GOT CHARGED $25 which I THOUGHT WAS RIDICULOUS..
Transportation: Take the ADO bus public transportation ($12 each) from Cancun airport to Playa del carmen which will drop you off 3 blocks (walking distance) from Hotel el punto so don't pay for taxi (they will rip you off with $20) when you can walk.
Restaurants: The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but the staff recommends a restaurant that is right across the hotel called "Mi Pueblo" which I honestly thought it was very expensive (we bought a plate of literally six shrimp and bowl of rice for $40 a plate) so we were able to find cheaper and really good food just 3-4 blocks away (not your very fancy place but good food) - don't get me wrong the food at Mi Pueblo is good but expensive if your planning to pay about $30-$40 a plate then you should be find.
Activities: we purchased our activities at "Easy tour" private business which we paid for Mayan ruins: Tulum, Coba, 1 cenote (not impressed) which included buffet lunch for $70 per person but lunch time was so un-organized no where to sit and not enough food. Another activity we did was the "Rio Secreto" cave or hidden cenote for $70 each which also comes with buffet lunch, 1 hour tour, includes towel and body suite and shoes - WELL WORTH IT, LOVED IT ESPECIALLY OUR TOUR GUIDE SANTIAGO....
Shan-Hi I think was what it's called is jeep jungle excursion for two hour dive until you get to a beautiful private beach, includes buffet lunch (was really good) next to the beach, snorkeling, you see turtles and dolphins for $129 each - LOVED IT AS WELL SO WORTH THE MONEY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Asillab, we would like to thank you for your comments. As you kindly wrote, our team purpose is to exceed our clients expectations 24/7 and we are happy that even with all the money "issues" that you perceived during your stay, we made you vacations while worthy. Regarding the charge for the towel, it was fully stained with makeup and unfortunately we cant use them for upcoming clients. Even though we dont have pool and it has never been advertised that we do, we provide all of our guests with daily free beach towels as well as 2 private options for beach club access that include chair or queen size bed + umbrella for only $20.00 usd in consumption (food, beer, snacks). Usually these beach clubs charge a minim of $10.00 usd per person plus consumption but we have made a partnership for our guest benefit. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from 7/24-7/30. Cute boutique hotel, excellent friendly staff who will help you book tours, have coupons for local restaurants, and are there to make sure you have a great time! Thanks Roberto, Julio, and Lula! We used the Groupon and had no trouble doing so. The Groupon included tasty breakfast at Mi Pueblo. Our room was large and clean, had a neat shower, and was facing 5th Avenue. We could hear the mariachi at night, but it didn't bother us much. We were on the lower floor, so can't comment on the music from the rooftop bar. The pizza at La Azotea was delicious! We were right on 5th Avenue in the middle of everything, near bars, restaurants, and only a block from the beach. The housekeepers did a good job, as well.
The only thing that I would have to say needs improvement is the refrigerator. We bought some beer to keep in our room--we got back and realized the refrigerator isn't cold. However, not something even remotely close to being a concern to keep me from recommending.
We had a great stay and would definitely recommend to others! Thanks, El Punto!
-Lindsey and Matt-

