We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but disappointing beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Mayakoba to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but disappointing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having read the reviews I asked and was given a very sunny 2 bedroom villa (305) which was just superb.Looking at the location map some villas my well face east and north so sun could be limited The villa swimming pool was large and heated and jacuzzi too hot but they came and turned it down.There were loungers and table and chairs. The ground floor double bedded room had a vast bathroom with dressing room. There was a shower,loo and outside huge bath and additional shower. We all enjoyed each having the outside bath with the supplied candles lit with the moonlight above. On the ground floor there is a separate sitting room with dining table and chairs ,kettle and coffee machine. The external stairs but within the walled villa led up to a large twin bedded room with dressing room bathroom with bath and separate shower and loo. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Our villa was a short walk to the main building. The beach was a 10 min walk away or a buggy ride away.
The gym was very well equipped and open 24 hours with water supplied. The family enjoyed the thai massages in the spa. The breakfasts were plentiful and full of variety with wonderful fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, eggs of all varieties, pastries etc My eldest daughter particularly liked the mexican omelette and we enjoyed sitting outside.
Of the 3 restaurants for dinner we preferred the Tamarind and were rather disappointed by the Saffron. Sands on the beach for dinner was OK and for lunch was generally good although on the last day being a saturday the service was so slow with a lack of staff.
The beach is beautiful sand but quite narrow and it strikes us as rather consistently windblown. The Yukatan peninsula is flat and with open coastline with no apparent coves.The sea although beautiful in colour has boulders and weed off the beach so not that appealing. The main building has a simply stunning pool which because of its undulating shape and with vegetation on the side means there are limited sun beds and a swim up bar where the best cocktails were made. Because of the limited sunbeds it means it is not that busy. There is a pool house with towels, water and books to borrow.
The staff are simply marvellous-full of smiles ,friendly. We had a couple of small niggles with the villa and they were sorted promptly.
We went into Playa del Carmen for dinner 3 times and had some of the best meals. Imprevist was so good we went twice! We had lunch on the beach at the Fusion bar and hotel-worth a visit.
The highlight however was our trip by taxi to Tulum about 50 mins away. Arturo our friendly taxi driver drove us to the Tulum Mayan ruins by the sea and then to the simply stunning beach at Club Paraiso 3 miles further on. This is a huge white sand beach with palm trees and wavy sea. Again open coastline but the sea was wonderful with no weed or rocks. A great day out. It is worth going to the ruins and getting a guide but go early!

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny villa-305 was perfect. The villa did have a smell but not oppressive and seemed to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear BillieWinchester,

Thank you very much for staying recently with us and taking a few moments to write a comment about your experience.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments about our hotel services. Regarding the mentioned issues of the beach: depending on weather conditions in the winter it can get a little bit windy, but as the summer is returning we are expecting a wonderful and calm beach.

I am looking forward to welcome you back soon at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    126
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
228
676
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the most amazing trip, the staff, the rooms, the grounds, everything was just perfect, could not have asked for a better stay! The food was delicious, every detail was so well thought out and it seems they are continually making improvements upon the property. Will definitely come back again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear visitor of Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the villas, the restaurants and the service.

Hopefully you are coming back soon for another romantic experience.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were there for a short getaway, it was a short plane ride from NYC and we spent 3 nights there. The resort was about 40 mins drive from the Cancun airport which we could have arranged a pick up by the hotel too if we don't want to drive.

The hotel is nicely planned and resided. The landscape of the hotel is quite entertaining. Room was clean, tasteful and very roomy and it comes with an outdoor swimming pool, outdoor deck and an outdoor bed.

I liked it consider it is a short getaway to the sun in the winter. We were trying to reserve the boat dining experience but they had no opening at all during our stay. So we were to this Thai restaurant and it was very romantic, on the deck and looked at the moonlight.

I wish the swimming pool was temperature regulated, because it was still a bit too cold to do anything in there.

The boat ride that got us to the beach side was very fun too. We just simply had a great and relax time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear luxehip,

Thank you for your gracious comment on this website and for staying with us.

I am delighted to read that you found a romantic and peaceful getaway at our resort and that we have succeeded in creating a sanctuary for the senses for you and your couple. Our hotel is a special and romantic place and we are pleased by your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another romantic weekend.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Maybe this should be more "average" with respect to the price. Anyway, nice property, feels somewhat older than it actually is.

Our reservation came with a complimentary spa treatment for one person but upon arrival there were no double slots available in the next four days so my husband had to miss out. I guess you have to make advance reservations here. No surprise though - the spa is pretty good. Therapists are expats from the Asian Banyan Trees and very professional.

Check-in took far too long - I was anxious to get some rest as I was tired out from the journey, but we were kept waiting at the lobby area for a long time.

