We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Punto to your Saves list
Hotel El Punto
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just came back from this very nice boutique hotel. I booked this hotel with a Groupon and it sure was a very nice surprise. The location is perfect. You could find anything you needed from this location. I would pay the little extra cost for the larger rooms they have balconies and they are great to have. We love people watching so this was perfect to have a few drinks and watch people roam the streets.

I am a VERY picky person and this was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in. The beds were made so well you could bounce a quarter off the bed.

The staff is amazing...I called and asked about an ice machine and 5 minutes later there was a knock on my door...Julio had requested the bar upstairs to bring us ice... what a nice surprise.

There is not a pool which I missed a little...but you are only 1 block away from the water and you can go to 2 different places to use their beach chairs...that was wonderful...one place you have to spend a certain amount of money and the other you don't...they are almost next door so either place is fine.

Our room faced the front and the side and the mariachi bands did not bother us at all. The air conditioner worked great....you couldn't hear it as other people stated and I actually had to put a blanket on because it worked so well.

I feel that any negative comments were from people that will never be happy no matter where they go...

I really do not have one negative thing to say about this hotel....

Room Tip: I would get one of the large rooms...they have the balconies and the balcony is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear LUKECharlotteNC, we would like to thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests and we are extremely happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we exceeded your expectations. We hope to host you again in the near future and we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    74
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
143
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We used a groupon for this hotel. Given the deal, it was very inexpensive. The hotel is nice, modern rooms, and the staff is extremely nice. You receive free breakfast across the street and beach towels. Also, you can recieve coupons to certain restaurants as beach clubs (make sure to ask the front desk for them). The rooftop bar had delicious food. It was one block from the beach and two from the club strip. The downside is that the rooms were on the smaller end and there was no elevators (a little tough to carry luggage three flights).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear YoungTraveller84, we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. For all our team was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again in the near future.
We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Perfect location,nice rooms and amazing roof top with bar!
I been with my wife and my parents that are over 65 but they really enjoy the young management and the service.
I will go back there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hola Dear Stefanosalvemini, in behalf of our Boutique Hotel El Punto team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us as well as for choosing us for your precious vacations. Was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again in the near future. We remain always at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved this hotel! My partner and I stayed here after purchasing the groupon deal for the master suite for a three night stay. We were put in the a room with a balcony and a great view of the street and the beach. We absolutely loved it because we were able to hear mariachi music and all types of performances from our room. However, if you are someone who prefers peace and quiet by 10pm this might not be the best hotel for you since it is in the middle of everything and cab get pretty loud. Otherwise, the service was great! Lula and Roberto were wonderful and super helpful! We felt very safe and my partner and I had no issues at the hotel or at the beach. Beware wifi was a bit of an issue and did not work in our room. However it always worked in the lobby and they have a desktop computer for their patrons. Complimentary breakfast at Mi Pueblo was superb but keep in mind that you still need to pay tip. In addition, the rooftop bar/restaurant on top of the hotel had great pizza! Overall, wonderful stay and we couldn't have asked for better room or better service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hola dear Marti20v and thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience with us at Hotel El Punto. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon in the near future. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel el Punto has a great location in Playa. The staff, minus the restaurant staff was extreamly helpful and knowledgable. The room was clean and comfortable, but the walls are paper thin. If you plan to go to bed before midnight... bring ear plugs. The restaurant upstairs on the rooftop was over priced and the staff seemed unhappy o be there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hola dear MNevermann and thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I have passed your comments along to the restaurant and they have taken actions since your comment. I truly hope you can come to visit us again soon. We remain always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at El Punto for five nights. The location is great if you want to stay near the beach and the busy nightlife. We had the master suite which was one of the best rooms with a big terrace facing the pedestrian street. The room was clean and lovely, and it had a coffee machine. The service at the hotel was very good and they could help with anything; booking trips, find restaurants etc. We had a great experience here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hola Miss Anja B and thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon. We remain at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed a Hotel El Punto and had a wonderful stay. We were able to book our airport transfer through the hotel and the check in/check out process was very easy as well. The staff at the hotel go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and provide everything that you need. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Roberto who was very accommodating and even offered to make local calls to confirm travel plans, reservations and an excursion that we booked. Every staff member we met was just as friendly and very welcoming. Prior to our arrival, I read several reviews that did not rate the hotel as excellent; however, I disagreed with many of the comments based on our stay. Individuals who complained were dissatisfied with the following: customer service, noise and their room. I don't want this review to get too lengthy but we did not experience these concerns. As far as customer service, based on our experience with EVERY staff member, we were always treated with respect, kindness and courtesy. I honestly could not imagine anyone at Hotel El Punto being unkind to any guest. As far as noise goes, all I can say is that you are in Mexico and you should embrace and enjoy Mexican culture. We never went to bed before 1AM which is when the upstairs bar closes but we could hear the music when we stopped in our room at night. The noise was not bad at all. In addition there was a live Mariachi band playing across from the hotel nightly. They could be a bit loud, but again, I found their music to be enjoyable and a nice reminder that if I was hearing them that meant I was in my room and not out enjoying this beautiful city. Finally, I read reviews about room issues. Again, no problems here. The room was very nice and clean, What you see in the photos is exactly what you get in the room. Additionally, breakfast was terrific at Mi Pueblo and La Azotea (rooftop bar) is great as well. Overall, I would say that if you book this hotel, you will be happy. Being a visitor to Mexico, I was very nervous about travel, especially after reading some of the other reviews. I e-mailed back and forth with the staff at-least 15 times with questions. Each time, my e-mails were responded to in a professional and timely manner and all of my questions were answered. I would simply suggest calling or e-mailing them if you have questions or concerns. If you book this hotel, you will have a great stay:)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15. Noise was not bad at all from the rooftop bar, but you could hear the mariachi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hola Mr. Robert G. and first of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel El Punto for your upcoming stay. We truly appreciate your kind comments and wonderful experience about your stay with us. We are devoted to our clients as is what we enjoy the most in this industry. We hope to host you again soon in the near future and once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Punto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.