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Lindsey W, we would like to thank you for choosing our boutique Hotel El Punto for your past stay as well as your kind comments. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations overall and we hope to host you again in the near future! We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My friend and I just came back from a 4-night, 5-day stay at Hotel El Punto. Although this fits the "boutique hotel" category, the hotel was a much smaller than we expected (maybe 20 rooms total?) but we knew it was a boutique hotel going in and we were blown away by the size of our suite, the cleanliness, mod decor, and comfortable furnishings (the bed was more comfortable than my expensive Doctors Choice mattress at home!)
We were told we were given the "nicest room/balcony in the hotel" (Room 29) and we were truly pleased by the room and all amenities. We had heard from previous reviews that 5th street was very noisy, as was the rooftop bar on the hotel, and that things didn't quiet down until after midnight. While we found the timeline to be true and 5th street to be a "happening place", the room was quiet enough that we could sleep and the outside sounds just helped lull us to sleep as they reminded us that we were on vacation in the heart of Playa and the wonderful culture around us.
The customer service truly makes this place a home away from home. All of the staff are truly fantastic and friendly, but Roberto, the concierge we dealt with the most, was our favorite! He was so helpful and bent over backwards to make sure that we (two girls traveling in Mexico) found great excursions at a great price, luxurious beach clubs, great restaurants, great margaritas, and that no matter where we went or what we did, we were informed and safe. He took our picture each night we went out, and each time we returned to the hotel, we were greeted by name and asked how our day/excursion had been so that he made sure the suggestions met our expectations. We felt like VIPs :)
Mi Pueblo, the breakfast included with the stay at Hotel El Punto, was a wonderful treat to wake up to each morning with Juan Carlos, Leo and the rest of the staff remembering our drink orders and speciality preferences each morning, greeting us with smiles and hugs, and the food was so fresh and yummy, including some recipes we have brought home to try and duplicate!
La Azoteca, the restaurant bar located at the top of the Hotel, was another story. The atmosphere was truly luxurious, almost like you had stepped onto a rooftop bar in the middle of Manhattan, however, the waitstaff seemed pretentious and the drinks were extremely expensive for what you were served.
The only downside to the Hotel itself was the underlying smell of mold/mildew in the hallway outside of our hotel room. The ceilings have decorative panels in them, and we noticed that the one closest to our room had a lot of mold buildup on the outside. I think if and when they clean that up, all reviews going forward would be completely positive.

Room Tip: As for room number 29...best in the house! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear EbethL, thank you so much for choosing our Boutique Hotel El Punto for your past vacations. In behalf of all the team, specially Roberto, we would like to thank you for your kind review. Our motto is guest service satisfaction and we are happy to hear that your stay was fantastic. Regarding your comment for Azotea, I personally have spoken with the manager and he sends his apologies. They are certainly working on customer service for our future mutual clients. We remain always at your service and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a great time at El Punto. The "junior" suite was quite large, had an enormous bed, and nice modern decor. I usually expect that photos shown online make hotel rooms look nicer than they actually are in person, but this was not the case with Hotel el Punto-- the rooms are just as beautiful as in the pictures. The free breakfast (real breakfast at a restaurant, not just a stale bagel and watery coffee from the lobby), free beach towels and beach access one block away, and SUPER friendly staff that helped us find and book some fun, cheap activities made us feel like we got more than our money's worth (we had a Groupon). Since the hotel is right on 5th Ave, and there is a little club/lounge above the hotel we were concerned that it would be noisy at night when we were trying to sleep, but it was actually quiet. However, you could hear it pretty clearly if someone in the room above you dragged a chair across the tile floor or something like that. I definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a nice spot right in the city close to all the action!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not directly under the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Miss Acadia W, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our boutique Hotel El PUNTO. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon in the near future. we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just came back from this very nice boutique hotel. I booked this hotel with a Groupon and it sure was a very nice surprise. The location is perfect. You could find anything you needed from this location. I would pay the little extra cost for the larger rooms they have balconies and they are great to have. We love people watching so this was perfect to have a few drinks and watch people roam the streets.

I am a VERY picky person and this was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in. The beds were made so well you could bounce a quarter off the bed.

The staff is amazing...I called and asked about an ice machine and 5 minutes later there was a knock on my door...Julio had requested the bar upstairs to bring us ice... what a nice surprise.

There is not a pool which I missed a little...but you are only 1 block away from the water and you can go to 2 different places to use their beach chairs...that was wonderful...one place you have to spend a certain amount of money and the other you don't...they are almost next door so either place is fine.

Our room faced the front and the side and the mariachi bands did not bother us at all. The air conditioner worked great....you couldn't hear it as other people stated and I actually had to put a blanket on because it worked so well.

I feel that any negative comments were from people that will never be happy no matter where they go...

I really do not have one negative thing to say about this hotel....

Room Tip: I would get one of the large rooms...they have the balconies and the balcony is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear LUKECharlotteNC, we would like to thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests and we are extremely happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we exceeded your expectations. We hope to host you again in the near future and we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Punto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.