We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corto Maltes 204--FABULOUS!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos to your Saves list
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle 10 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto Corto Maltes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Granger, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Corto Maltes 204--FABULOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. This was the second time we've stayed in this complex and we love it. The condos in the complex are larger than most others in the area. They are managed by the same people as El Faro next door (Encanto) and you have access to all the amenities at that property when you stay at Corto Maltes. We have also rented CM 201 & 302 in this complex. We have been to PDC 11 times and love it here and have stayed in several different properties. This is one of the best.

The location is what sells this place. It is right in the middle of where you want to be in town, but at the same time right on the beach. We will stay here over and over. It's one block to 5th Ave. where they have everything you could want restaurant and shopping-wise, security around the clock, pool next door at El Faro, and a beautiful view to remind you that you are in paradise :-) #204 in particular is fabulous because it is oceanfront and has a HUGE balcony. It's true that the nightclub/restaurant Zenzi is right beneath it and you do hear the music at night. I considered that a plus! Free live entertainment right from my balcony every night--bonus! It wasn't so loud and wild down there that we were kept up at night, but a light sleeper or person who turns in early might be annoyed by it. We were not.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. The beach out front is pristine. Some other condos close by--not so much. El Taj has about a million boats parked right out in front of it in the water, which makes the beach smell fishy 24/7. Luna Encantada has a rocky/mossy area in the water right in front of it. You would not walk or swim out in that area. If I had stayed at either of those places or the smaller hotels & condos that are along side them I would have been very disappointed not knowing this.

The furniture and fixtures in the condos are very nice--leather couches, granite countertops, modern furnishings. We really loved it. We have stayed in CM 102 before as well and it was very nice, just not quite as ocean front as this one. On this trip we also rented #302 because we had a large group traveling together and it was very nice as well. All the units have an ocean view and balcony, so you really can't lose wherever you stay. The oceanfront units, which are a little more expense, just have a much larger balcony than the others. They are all equipped with everything you would need, even if you lose your mind and actually want to cook while on vacation, right down to tupperware. They supply good drinking water in the units too.

Room Tip: Units ending in 4 & 5 (like 204) are oceanfront and have huge balconies with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Although this condo development is in the heart of the action and on the beach, unless you're 23 and with three of your college buddies out until 4:00 and sleeping by the pool all day...don't stay here. The condos are nice and the staff is great...But...forget getting any sleep, even with ear plugs! At night, I don't mean 11:00 or midnight or even 2:00; I mean late, the band/music downstairs at Zenzi is pounding so hard the walls vibrate. In the morning, 7:30, the local dive shop starts unloading the air tanks right next to the condos assuming, I guess, that everyone who didn't get to sleep until 3:30am, was up. In addition to that, the condo was designed with some kind of mechanical noise that engages every 3 minutes or so....all night and all day. I had ear plugs in and could still hear it. El Faro, across the street, is nicer, about the same price and, if you get an interior room (one that faces the pool) a lot quieter.

Room Tip: Stay at El Faro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medlaws, Owner at Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Corto Maltes is located directly on the beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs and their noise level is strictly monitored by sound meter hourly. Unfortunately most of the noise comes from nightclubs up and down the beach which we have no control over. This affects every hotel and condominium complex in the area. The city chooses to allow these clubs to operate in violation of city noise regulations because they are a major attraction to many people who spend a lot of money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been travelling to Playa for about the last 20 years and have obviously watched this beautiful town grow into the amazing place that it is today. We have spent many days at Wicky's Beach Club enjoying the scenery, and of course, the Wicked Burgers. Two weeks ago, we stayed at Corto Maltes just to try it out. I think we lucked out and had the most beautiful condo (203), which had amazing views, but still quiet. We had the use of the El Faro pool, beach towels, loungers by the pool and beach. And, for the first time, I could have a Wicked Burger and Sol beer delivered to me at the El Faro pool! It was lovely and I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants an upscale experience, without feeling tied to an all-inclusive hotel. You can walk north or south on Fifth Avenue and be anywhere you want to in a minute. Loved this place!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have an amazing view, but if you want a great view and some sleep at night, res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The condo beside this is called El Faro and the construction on it was finished long ago. We start at El Faro In Nov 2011 then and the noise that was made was the music playing until late in the evening which came from Corto Maltes Condo. Funny how things change with time. Both are in a wonderful location and are really nice. The service from the Encanto staff (who also are the property managers for some of the El Faro units) were wonderful to us and we were not even guests in one of their units.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you want to stay in luxury condo in a fun, beach resort area, near all the action, right on the beach, I would recommend a condominium at the Corto Maltes Condo Hotel.

