We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Mayakoba to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Park City, Utah
1 review
“fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

everything was wonderful about this resort. Beautiful, high level of service, lovely rooms w private pools, great breakfast and lunch at pool! i would absolutely stay there again and recommend it. staff was very friendly and you can rent bikes to ride to beach. fabulous trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    126
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
228
676
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our fifth time staying at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. Excellent service, wonderful villas and pools, great food - couldn't be more relaxing or peaceful. We love the privacy of having our own pool. We will always go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This report is amazing. Everything was fantastic. Our villa was so beautiful and spacious. The service was 5-star. We had a two bedroom villa that was right on the beach. We did not want to leave when it was time to go home. Great resort for families and when you stay at a Myakoba report, you get access to all of the resorts on the property. The Fairmont next door is more like a hotel as opposed to the high-end villa style resort that is the Banyan Tree. However, the Fairmont had a huge pool with a water slide, so it was fun for us to walk over there with the kids so they could use the slide. Rosewood was nice too. We went there for dinner one night. Overall an amazing experience. Nice people. Very service oriented.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, then get a beachfront villa. It takes time to get back to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just returned from our second visit to the Banyan Tree in Mayakoba. I was a little wary about returning to the same place twice however there was no possibility for disappointment - it was a wonderful stay. Stunning location with beach, pools, boat trips on the lagoon and amazing wildlife, cycle trails, charming and helpful staff, gorgeous Villa with pool and spa tub - a perfect sanctuary.

Breakfasts are fab, restaurants for dinner at the BT ok, but very pricey. It would be useful to know that you need to book the restaurants quite far in advance, even before arrival. Surprisingly, it can be difficult to get a table. Definitely worth eating out at the other two resorts at Mayakoba. The restaurants at the Rosewood and Fairmont are excellent, particularly the Rosewood. Again, difficult to get reservations and I am wondering how the 3 resorts will cope when the other proposed resorts are completed.

We plan to return again next year but are undecided whether to stay at the Banyan Tree or to choose the Rosewood - a difficult decision! However, whichever one we choose it will be wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I love Mayakoba and frequent the Rosewood Mayakoba but thought I would give this one a shot. Amazing altogether- service impeccable - you will feel like royalty while on holiday. The villas are unbelievable , it's like your own private hideaway- romantic and you feel special staying here

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in February. The grounds and accommodations are incredible. The restaurants and food are excellent, somewhat over priced. We have stayed at six other resorts near Playa and this definitely ranks right up there.
BUT, there seems a big disconnect between all of the staff. Rarely were things followed through on that were asked. It is nearly impossible to get into the restaurants even thought there are many throughout the properties. Just not a lot of attention to taking care of the guests.
Could have been perfect, not quite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our third time at Banyan. It only gets better and better. We can't wait to return next year.The quality of service and care for detail and the beauty of the property makes Banyan a world class destination.




  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A harmonious blend of nature and luxury, Banyan Tree Mayakoba takes resort living to new heights with the first all-pool villa resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Banyan Tree Hotels and Resorts brings Asian hospitality to the beautiful development of Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, complete with Banyan Tree Mayakoba pool villas offering premium seclusion and an expansive Mayakoba spa complex with the introduction of the award-winning Banyan Tree Mayakoba Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.