We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moongate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moongate Hotel to your Saves list
Moongate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
La Marque, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just got back from PDC yesterday. Stayed at Moongate for 4 nights. It was clean and roomy. If you are looking for luxury, find another hotel. But if you are looking for safe, clean and cheap, this place is great. I read the reviews about noise, but it was extremely quiet for our stay. About 9 a.m. there was construction next door, but that didn't matter. I suggest you bring your own wash cloth, we never got any. The beds are typical hard as a rock mexico beds, but everything was clean, and the shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water. Over all we enjoyed our stay, it is in a good location and the front desk is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Great price (had to check in across the street at Tukan). Location is great. The noise was too much! We had room 11 at the back. Our windows were open - At 12:50am, the music from the lounge restaurant on 5th had not let up and there was STILL noise from construction outside! Once we wised up, closed the windows and turned on the A/C to drown out the noise, it was ok. Bed was hard and the springs easily felt. Shower had good pressure and hot water. Did not try the Tukan beach club (the front desk didn't tell us where it was, but we thought it was right at the end of the road, so we didn't ask). If you're there to party, this place will work for you. If you're there to relax or be with the family, find another place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Room is rather clean. It is furnished in mexican style. There is a tv, table, bed, 2 chairs. Also 2 chairs in balcony. Room is cleaned every day.
Socket electric - non european.
Guests of Moongate can use swimming pool and beach club of Tukan hotel, as they have one owner.
About localization - it is nightmare for everyone who is looking for quiet vacation. Hotel is located on main touristic street in Playa DC. Milions of toursits are walking just under your balcony.. the music plays to late night hours, and drunk americans and spanich are screaming even at 6. am. I must mention that we are not old couple, we are 27 years old, but it would be nice to take a sleep just once on your vacation,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonTK, Manager at Moongate Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
We really apprecitte you comments, these comments will help us to improve our facilities and service.

We really hope that you are coming back and give us the opportunity

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

this review would have been pretty good if not for the last day of our stay. My hubby and I were celebrating our 10 yr anniversary and the last night our stay the AC went out. August in Mexico!! PHEW! They sent someone to fix it and they couldn't so we packed everything assuming we would change rooms. THEY TRIED TO CHARGE US TO CHANGE ROOMS!!! we were appalled. Great location and great price but they lost our business forever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and on the second night I went out and my girlfriend stayed in to get some sleep and was awoke by someone knocking on the door and she thought it was me but it was someone looking for a guy from canada and then left the, next night we both went out and when we returned our labtop was stolen. but everything else was there all of our cash was in the safe and untouched but be careful there Playa is getting out of control with crime

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We booked on january 2009 for our May 2009 stay...got a great deal 44 usd per night, breakfast buffet included for the three of us. Arrived at noon, check in at Tukan front desk (accross the street from moongate) was fast, paid in advance, gave us remote control, 3 towel cards, and room key. They gave us the best room #6, terrace overlooking 5th ave. this room is the one that is pictured on thir webpage. AC, 2 full beds, plasma TV, table and chairs, terrace had a hammoc table and two chairs. The room did not have a telephone or mini fridge. Nicely decorated, firm mattress, a small closet, clean nice bathroom, hot water all day and night. Room and fresh towels cleaned daily. Moongate is part of Tukan hotel and we had free use of their beach club (next to tukan). Thank god for that...since Kool and mamitas only had 20 loungers out while we were there, everybody was packed on the beach in front of the beach clubs with NO shade. We had no problem finding a spot at Tukan beach club especially mid week. No food at the beach club, and drinks are only for people who get the all inclusive, but you can buy next door at Kool. You can even bring a couple of water bottles or soft drink with you from the store. No biggie...we did it a couple of times, the bartenders didn't bother us about that, as a matter of fact on saturday a group onext to us brought a vodka bottle and juice to make their own cocktails. I will definately stay there next year, this little hotel is right smack in the middle of la 5ta, basic rooms with the basic accomodations, waht more do you need. I only heard "noise" from about 6pm to 9pm, when the jazz band played at the restaurant in front, but it was when I was relaxing on the hammoc anyway, so it was perfect. there is construction next door, and they start about 8am....but nothing earplugs can't fix. After reading a couple of reviews I went prepared with my earplugs..only used them 2 nights. The swimming pool is in front at el Tukan, we only used it 2 times...it's small, but clean. The hot tub was being remodelled while we were there. We had breakfast at LA ceiba (buffet restaurant) everyday, basic breakfast buffet that included, Toast, pastries, orange juice, milk, coffee, eggs, chilaquiles, beans, hot cakes, french toast, and a on-site chef preparing omelets and eggs, It was good but not spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Simple and Easy. The Moongate is part of the El Tukan properties. The Moongate itself is a building with arched doors/windows, however, we were told that the rooms were not available in that specific building. Instead, they gave us a room on the corner of 10th Ave and 14th Street, a 1st floor Villa style room. Accomodations were simple. I paid $54 per night and stayed 3 Nights. The location was a perfect springboard to all the prime locations. 5th Ave is a couple hundred feet away, as the avenues go by 5's when they are really just the next block down. Had full water pressure and hot water the whole stay, room service provided clean towels and made the beds, cleaned the garbage. Security was always around and the area is extremely safe at anytime.

It is a 5 minute walk from the beach.

We did not eat at the El Tukan property, as we ate out every night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Tukan
El Tukan
#160 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#136 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#63 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#14 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa de...
#5 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#108 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moongate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moongate Hotel

Address: Av. Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moongate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Moongate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moongate Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moongate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.