We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Playa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 138 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed four nights at Hotel Colorado and were very sad to leave as it was an absolutely fantastic place to stay, particularly because Sammy, the guy who runs it is helpful almost to a fault. When we extended our stay by one night, the room we were in was unavailable so we got upgraded at no extra cost to a free one. After we left, we kept in touch with Sammy who helped us with miscellaneous tips and advice about where to find things. In addition to the excellent and really friendly service, the location is good, the rooms clean and the gated community safe and colourful. I cant recommend it highly enough, particularly at the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I don't like Playa del Carmen. Never did, never will. I'm more of a stay in a palapa or tent in Tulum type of person. But, since I was forced to be there to catch the early ferry, I felt really lucky to get the last room here. The gated property is colorful, appealing to men, women and families, and the staff are very helpful. The property gets full quickly even in the low season, so I was sad when I had to leave for nearby lodging with pitiful little to offer but a bed. Anyway, each room has a cute name and I loved the bright paint and winding staircase. The resident cat is quite charming, too. The room is what really stood out, though; there was a fridge, a fan, A/C, a working kitchen with pots, pans, and utensils, a dining table and chairs, a huge bed and a twin bed, a tv and remote, a really large bathroom with great water pressure and hot water. There was even a balcony. I spent 2 nights in Suite Pauline. I will probably be forced to return to Playa, but I won't hesitate to book here again! Also, it's walking distance everything, but you won't suffer the thud of booming music from 5th Ave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Although we only stayed 2 nights we really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent only 4 blocks to the beach and surrounded by great places to eat. Breakfast is not included but there are lots of cheap but tasty places to go to near by. Our room was great, it had proper air conditioning which was much needed in the heat! (the air con is quite loud when sleeping so would recommend ear plugs, we had some & had no problems). Bathroom was clean and the shower was good. There was a lovely roof patio where you could sit on and look out over the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel Colorado is truly a gem in Playa del Carmen. It is a beautiful hotel, very colourful, affordable, simple and clean. It is also very conveniently located, just a short walk to the beach, but far enough removed that you don't get the hustle and bustle of the main tourist strip. The hotel is also a short walk to the bus station. There are a few good options for restaurants very closeby as well as a couple of laundromats and grocery stores. The hotel managers were very helpful and kind, one of the women even recommended an awesome free concert that ended up being one of the highlights of my trip. Some of their rooms even have kitchenettes and I think all have mini fridges. I would without a moment of hesitation, recommend this hotel and hope to head back there soon myself!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for eight nights and loved it. The location was unbeatable - close to the beach, restaurants and amenities - and the room was clean and spacious. There are lots of more expensive and noisy hotels in Playa so we appreciated the quiet and the value for money. The owners are lovely and helpful whenever you have any questions.

Room Tip: The front rooms can get a little noisy in the morning if you like sleeping in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I thought the hosts were very helpful and nice, the upstairs balcony had delightful breezes but ugly views and cheap plastic furniture. The room I had was 2 single beds, a table & 2 chairs, a small frig & mounted TV. No nightstand between the beds even and no reading lamp. The overhead lights only operated by a switch at the door, so would have to get out of bed after reading to turn off the light. Didn't need the A/C, the overhead fan was adequate plus the breeze thru the window, however the curtains billowed in the breeze so did not give much privacy from others walking by the room. The bathroom shower had absolutely no place to put a bar of soap or a shampoo bottle. It would just take some simple fixes to make this place more comfy.
As it was, it had a nice book exchange in the lobby, good neighborhood markets and local food places and it was only a 3 block walk to the bus station and the 5th Avenue craziness.
It's a good place for the price, but could be improved just a bit.

Room Tip: The upper floor is reached by a spiral staircase of about 80 steps, bt gets good sea breezes. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We absolutely love the people that run this sweet place.This was our third time staying at Hotel Colorado in Playa del Carmen and everything was exactly as expected. We know we will return. The staff are a wealth of information for visiting local attractions and are willing to assist with your questions. The location is great, away from the noise of 5th Av yet still close enough to walk to the beach a couple of times a day. The patio is fantastic, with a wonderful breeze and a great place to meet other travelers. The courtyard is beautiful and provides a quiet shady place to escape the sun. This great neighborhood provides groceries, plenty of local restaurants with great food all within walking distance. We would rather mingle with the locals than stoll the Av so these simple and clean accomodations work great for our travel style. All rooms have refridgerators, fans and private bano.

Room Tip: If you have special needs room choices are limited. Some rooms have airconditioning and kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colorado Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.