We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value For A Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamitas Village

Mamitas Village
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mamitas Village to your Saves list
Mamitas Village
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle 32, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For A Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked unit 301 A penthouse for the month of June. It is very nicely appointed with 2 bedrooms and 2.5 baths and over 2000 square feet of living space. It has everything you would ever need plus a roof top that has a hot tub and lovely outdoor furniture. Each bedroom has its own balcony so you have lots of room. Even though it has rained most days you have very comfortable living with everything at your finger tips. The owner has spared no expense. There is no elevator but the exercise is good for you. At night there is a security guard and you feel very safe here. You are minutes to the beach and 5th avenue where there are hundreds of restaurants to choose from. We have rented condos for the past several years and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We recenlty stayed in 301A penthouse. It was a very well appointed and large condo with 2 beds and 2-1/2 baths. Nice kitchen. Comfortable beds. Nice bathrooms. Good a/c. Supplied purified water. Two great outdoor spaces. You have to fill the "hot" tub every time you use it and heater doesn't work well, but it was hot and didn't really need it. There is no elevator, so there are stairs, but it really wasn't too bad. It is only a block from Mamitas Beach, easily one of the best beaches in Playa. Only a few blocks to Avenida Quinta. So you are near everything to make your vacation great. There is a small pool without much sun, but a nice place to sit and relax if you want to get out of the sun and away from the beach. It is a secured building, which is nice also. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The penthouses are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here on a last minute scuba trip to PDC. The location cannot be beat. Safe(security at night), quiet (at least when we were there June 2013) and only a short walk to Mamitas beach and only 2 blocks to 5th ave. Unit came with free underground parking, AC's in both bedrooms and living room, a big modern kitchen with granite countertops and a large patio. Right around the corner is Beyond Diving which was the dive shop we booked our dives through(highly recommend) which made things even more convenient.

While we very much enjoyed our stay here, there are a couple things that potentially could be issues for some:
1. Patios are not really private. Only thing that separates you from your neighbors is a 4ft high wall. While this was a non factor during our stay(both neighboring units were unoccupied) I can see how this could be a concern during the busy season for some.

2. The "pool" in the courtyard is not really a pool but a very small wading area. We never saw anyone in it.

3. No ocean views from our unit. Instead our patio looked out into some treas and over a dirt backroad.

Overall the condo was modern, very nice, close to everything and a good value during low season. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this complex in the past and it was very good. We stayed here again because of our previous good experience with it. The location is great and the unit was very nice. Very modern with nice features. The building has security at night which is a good benefit. Very close to the beach.

There has been a big change since our last stay, though. There is now a tiki hut type of bar right next door to the complex which plays very loud music all night long...way past 1:00am. Another storefront bar under the condo complex next door also plays the thumpity-thump music all night long. Too bad. Last time we fell a sleep to the sound of the ocean waves....forget about that now. We had to close up the windows and run the AC on cool nights just to drown out the noise. If you want some place quiet...don't stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here with my sister and her family (4 adults and 3 toddlers). It was gorgeous. The condo was well appointed with all of the modern facilities we could ask for. The building was beautiful with security at night. The pool could be a little less shady but overall an awesome stay. We were out till very late and we felt very safe, security and police are always in sight. The location was amazing! The beach (mamitas) was about a block away. A stuning beach to rival any other that I have seen around the world!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The beach here is perfect. This is one of those places where you go to rent a chair, umbrella or a bed. The wait staff is very friendly and fast and the prices were not too outlandish. The music sucked one day and was fine the other. The people watching is out of this world.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked this condo through Bric Vacation Rentals and must say Bric had outstanding service in completing our reservation. In full disclosure I have to say we were scammed on Home Away out of $4500 when we thought we had booked a condo at The Elements and had booked through the "owner". So with 5 days left and 2 tickets to Playa del Carmen with no place to stay during the Christmas holidays, we had to find something fast. We were thankful to find this place (through Bric) but we had to lower our expectations because of what we thought we were getting at The Elements (Penthouse suite with ocean view, private hot tub on deck, resort pool etc).

We stayed in unit #203, a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath condo. This unit DOES NOT have any sort of partial ocean view (despite the claims). The downside of this condo is while it is private and has a view of trees the large outdoor deck overlooks dirt and the landscaping doesn't appear complete. The plus is that when you do sit on the deck (which we did every morning and evening) you hear many different birds chirping and singing and at night can actually hear the ocean.

The condo is in a building with an inner "courtyard" with a small wading pool - not anything you'd actually swim in or sit around. While the building is clean there really isn't any pizazz to it. The actual unit is fairly new, spacious and nicely decorated. (granite counters, slate tile on a couple of walls, and travertine tile on floor) We really enjoy having space to relax and being able to buy groceries for breakfast.

The condo is in a great location with Mamitas Beach only a block away and 5th just 2 blocks away. In late afternoon you can hear music from Mamitas Beach but it didn't bother us as we just opened up the patio doors and turned on our own music. Security is provided at night.

The condo has all the amenities one would need although the one thing it lacks on the deck besides the small wooden table is definitely some type of big lounger to relax in. Bric provides a on-call personal concierge and maid service as much as you want. Our concierge Isaac was absolutely wonderful and we used his expertise many times in booking restaurants and golf. My husband is a golf fanatic and played at Myacoba, Grand Coral and Iberostar and thought Iberostar was one of the best golf courses he's ever played. Maid Rosie was one of the best I've ever encountered as she spoiled us with swan designs on the bed and even lined up my shoes!

We worked out at Evolve - a gym just off of 5th. The equipment is terrific and we found it better than the gym we use at home (LA Fitness). Try Fishy Fish for lunch - just across the street from the condo - inexpensive and great fish tacos. Also we found Kool Beach Club (right beside Mamitas Beach Club) has better lounge chairs, better service and better food. You pay more for the chairs but it's worth it. Also, PLEASE don't have your picture taken with any of the baby Tiger Cubs on 5th. These people are exploiting these poor animals in a cruel way and by taking your picture with one you are contributing to their trade. It's absolutely horrible they get away with this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#14 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa de...
#9 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#163 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#29 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#27 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamitas Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamitas Village

Address: Calle 32, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mamitas Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mamitas Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamitas Village Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Mamitas Village Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamitas Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.