First time in a condo. Booked with Trip Central (thanks for the last minute booking !) / Air Transat in late May 2012. Flight was great, nice meal, movie and were soon landing in Cancun. Easy transfer from airport to Corto Maltes / El Faro Condo.

We stayed in Suite 205 in the Corto Maltes Condo. Very spacious beautiful, fully furnished Condo overlooking the beach and the ocean. This was a home away from home with tv, satellite wi fi, (didn't watch tv really, but nice to have) marble floors, floor to ceiling glass doors and windows in the living room dining area, cozy living room, open kitchen, massive balcony facing east and south towards the ocean, and 3 smaller balconies on the south side. All overlooking palm trees, the sandy beach and turquoise waters. At night, the lights of Cozumel can be seen in the distance.

Stayed in Suite 205, which has two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms, suitable for 2 couples or more, which makes it very affordable. Standing on the huge balcony I couldn't help but feel special. I could have spent the whole weekend at the Condo, on the beach, or swimming at the shared pool at El Faro, but there was so much more to see.

I snorkelled in Akumal with sea turtles, a Barracuda (they are friendly) and saw many colourful fish and coral reefs. Climbed the Mayan ruins at Cobo, and spent a full day at Xcaret (don't miss the amazing show at 7 pm! If you can't get good seats in the lower level, I found the seats at the north or south end had a great view of the action.

After my delicious meals at Wicky's restaurant (next door at El Faro) I would usually walk the beach or 5th Avenue, the north / south pedestrian street, to people watch, listen to live entertainment or just work off my meal. Wicky's had a full selection of excellent meals, my favourites being the white fish, salmon, steak tartar appetizer, and of course the desserts. Compliments to the Chef !

All service at the restaurant / beach / front desk was excellent. I was having trouble with my hand held and was given access to a laptop to book and print out some information.

The nights come alive in Playa along 5th Avenue and side streets, with live music, cafés, and party dance clubs. Being older, I enjoyed just sitting and watching everyone have a good time, while listening to various types of music from many, many clubs . There are so many tourists around at all hours, along with a police presence, that safety was never a concern. I walked during the day along some of the popular streets away from the touristy areas, to see the real Mexican flavour of the people and stores. I found most locals to be relaxed, friendly and helpful, l wished I could be relaxed like them. Most can speak some English and appreciate when you try to speak some Spanish.

Overall a great experience in Playa Del Carmen. Being right in the heart of the town by the beach was an exciting experience I'll never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in 104. First, let me say that the location is spectacular, right on the beach and a block off 5th. The condo is huge and nicely appointed. we liked the on-site amenities including the bar downstairs.

That said, be warned, this is an EXTREMELY NOISY place, routinely to 3 and as late as 5 am. Earplugs worked for me, but the bass was pumping through the earplugs. If you are a light sleeper DO NOT STAY HERE, at least on the beachfront units.

Also note that the unit does NOT have wi-fi. The desk gives out a list of routers to pirate, and you can get one in the master bath (So you can sit in the john and email). The quick fix is to head to the bar and get their wi-fi code (I brought a device and logged in while having a beer). The proximity to the bar pays off because their wi-fi works pretty well throughout the condo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have vacationed in Playa the last 7 years and this was our first stay at Corto. We usually prefer a penthouse condo but they were booked. When we checked in we were told we had to take 104 even though we had a confirmation # for 204. After about 15 minutes of arguing with the two rude men we were then told that there was a computer mistake and we could choose between 104&204. On 1 website we thought that there was rooftop patio access if we stayed in 204. We asked the guys at the desk and they said that wasn't true and that the rooftops were closed anyway. Why on earth would the rooftops be closed in February? We chose to stay in 204.

Once we got through the hassle with the front desk we settled in our condo. The view from 204 is amazing. We also loved the location. It had everything we needed inside and out. Even though we did miss our rooftop at Luna encantada.

There were some negatives about this condo. For example the maid would take our towels and sometimes not bring clean ones back until after 5:00pm. One time I went down to the laundry and helped myself to clean towels. We thought we had a washer and a dryer but found out it was only a washer. The worst part was that the bar below us played very loud music until around 3:00am. And a bar down the beach played until 5:00am. It was very hard to sleep through that.

We still had a wonderful trip and I can't say enough that the view and location were amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos

Address: Calle 10 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto Corto Maltes)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto Maltes is a luxury, privately owned condominium complex directly on the beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Each unit is individually decorated by the owner and no two are alike. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs. The Homeowners Association provides a business center with a computer, printer, internet and Vonage phone service. Typical services and amenities are provided by companies that manage the individual units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.