Got to the room and it was way too cold. Would have opened the sliding doors but we were advised to keep them closed so insects wouldn't come in - so I needed the A/C for ventilation but couldn't bring up the temperature despite fiddling with the thermostat for some time. I hadn't brought any warm clothes with me - only t-shirts and shorts - as it was supposed to be a tropical vacation so I was freezing in the room. I asked at the front desk for a tracksuit (they sell clothes in the boutique so I found it fully reasonable that they should be able to lend me a set) and I was turned down without any attempt to offer any alternative solution. Finally a technician came to our villa and did some work on the A/C so that the room was warmer for the rest of our stay.

The layout of the villa was weird, as the living/dining area was housed in a separate building. It was a waste as it ended up being quite underutilized.

The bedding seemed to be rather low-quality and worn out. Again - with the price in mind - would luxurious beds and fluffy pillows on a relaxing retreat be too much to ask for?

Dining options were rather limited - and it's not exactly convenient to go out of the resort either as it's in the middle of nowhere. There were only 2 restaurants open each evening, and variety was limited. Food was good though - again, for the price it had to be.

The staff was great (except the front-desk staff who took a long time with the check in and were unable to offer any solutions to the frigid temperature). The buggy drivers were always offering rides and housekeeping was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Nitpicker011,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on and for staying recently with us.
I was very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel. Regards to the comments about the air condition and the service of our front desk: I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads.

We all know that we need to work hard to improve our standards in our strive for perfection, and to continue to be able to exceed our guest’s expectations.

We hope that despite these issues you had a pleasant stay, and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

AMAZING! The Banyon Tree was just what the Dr ordered! Our room was perfect, from the heated pool and jacuzzi outside our bedroom to the zen like feel in our bathroom. We highly suggest getting a courtyard villa ( which we had booked) the pool is heated and spacious. Wonderful fhave a " in house" bar b que dinner
Although the Banyon was booked, the resort never felt busy, the service ,superior,-the staff so sincerely had pride in their hotel and interest in us. Breakfast was fantastic, lunch and dinner just as good. If there is ONE recommendation-stronger bulbs in the bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear visitor of Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

On behalf of the team at Banyan Tree, we wish to thank you for taking the time to convey information on us to the readers.

Thank you for your comments regarding our effort in making your experience more enjoyable and smooth.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petts Wood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back from an excellent stay at the Banyan Tree. There are only great things one can say about this hotel. The staff are some of the best any where in the world, villas are excellent and the water in the villa pools is very warm, breakfast is great, spa brilliant and it is just paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear francesmcc,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Banyan Tree Mayakoba. I was very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel.

I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We're on our last night here at banyan tree and we dont want to leave!
The stay has been more than expected everyone is so nice and everything is so well organized and prepared. They really take the time to nurture you on your vacation and are attentive to every detail! I cut myself on the beach really tiny thing and anyway they called someone to take care of my foot and when we came to our villa I had a nice arrangement of roses on my nightstand and a card from management!

We stayed at a garden villa and really it's more than enough for a couple!! The pool wasn't heated but really it didn't matter to us much!! We prefer the beach and had direct access to the community pool (room 102 - cascabel) great location!!!

Our rate included daily breakfast at oriente that really breakfast is putting it lightly its more of a brunch and lunch put together! Anything you can imagine can be made! The waiters were awesome!! Rafa at oriente (our waiter) had everything under control and went out of his way to make us comfortable! Thank you so much and everyone there at oriente for making our breakfast a whole experience!

We ate ad saffron the second night! OMG! Trust them when they suggest the prefixed tasting menu it's more than enough and don't order anything else (maybe one order of sprig rolls but just that!) we're going again tonight on our last night!

Sandals it's great to grab a bite on the beach!! Only tried the guacamole shrimp ceviche, ceviche de mero and taco jaiba that I recommend! Really different flavors mixed on a taco!! Dinner here is Mexican parrillada that we're not a fan of but I you want to try something Mexican try de cochinita pibill has really nice flavor and really well cooked! (Pork)

We didn't have time to go to tamarind cause we preferred to go to playa del Carmen to eat!

Spa is awesome so worth the money!

If you're on a budget these tips maybe will help:

Each taxi to playa: $23 or 230 pesos each way

Eating in playa (2people) tops $70 and we tried: el 10 (Argentinian grill) , oh la la (international cuisine), sushi club and las delicias.

Eating in banyan tree: saffron maybe $200, sands dinner $110 sands by day aprox $80

Bar la Copa is great! And if you can try the California Roll! Amazing!


Overall this was paradise and can't wait to be back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear MatyValdes,

Thank you very much for your gracious comment about your recent stay at our resort.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our villa, our restaurants and our service. Our chefs are very glad about your compliments and your words are giving them motivation to reach for more culinary highlights.

It was an honor having you as a guest at our hotel and making you feel in Mayakoba`s paradise.

Please let me know when we may welcome you back again at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With best wishes
Maximilian Lennkh
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A harmonious blend of nature and luxury, Banyan Tree Mayakoba takes resort living to new heights with the first all-pool villa resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Banyan Tree Hotels and Resorts brings Asian hospitality to the beautiful development of Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, complete with Banyan Tree Mayakoba pool villas offering premium seclusion and an expansive Mayakoba spa complex with the introduction of the award-winning Banyan Tree Mayakoba Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.