We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf 306 Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residences El Faro

Save Saved
You added Residences El Faro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residences El Faro
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10th Street, between 1st Avenue and the beach | on the beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto El Faro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surf 306 Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great time on beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and booze cruise. Great looking 1 bedroom, 2 bath condo. However, looks can be deceiving. No washer/dryer. No laundromats nearby. There is a small closet. Wife used closet space, and I lived out of suitcase. You can pay extra for cleaning service. The shower in the bedroom is huge, but no soap holder and no towel rack. The eletrical outlets are sparse and inconveniently located throughout condo. A/C in the bedroom did not cool well. Wife very unhappy. Also, Wifi never worked, toaster and water dispenser/cooler were broken. The Condo location is perfect, on the beach and near 5th Ave., and all the shops and restaurants. Vacation was wonderful, and almost perfect.

Room Tip: Take video of rooms and make sure everything works at check-in. Club noise could not be heard at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    81
    21
    10
    19
See reviews for
113
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Once there, you tend to imagine that you might be dead, as you can't believe what you actually seeing: an incredibly white sandy beach and crystal clear waters. The property is beautiful and fresh and everyone working there is extremely hospitable.
The 2-bedroom apartments are really spacious, with a kitchen and a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the beautiful sea.
The location couldn't be any better. Located right in the pedestrian zone of Playa del Carmen, the resort is a short walking distance from all the bars, clubs and restaurants. Therefore, is the perfect place to stay with friends especially when partying and relaxing/tanning are your main plans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

There are only 2 things that could make this place any better. 1. If it were "adults only", and I say this only because, once again, some parents have no control over their children. There is nothing more irritating than trying to relax at the pool and having a child scream at the top of their lungs the entire time. And 2., if there were a couple more TV channels in English. We would even pay extra for some sort of package. Other than that, every thing about the place was fabulous. The staff was excellent, location was great, the condo itself was large and comfortable, and the Bar and Restaurant next door was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: the only rooms that I wouldn't want were the ones that faced the street. I definitely wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We used to stay in the old El Faro Hotel before it was replaced by the condos. It was our favorite place and we were sad to see it go. After staying elsewhere over the years, we decided to try our old favorite in the new condo format. I was a little wary given the disaster stories of the Encanto days, but I want to tell you this is a whole new world. Everything about our stay was smooth and easy, and we loved everything about the new El Faro. Caribbean Beach Properties' service is amazing as is the on-site service from everyone involved. We stayed in a one-bedroom in the Surf Building (#308 to be precise). Terrific! Wifi in the room. Two great full bathrooms with rainwater showers (plus a tub in the master bath). That beats any hotel. Bath towels and beach towels plush and galore. Fantastic view of the pool, beach, and sea. Gorgeous property. Chairs and umbrella provided. Nice restaurant (Wicky's) for lunch and beach service. One block from Starbucks for breakfast. When I messed up the code on the safe, someone was there to fix it in minutes. What's not to like? El Faro, old friend, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in April 2014,,,location, location, location. We were in a three bedroom and had plenty of room for 6 adults. Really wish there was a third bathroom but we got by with the two. Our unit was clean, maid service fantastic, beds were comfortable, large patio/balcony, view of the ocean and the pool from your unit. The only complaint, it needed more seating in the living room. Otherwise, we loved this place and the location is the most convenient to restaurants, dive shop ("Tank-Ha Dive Center" is the BEST!!!), shopping, bars, etc. Plenty of chairs to sit around the pool or the beach and the security of the resort to top notch! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent three nights at El Faro Coral 204 and loved it! El Faro is on a beautiful stretch of beach and has a very nice big pool. The condo itself is a three bedroom and has a view straight to the beach and pool. It was quiet. No noise from the near by restaurants and 5th avenue. The beds were comfortable and the condo itself was very modern and gorgeous. There are nice flat screen televisions and if you don't speak Spanish there are three English channels. The staff is very helpful. We got great restaurant recommendations from the front desk. You can find plenty of chairs by the pool and beach - palm trees or umbrellas for shade when needed (But if you need an umbrella ask for it early as they only have so many). The absolute best food is right next door at Zenzi - Breakfast, lunch or dinner - All Excellent and you eat right on the beach. You will not regret staying at El Faro. Playa is a great place for a vacation - The service is better than anything anywhere back home. The area of 5th avenue is great to walk around and pass time. There's so much to do and see from ruins to the parks (Xcaret, XPlor), the beaches, the cenotes, ferry to Cozumel for the day, the list goes on and on. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. And Mexico has the most gorgeous water. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: We really liked Coral 204. El Faro is shaped like a U....with three buildings. Coral faces the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at El Faro for the last 2 weeks of March, 2014. To start with El Faro is a very nice complex and a great location if you want to visit Playa del Carmen. We were travelling with our 2 boys, ages 11 and 13, and my brother-in-law and his wife.
We enjoyed our stay overall, but there are some things that we would like others to know before they consider renting here. Our condo, 104 Coral, had many issues with it, none of which ruined our stay, but made it less enjoyable. Here are some of the problems and issues we faced over 2 weeks: in the kids bedroom the air conditioner unit leaked water all over the floor and into the closet and soaked many of the clean clothes we stored, we placed a bucket under the a/c unit for 2 nights until it was finally fixed. In our room the air conditioner was so noisy some nights that we had to wear ear plugs to sleep (you may want ear plugs anyway as there are partiers returning at all hours of the night, and the hallway passes by two of the 3 bedrooms in this condo), the vonage phone did not work the entire time we were there, we did mention this to Angie a few times but it was never fixed, she offer us usage of her business phone across the street if we needed to make any calls, but not too convenient if you want to call a restaurant, or call home, the lights in both bathrooms were flickering on and off, sometimes would turn off for minutes at a time, it took them 2 attempts and about 4 days to remedy the issue (we would have contacted Angie earlier on this but again the phone was not working, the master bathroom toilet had issues not flushing at times but eventually was fixed (or started working on its own), in the kitchen there is a spot in the lower cupboards where a dish washer likely should have been installed, but this area is just boarded up to match the surrounding cabinets and we are quite sure the drain pipe is not capped off properly as there is a foul septic smell that we all noticed most days unless we opened the doors and aired out the condo unit, and the stainless steel fridge has many dents and dings in the door (looks like someone got a little upset and pounded out their frustrations on it).
As for the complex and surroundings themselves, they were beautiful and clean, but by early in the second week the pool was disgustingly dirty and we complained to the front desk, who informed us that ours was the fourth complaint that day, it was much cleaner the following morning. The beach is nice, but apparently they get seaweed blooms from time to time and it makes it quite unusable and the stench made it so we could not sit at the beach for about 4 or 5 days of the 14 there. The maids came every other day and did a great job of cleaning the condo and bringing fresh linens and towels.
Overall the El Faro is a nice place, but room for improvement.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from beach more sheltered from the wind and the frequent bad smell of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residences El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences El Faro

Address: 10th Street, between 1st Avenue and the beach | on the beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto El Faro)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residences El Faro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful exclusive condominium property is nestled in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, and perfectly situated right on the beach. Our 65 suites have a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area. The complex is comprised of three buildings, Reef, Coral and Surf, with one, two and three bedroom suites. These individually owned condominiums are spacious and each offers its own distinct style. Owners and guests enjoy our expansive pool, or basking in the sun on our beach front lounge chairs. Enjoy the view from your balcony; the impressive colours of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Residences El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanto El Faro Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Residences El Faro Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residences El Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.