We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING...INCREDIBLE!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edventure Tours

Edventure Tours
Ave Juarez #109, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
+52 984 871 2209
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the "Original" cenote, lagoon, turtle tour in the Riviera Maya- having been in the area and doing tours for 30 years! We are a family owned and operated business. We offer you the best of the area- for the best prices!From the pristine turquoise waters of the Caribbean- to the Ancient Mayan Ruins, with so much more in between! Experience the cenotes- the amazing underground rivers; snorkel a natural aquarium full of brilliant colored tropical fish; swim/snorkel with the majestic sea turtles- watch as they glide effortlessly in their own natural environment. For even more "edventure", visit our new Zipline park! Take a fun ATV or Unimog jeep ride- deep into the jungle! A menagerie of ziplines with connecting hanging bridges. Rappel, rock climb, cliff jump… Tour with us~ to experience this amazing area at it's best! We take families of all ages- Tots to Seniors~ and offer private tours for couples or groups of all sizes.Let us customize a day for you! We are honored to share with you, this wonderful bit of Paradise!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Rocklin, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING...INCREDIBLE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about our experience with Edventure Tours. The customer service up front from Bonnie was top notch...i'm sure she grew tired from the million and one questions we had upfront and the numerous calls we made to her, but she never showed it. We opted for the Extreme Tour, with zip lines, Telum ruins, ATVs, and snorkel...with turtles, in a cool lagoon and in a cenote. Because we were a large group (20 adults and teenagers) we had a multiple guides. Moses, Javier, and David were great!!!! They tended to our every need, put up with all of our groups silliness, provided a wealth of information about all of our activities, and were just plain fun to be around. During the zip line portion of the tour (which was in the jungle and WAY cool), all of the staff made us feel very safe and were very encouraging in our efforts. My wife is very afraid of heights, but was able to do the zip lines with their help, and was SOOO glad she did!

We had such a good time with this tour and were so impressed with Edventures, that three of us booked another excursion with them to swim with the whale sharks. Another simple phone call to Bonnie, and we were matched up with David again. Something that I would like to mention is that I learned that the day we requested isn't a normal day that they run this tour, but they accommodated our request since they knew we really wanted to do the trip...TALK ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE! This is an incredible tour and is worthy of your bucket list. The sharks are incredible! They are around 30ft long and very beautiful. During my time in the water, I was able to swim within inches of these creatures and during one swim I also encountered a manta rey!!! With a 20ft wing span gliding along, it is something that I will never forget. David was in the water with us, and took incredible pictures that I can't wait to share with people. David picked us up at our hotel promptly at the time promised and got us to the boat and checked in. Off to the sharks we went. All and all, we saw about 20-30 sharks, swam as long as we wanted and had a great time! Once done, our boat went to Isla la Mujeres for fresh made shrimp ceviche and beers! Just what we needed, to finish off perfect day and an amazing trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    39
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wild and Crazy Day...Not to be Missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

While in Cancun we spent a day with Edventure Tours doing the Xtreme tour. They advertise on their website that it will be the "Best Day of Your Vacation." We agree...it made the rest of our activities on the trip seem pretty lame. We highly recommend this tour.

They pick you up at your hotel and take you to the office in Tulum where you meet Eduardo who gets you all squared away for the tour. We skipped the ruins because we had already seen them, so we got started in the jungle. Our awesome guides, Raul and Brian, loaded the 8 of us into 2 ATV's and took us on a wild ride to the start of the ziplines. About the ride...the guides drove, which was a good thing because they knew where they were going and went FAST. It was raining and there were a lot of huge puddles, so I could tell Raul was looking over his shoulder to see our reaction to getting wet. Once he saw we were laughing and cheering, he started hitting the puddles faster, so a tidal wave of water would go over our vehicle. It was a blast.

Most of us agreed that the zipline park was our favorite part of the day. Raul and Brian got us checked out with all the safety precautions and we started zipping through the trees and rain. There were 9 lines and a bunch of cool bridges. All 8 of us loved it. After a few lines, they started challenging us to contests like going upside down and being able to rotate once and only once. Raul would give each person a score for their performance. It was really fun, but he wasn't the greatest judge: one time I know I should have had a "10," but he only gave me a "9.5."

Next, we did a little climbing and rappelling. Then, it was off to the Cenotes for snorkeling. Brian led us through here with underwater flashlights. He was really good at making sure everyone was comfortable with it and it was a very cool experience.

Lunch was also spectacular. They bring in slow cooked chicken and pork with tortillas and other fixins for an outdoor picnic. The meat choices were both very tasty. Also plenty of water, soft drinks and Cerveza.

Then it was back on the ATV's for a return wild ride and eventually we ended up on the coast at a bay in Akumal where Brian and Raul took us out for some marine life snorkeling. They are pretty good at finding things because in the 30 minutes we were out, we saw 4 big turtles and 3 manta rays.

Finally we ended the day at the Akumal estuary, a salt water / fresh water mixed lagoon that had a bunch of fish for a little more snorkeling.

Thanks to Raul and Brian for making this such a wild and exciting day. Also to Eduardo and Bonnie for making sure everything was set up for our day of fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I strongly recommend edventure tours! We had an AMAZING day. Everyone made you feel safe and comfortable, and they answered all questions! Thank you for such a fun day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Riviera Maya..we had booked the EDVENTURE Extreme tour prior to our trip. It was the best part of our trip. Started the day touring the ruins..we paid for a guide (Moses) who made the whole experience much better. On from there to ziplines, snorkeling in a cenote and then in the ocean with sea turtles..and we saw many. Brian was our guide for ziplines and snorkeling. All the staff were friendly and great to spend the day with. Eduardo the owner greeted us in the beginning and at the end to make sure all went well. It was a terrific experience with terrific people! Gracias...and if we would return again..we definitely would use this tour...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I and my son had amazing time with Edventure Tours on June 12. Bryan did a wonderful job. We enjoyed every single activity. First, we visited Tulum. The ruin was so beautiful. However, we hated huge mosquitoes in the area. Very kind staff gave us mosquito repellent spray but the mosquitoes did not care. :( We got free coconuts with rum. After the ruin, we had good time with Zip-lines. The staff worked so hard to make the day so special for us. I could tell kids who were in a group enjoyed a lot. We also enjoyed an ATV ride to get to the zip-line area. Cenotes were so beautiful. We also liked the lunch. Tacos were very tasty. We swam with turtles and so many other fishes in Akumal and the lagoon. My son loved the lagoon a lot. Anyway, what I want to say is Edventure tours made our day SO special. If you like some adventures, please go with Edventure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edventure Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Edventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.