We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy Tail to complete our anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Mayakoba to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fairy Tail to complete our anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had chosen Banyan Tree once again, this time Mayakoba to celebrate our 30st anniversary and we absolutely did not get disappointed. From the beginning of our 14 night stay to the end, we got pampered and all the servants (from reception, restaurants, call center, beach boy, buggy driver, cleaning equippe, maintenance) we only got their best. We were fortunate to stay at a Spa Pool Villa, and relaxed in all the places available. Coming from Europe we are not used having the facilities of a pool and sundeck and enjoyed the early morning or late evening hours for a swim in the private pool.

Rooms: Big nicely and warm furnished, not modern, that is correct, but rustical with a mexican/asian touch, thus giving you the feeling of cozyness and being welcomed.

Check-in/check-out procedure: very efficient and smooth.

Buggy Service: they picked us up within 5-10 min. after the call. Though there was a huge wedding going on, we never had to wait too long for a buggy ride.
Besides, most of the rooms are within walking distance to the lobby and breakfast area. Or walking back from Saffron to the room only takes you 15 min. max.

Restaurants: all the restaurants are absolutely clean, and very inviting.
The breakfast choice in the Oriente was absolutely amazing. The Tamarind and Saffron had their prices, but considering one is staying in a 5* star hotel you also expect a certain environment at night and service, and that was absolutely given. The prices of the nicely presented food in fact, are similar to the once we pay in Switzerland. The wine was quite expensive, but from what we heard from other parties that we had met on tours, is that wine offered in hotels in Mexico are in general expensive. So we shifted our alcoholic preference and visited the bar and enjoyed a glass of cocktail instead. And if you felt, you needed more light to read the menue and to sign the check, no problem just ask for a tourch or use your torch ap on your mobile.
Beach: wonderful, sugar like long beach to stroll on. Unfortunately the weather was not always perfect, and so the amazing carribean sea colours were missing and a lot of waste got washed ashore (plastic cups, bottles, shoes whatever that had been thrown over ship out there somewhere). Perhaps during bad days and high tide the cleaning frequency should be increased.
Eco-tour: offered by Banyan Tree is a must, you might be seing Alex the crocodile, and many other species fliying species.

As mentioned before, there was a huge wedding going on with approx. 250 guests, and so one night the noise level was quite high. We tried to escape, dinner at Saffron, and stayed in the room with closed windows at night and it did not bother us. But most probabely it would have been slighly different, if we had only spend a couple of days at this resort.
We are definitely looking forward to visiting Banyan Tree again. Thank you for giving us such a nice room and great time.

Room Tip: Spa Villa Rooms are 701 to 708 and definitely all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    126
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
229
676
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the Mayakoba during our recent honeymoon, and had an absolutely outstanding experience. I've been lucky enough to stay at a few high end hotels recently, and so have some basis for comparison. Even among its peers, for me the Mayakoba truly stood out.

Each guest suite (or rather, "villa") comes with its own private pool and hot tub. Rooms are spotless, well designed and beautifully appointed. Service was outstanding and ranks among some of the best I've ever experienced. What differentiates good from great service is the level of anticipation; the Mayakoba's staff made such an effort to anticipate our needs. Case in point: while dining at the hotel's in-house Thai restaurant, Saffron, one evening, I had rubbed my shoulders just ONCE before the hostess came over and asked if I felt chilly, and would like a shawl. Servers and waitstaff immediately took note of our names and took care to refer to us by them.

My only tiny quibble would be in the design of the guest suites. The "living room" area of our suite was actually an entirely separate room; you have to navigate a small garden path to get to the living room from the bedroom. While the path is only about three feet long, I would have preferred a more traditional arrangement with the bedroom, living room and bathroom all interconnected. Exiting the living room, closing the door, and walking through the garden to get back in to the bedroom was a pain at 2 in the morning in the dark. I didn't use our living area in the evenings nearly as much as I might have because of this.

Also be aware that due to the Mayakoba's environment (mangroves, canals), wildlife can be spotted around the property. Birds fly in to the breakfast area and we spotted a raccoon a few times outside our door. Mosquitoes are also rampant here so insect repellent is highly recommended.

All in all, one of the loveliest hotels I've stayed at. Would highly recommend for those seeking a luxury experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Rooms to dark, decoration superb, the handle of the toilet was broken, the shower door was not closing, the hot and cold water of the shower was not well regulated.
The service of the maintenance did not came rite away when I had problems and they fix the problem after many calls.
Sorry but I will not come back to the Bayan tree Mayacaba but may be in Asia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

I do thank you for the feedback and was happy to rear that you liked the hotel and decoration.

I am very sorry that our respond time to your problem was too long and we are working hard to improve our services. When coming back next time pleased do let me know so I can make sure you have a perfect stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

Kind Regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I spend one weak at Banyan Tree Myakoba. This place is amazing and I can honestly say this was the best vacation . Our villa was beautiful , service was superb and breakfast unbelievable . We were so impressed with this resort , we are definitely comming back next year!!!! To be honest I can not find one negative thing to say about that place,for sure it's worth comming there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Room Division manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dea Alexandra M

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba Family, I wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to write about your impressions about your recent stay with us.

