We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but not terrible either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Azul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5ta avenida entre calles 10 y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not great but not terrible either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Location, cleanliness, free wifi, complimentary drinking water in room, friendly receptionist, cable TV.

Cons: Small rooms, poor TV reception, lack of privacy, noisy, wifi only works outside room (near reception), rickety bed.

I would probably not stay here again but was not traumatised by the experience either. A good choice if you want to be very central & will not be spending much time in your tiny room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    16
    9
    17
See reviews for
6
21
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel Azul is tucked away on 5th Avenue in Playa de Carmen and steps from about 50 restaurants. Location, Location Location. OK, this is not a luxury hotel. It hs a good AC, two beds (king and single) good hot shower and bath and a desk/chair for your laptop. Internet is free. Maria was one of the front desk people who was sooooo nice. The pool was clean and the surrounding area, ioncluding the sundeck on the second floor overlooking the pool was full of palm trees and flowering plants. It is a beautiful setting. At $40 USD a night it is a bargain considering the prices in Playa. The hotel Azul is a very clean place to stay and where you want to be if you visit Playa. Unlike the two reviews obviously written by the same travelers, we found our room ready early, towels every day and water on the table daily. We always received a smile and a greeting when we came in or left. They also gave us some free drink coupons to the local places, Other than some noisy drunks one night, the hotel was quied. Get a room on the back side away from the street like we did because the party goes on in Playa until around 3:00AM.

If you are like me and have only used Playa de Carmen as a waypoint to get to Cozumel, you are missing one of the prettiest beaches and most action packed resort areas on the Yucatan. The restaurants are great and the musicians stopping by at the eateries as very professional. We spent 3 days there, using it to visit Tulum, Coba and Xercet. Stay in a little hotel like Azul and save taxi fares. Playa de Carmen has somthing for everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11 12 and 13 on the ground floor are the farthest from 5th Avenue and will probably be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had booked two double rooms at hotel azul, one for my partner and myself and one for the other couple we were traveling with. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was a problem with the water supply in one of the the rooms we had booked so we couldn't stay in it. We were told by the hotel staff they would put an additional bed in the one remaining double room and we could stay together in the same room for the duration of our stay. This was of course not a good option after paying for two rooms- we had expected to stay in a double room, not a dormitory!
When we declined this offer we were then told that we could stay in two rooms in another hotel nearby owned by the same hotel chain. This seemed a good option so we left our bags and returned an hour later expecting to be shown to our rooms in the other hotel.
This was not the case, when we returned we were told no other rooms were available and were again asked to share on double between us!
At this point we were understandably more frustrated at what had happened and tried again to negotiate a solution. The staff became rude and unhelpful and did not want to offer an alternative. We were eventually offered one room in another hotel and the room in hotel azul.
No effort was made to contact us about the problem even though we booked the room 4 months in advance.
Despite travelling to mexico to visit the other couple we were unable to stay in the same hotel as them. This was a very stressful start to the holiday. The room in hotel azul was small, dirty and noisy. The hotel is hard to find as you have to walk through a crocodile boot and handbag shop to get to the entrance in order to meet the rudest, most unhelpful staff i have ever met. We were offered no compensation for the trouble. Don't stay in hotel azul.

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel azul
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Azul through an agency and paid up front 3 months before I was due arrive. When I arrived I was told that there was now only one room available for me and that they would put another bed double bed in the same room. This was far from ideal as my partner and myself were travelling with another couple. The women on reception assured me that the hotel was linked to 3 other local hotels and that it wouldn't be a problem finding 2 other rooms in one of their sister hotels at no extra cost to ourselves. We had arrived 3 hours before official check-in time so we headed of to kill some time in the shops and waited to return to find out which hotel we would all be moving to.

When we return we were told (by the same women) that we would not be receiving two alternative rooms in a sister hotel but instead we could all either sleep in the same room or one couple would be put up in a hotel of their choice. The hotel they had in mind was next door to a night club and had vacancies for obvious reasons.

Despite not receiving what we had paid for we received no apology and were told that it was our problem so we could either take what they were offering or leave. The staff were rude, unhelpful and deliberately lied to us when we first arrived.

My partner and myself did end up taking the last room in the Hotel Azul and all the bother was hardly worth it. The room was small and dingy and had little natural light. This is to be expected sometime when booking budget hotels but they had no excuse for not providing a clean room. The bathroom floor was filthy and the bedsheets were also stained. My friends who stayed int he other hotel were kept up until 3am each night by the nightclub.

Hotel Azul is of course one of the cheaper options in Playa del Carmen but how this place survives when there are so many other hotels locally which can only be providing a better level of surface I don't know.

Unless you are prepared to sleep in a dirty room and like rude staff avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel has a great location and the room/common area was clean. It was also quiet at night, which is a huge bonus since it's on the main street. The WiFi was slow, but it worked.

The negatives:

1. There seemed to be a towel shortage every day. There weren't any towels in the room when we arrived, and one day the cleaning service took our hanging towels and did not replace them.

2. There were about 20 mosquitos in our room when we arrived. (Luckily more did not appear after we killed them!)

3. Our "king" size bed was actually two double beds pushed together.

4. There is a lot of confusion with the beach club access. We were told we could use the sister property's beach club (another hotel by Encanto that was on the beach) as well as Wicky's beach club (100 pesos per chair). We didn't have issues with Wicky's, but the security guards at the Encanto beach club kept asking us to leave and did not understand that our hotel was part of the same group. The manager of the Encanto hotel with the beach club understood and let us stay, but it was a hassle to re-explain this to the security guard each day.

Overall, you get what you pay for with this hotel and as long as you go in with low expectations, you will have a great time (as we did)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location and is very clean. There were people cleaning the hotel all day long, mopping, raking, etc and it showed. The hotel is old and it is not fancy at all but for the price, you could do much worse in Playa del Carmen. All of the rooms on are the first floor which was great for my parents. We had a fridge for snacks and beverages, a decent bed and a fairly large room. There are 2 coffee places within a block and a number of good restaurants. 100% Natural is across the street and has great food if odd service. Babe's is around the corner for excellent Thai food. There is a strange situation with the towels. They really need to be replaced and there seemed to be a shortage. If I return to this hotel I guess I would bring my own towels, not ideal. The ladies who work here are extremely nice. They were professional, friendly and always tried to help us with anything we needed. If you don't need anything fancy, this could be your place.

Room Tip: Room 8 has two beds. One of them was nice and soft which is tough to find in Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Few frills but the staff were nice, the price was right and the location is very central. The towel situation was a bit disappointing, they were a bit shabby and we had none in the room when we first checked in (did eventually get them) and one day one of them wasn't replaced by the cleaning staff. It was hanging in the bathroom, maybe they just missed it. Good basic accommodation with pool and wifi and friendly staff. Not an upscale place and their prices reflect that, but a decent value. You can easily pay more for a worse room in Playa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul

Address: 5ta avenida entre calles 10 y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.