We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay out!!! the worst hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azul

Hotel Azul
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Azul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5ta avenida entre calles 10 y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stay out!!! the worst hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

we wanted to stay in that hotel for one night, we paid a 1000 pesos, and 10 minutes after we got into the room i wanted to take a shower and the shower tap was broken!!! we couldnt take a shower, sowe went to the receptionist and she told us that someone will come in a few minutes to fix it and that it will take 5 minutes. offcourse the guy came after 30 minutes and it took time untill he "fixed" it. the shower was still not useable, and we still couldnt take a shower after all this time. we wanted to get our money back and that started a whole new story.. the receptionist tryed to talk to her boss but her boss wasnt available so she told me to wait, and after 35 minutes the boss finely responed and talled her that i can get some of the money back, but not all of it because i used the room! i was in the room for only 40 minutes, but 30 minutes of it where to wait for my shower to get fixed!!! and why did they let me use that room if the shower is broken?! just stay out of this hotel, and of tropical hotel- same owner same shi*t

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    15
    7
    13
See reviews for
4
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Luna Azul spa is home to some of the best massage staff in the city...especially Suemy and Melina. The location is right in the heart of the action. We didn't stay at the hotel but we did use the washroom and it was very clean. I saw people barbecuing next to the pool and i thought that was pretty cool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Location, cleanliness, free wifi, complimentary drinking water in room, friendly receptionist, cable TV.

Cons: Small rooms, poor TV reception, lack of privacy, noisy, wifi only works outside room (near reception), rickety bed.

I would probably not stay here again but was not traumatised by the experience either. A good choice if you want to be very central & will not be spending much time in your tiny room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel Azul is tucked away on 5th Avenue in Playa de Carmen and steps from about 50 restaurants. Location, Location Location. OK, this is not a luxury hotel. It hs a good AC, two beds (king and single) good hot shower and bath and a desk/chair for your laptop. Internet is free. Maria was one of the front desk people who was sooooo nice. The pool was clean and the surrounding area, ioncluding the sundeck on the second floor overlooking the pool was full of palm trees and flowering plants. It is a beautiful setting. At $40 USD a night it is a bargain considering the prices in Playa. The hotel Azul is a very clean place to stay and where you want to be if you visit Playa. Unlike the two reviews obviously written by the same travelers, we found our room ready early, towels every day and water on the table daily. We always received a smile and a greeting when we came in or left. They also gave us some free drink coupons to the local places, Other than some noisy drunks one night, the hotel was quied. Get a room on the back side away from the street like we did because the party goes on in Playa until around 3:00AM.

If you are like me and have only used Playa de Carmen as a waypoint to get to Cozumel, you are missing one of the prettiest beaches and most action packed resort areas on the Yucatan. The restaurants are great and the musicians stopping by at the eateries as very professional. We spent 3 days there, using it to visit Tulum, Coba and Xercet. Stay in a little hotel like Azul and save taxi fares. Playa de Carmen has somthing for everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 12 and 13 on the ground floor are the farthest from 5th Avenue and will probably be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had booked two double rooms at hotel azul, one for my partner and myself and one for the other couple we were traveling with. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was a problem with the water supply in one of the the rooms we had booked so we couldn't stay in it. We were told by the hotel staff they would put an additional bed in the one remaining double room and we could stay together in the same room for the duration of our stay. This was of course not a good option after paying for two rooms- we had expected to stay in a double room, not a dormitory!
When we declined this offer we were then told that we could stay in two rooms in another hotel nearby owned by the same hotel chain. This seemed a good option so we left our bags and returned an hour later expecting to be shown to our rooms in the other hotel.
This was not the case, when we returned we were told no other rooms were available and were again asked to share on double between us!
At this point we were understandably more frustrated at what had happened and tried again to negotiate a solution. The staff became rude and unhelpful and did not want to offer an alternative. We were eventually offered one room in another hotel and the room in hotel azul.
No effort was made to contact us about the problem even though we booked the room 4 months in advance.
Despite travelling to mexico to visit the other couple we were unable to stay in the same hotel as them. This was a very stressful start to the holiday. The room in hotel azul was small, dirty and noisy. The hotel is hard to find as you have to walk through a crocodile boot and handbag shop to get to the entrance in order to meet the rudest, most unhelpful staff i have ever met. We were offered no compensation for the trouble. Don't stay in hotel azul.

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel azul
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Azul through an agency and paid up front 3 months before I was due arrive. When I arrived I was told that there was now only one room available for me and that they would put another bed double bed in the same room. This was far from ideal as my partner and myself were travelling with another couple. The women on reception assured me that the hotel was linked to 3 other local hotels and that it wouldn't be a problem finding 2 other rooms in one of their sister hotels at no extra cost to ourselves. We had arrived 3 hours before official check-in time so we headed of to kill some time in the shops and waited to return to find out which hotel we would all be moving to.

When we return we were told (by the same women) that we would not be receiving two alternative rooms in a sister hotel but instead we could all either sleep in the same room or one couple would be put up in a hotel of their choice. The hotel they had in mind was next door to a night club and had vacancies for obvious reasons.

Despite not receiving what we had paid for we received no apology and were told that it was our problem so we could either take what they were offering or leave. The staff were rude, unhelpful and deliberately lied to us when we first arrived.

My partner and myself did end up taking the last room in the Hotel Azul and all the bother was hardly worth it. The room was small and dingy and had little natural light. This is to be expected sometime when booking budget hotels but they had no excuse for not providing a clean room. The bathroom floor was filthy and the bedsheets were also stained. My friends who stayed int he other hotel were kept up until 3am each night by the nightclub.

Hotel Azul is of course one of the cheaper options in Playa del Carmen but how this place survives when there are so many other hotels locally which can only be providing a better level of surface I don't know.

Unless you are prepared to sleep in a dirty room and like rude staff avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel has a great location and the room/common area was clean. It was also quiet at night, which is a huge bonus since it's on the main street. The WiFi was slow, but it worked.

The negatives:

1. There seemed to be a towel shortage every day. There weren't any towels in the room when we arrived, and one day the cleaning service took our hanging towels and did not replace them.

2. There were about 20 mosquitos in our room when we arrived. (Luckily more did not appear after we killed them!)

3. Our "king" size bed was actually two double beds pushed together.

4. There is a lot of confusion with the beach club access. We were told we could use the sister property's beach club (another hotel by Encanto that was on the beach) as well as Wicky's beach club (100 pesos per chair). We didn't have issues with Wicky's, but the security guards at the Encanto beach club kept asking us to leave and did not understand that our hotel was part of the same group. The manager of the Encanto hotel with the beach club understood and let us stay, but it was a hassle to re-explain this to the security guard each day.

Overall, you get what you pay for with this hotel and as long as you go in with low expectations, you will have a great time (as we did)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul

Address: 5ta avenida entre calles 10 y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.