It is of our entire satisfaction to read that that you had a dreamlike.

I look forward to welcoming you back to this Sanctuary of the Senses soon.

Kindest regards,

Livia Martinez
Room Division manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are amazing and the staff very helpful. However, I am writing this at 1am because it is impossible to sleep. There is a wedding going on until 2am so instead of a peaceful spa resort, it is now a huge nightclub with the sound blasting into the rooms of guests far away. Before you book, call and find out if there are any weddings booked so you can plan around it. Even from suite 514, which is not next to the main hall it is loud. The manager offered let us sleep in an ocean side suite for the night, but leaving all your stuff and going across the resort in the middle of the night is not appealing. Everything else has been great, but not being able to sleep in your room is a pretty big minus.

Room Tip: If you are getting a garden villa, get a room in the 1xx or 4xx so you can walk to the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visited last week with our 18 month daughter. Very impressive lobby area, large room and pool(we stayed in Courtyard Villa) with great interior design. I think that the price was very resonable considering this. We stayed at the Rosewood last time, and Banyan Tree is noticeably cheaper. Having said that, the service doesn't compare. We tried to book Spa appointments on the Monday and they only had 3 slots the whole week. We ended up going to the Rosewood twice instead since they had the times we wanted. The room service was slow (1h 10 mins was estimate on one occasion, so we decided not to order). Oriente (breakfast restaurant) was outstanding. Friendly staff and great food. After that though, the choices were limited, particularly for dinner. We wanted to eat dinner early since our daughter was with us. There was only one night we could book a table for 6pm (the earliest time available) and on most nights the only choice was Saffron, since Tamarind is for adults only and Sands only opened on certian nights. Most restaurants also didn't have child seats, so we had to wait for one to arrive from another restaurant and they often didn't have trays.
Having said all this, we had a great time out there. Visited Tulum, Sian Ka'an, CrocoCun (good fun, but would NEVER be allowed in UK on health and safety grounds), Cancun & Xcaret. Lots to do, and Mayakoba well positioned for getting around. It's just a shame what should be an outstanding hotel is let down by some of the services. Would I stay there again? Definitely not next time, but I love the area, so we'll be back many times and I wouldn't rule it out forever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Room Division Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mitzmoo

We were glad to have you and your family at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, and we do appreciate your valuable comments regarding our hotel rooms and our service as well.

I, personally, We have taken note of the feedback you made in regards to Restaurant discomfort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website.

Remaining at your disposal,



Livia Martinez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is the most amazing resort we’ve ever stayed at. My husband and I stayed for our honeymoon the first week of November and had a fantastic time. It is truly stunning from the moment you arrive- the pictures do not do it justice. It is so peaceful and relaxing everything is top notch. Let me start by saying the weather in the beginning of November was perfect, 86-88 and sunny all day, cool at night and a lovely breeze all day long. The service is outstanding- no matter where you are on the resort all of the staff is amazing. Our Villa was incredible, always clean and they leave really nice little touches each time you are away. We had the courtyard villa which has a pool and a hot tub - I would say this is a must as the pool is pretty cold at night and we did enjoy relaxing in the hot tub after dinner. If they could find a way to better balance the temperatures of the pool and the hot tub it would be even better. The bikes are really fun and a good way to get around resort; very relaxing rides to the beach give me warm memories as I type. All the restaurants were great; the food is fresh and always prepared well. We had the best Chilean Sea Bass ever had at Tamarind and everything at Sands is great. The drinks at every restaurant are good and the bar in the upstairs lobby is a fun place to kick back and have some laughs. Saffron was very good and the breakfast in the morning is out of this world- I wouldn’t even consider it a buffet. We didn’t have one bad meal or bad taste of anything! The spa is like nothing I’ve ever experienced truly a relaxing and well deserved treat- our services were done with perfection. The beach is just the right size, the sand is soft and water is so beautiful, the crew here does a great job keeping it clear of seaweed and they are very attentive to everything. The office will set you up with really fun excursions, anything you have in mind they will find it. We went on a really awesome catamaran that took us snorkeling- really fun and safe. We also had a great time in town, food and drinks and shopping were good. This place is perfect for couples; everyone is really relaxing and enjoying down time. The resort is expensive but well worth every penny, just be smart with your money and it will go a long way. We will definitely be coming back to this resort, matter of fact we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Room Division Director at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor.com user

Thank you for writing about your Honeymoon at Banyan Tree Mayakoba. Now that we know that you had blissful time during your stay we feel proud of our staff members .

We cannot wait either to welcome you back to this paradise.

With best regards,
Livia Martinez
Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A harmonious blend of nature and luxury, Banyan Tree Mayakoba takes resort living to new heights with the first all-pool villa resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico. Banyan Tree Hotels and Resorts brings Asian hospitality to the beautiful development of Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, complete with Banyan Tree Mayakoba pool villas offering premium seclusion and an expansive Mayakoba spa complex with the introduction of the award-winning Banyan Tree Mayakoba Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.