We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Mayakoba to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our 5 day stay at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba was absolutely amazing! So amazing in fact, that we never left the resort. There is a beautiful beach, wonderful beach club with a nice infinity pool with a swim up bar, an amazing spa, and an awesome breakfast buffet.

The atmosphere at the resort is superb! We had a private villa with our own pool and beach access. If you prefer, you never have to leave the villa. We did venture out daily to the breakfast buffet, with an occasional visit to the spa or to dine at one of the wonderful restaurants. But were very happy to spend most of our time relaxing in our private pool or venturing down to the beach. The staff is incredible! They are very helpful and truly treat you like they are glad to have you there. It was definitely a week of pampering! The only downside is when you return home and realize you now have to make your own coffee and make your own bed. Definitely a relaxing vacation to remember!!

Thank you Banyan Tree for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Spring for one of the villas on the beach. It's really nice to be able to walk down to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Room Division Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Vacation0009

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba hotel staff members I thank you for writing your impression about us on this website.

We are glad to read that you took advantage of the hotel installation and you had enjoyed yourselves.

The warm notes on the staff are truly appreciated. We do look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

Wishing you a nice day,

Livia Martinez
Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Recently got back from an amazing vacation at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. We were a group of five, and we were fortunate enough to be in a 3br beachfront villa (not that the rest of the resort looked any less enticing). It was one of the most fantastic vacations I've ever had. The accommodations, facilities and service at this resort are absolutely top-notch. But the spa (I had a 90 minute Thai massage) was out of this world! The treatment rooms, much like everything else at the Banyan Tree, are tastefully decorated in a style that makes you relax right away. My therapist was absolutely incredible, and I came out feeling like a new man.

This place is ideal for a group of friends, for a family, or for couples. The villas lend themselves very well to whatever your vacation dynamic. Not the cheapest resort in the world, but worth every penny. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Room Division Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor User

Thank you very much for your writing a message on trip advisor, and for staying with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you left with pleasant memories.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future,

Livia Martinez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

what a wonderful experience. This is really heaven on earth ! Much better than banyan tree Bangkok. Nice , clean , friendly and an awesome environment. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday , this is the place to be ! I think we were the first Belgian customers and we will advice this hotel to all Belgians ! Tamarind restaurant is our favorite. What a kind of taste ! Every little detail is paid attention to. Unforgettable. We will surely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Rooms Division Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba family, I would like to thank you for taking the time to display your comments following your stay with us.

I was very happy to read that the villa was providing you with more comfort than expected. And that you found our ambiance relaxing.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience again.

Best Regards,

Livia Martinez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

There is no place like this in the world!
The best place for a romantic moment to conquer or win back your love!
The food is excellent and not let them give you a treatment at the spa for 3 hours.
If you can, ask to give you the villa 703

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moysalame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Rooms Division manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Moysalame

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and to share them with other readers. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services we provide.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Livia Martinez
Rooms Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay, our first trip without our young children, and it was a wonderful escape from the regular pace of our lives. We are experienced with high expectations, and in most regards they were met, however the few areas in which they were not could use improvement.

We selected Banyan Tree based on many criteria, including privacy of rooms, not being geared towards children, quality of dining, and service reputation. We found our room to be wonderful - not too far from the restaurants (Sands excluded, as it is down by the beach), very private, and great amenities. That said, I did find it necessary to put a towel down on the couch in the living room area - the cushions were stained with who-knows-what (and I don't want to imagine).

Our chief complaints are centered around the food and beverage program at the resort. First off, we believe that a resort in Mexico should have Mexican food available for dinner every day, and Banyan Tree does not. After a very poor lunch service at Sands on the day of our arrival (40+ minutes to receive salad and ceviche appetizers) and being told it was caused by a new menu being rolled out, we didn't want to be guinea pigs twice in one day and decided we would save the Mexican dinner for the last night. We were quite upset upon learning mid-day on our last day that Sands was not going to be open that night, and then were even more surprised that it is closed most nights. We then scrabbled to arrange the in-room Mexican BBQ, which while a wonderful experience, is extremely expensive, especially since we had already paid for the full board meal plan and were then paying more than the difference between the meal plan and BBQ price, which seems greedy since we were forced to do it to get Mexican food at a resort in Mexico.

We also found the room service experience to be lacking in terms of speed of delivery. We ordered a pot of decaf and a pot of regular coffee daily, usually around 5:30 am, and were disappointed with the 30+ minutes it took to have it delivered (especially since it is French press, which takes mere minutes...and the coffee is wonderful, just not the speed with which I was being allowed to get it in me!). The in-room espresso machine is lovely, we just prefer a big pot of coffee, and as a half-caff drinker an espresso machine is not the most useful

At Tamarind, we were surprised to find it's not really Mediterranean at all. The service is very good, and the food is better than average for a resort (although I was served crunchy risotto). The "textured lemon pie" may be a lifetime favorite dessert, but it is actually a deconstructed lemon pie. We would have been very happy if there was more Mediterranean fare on the menu.

Saffron was good -again the service was excellent, but if you like to see your food you can't dine outside because they haven't yet figured out to to light the outdoor dining area. We kept hearing conversations about spiciness - lots of servers expressing that things could be toned down, etc., but my husband is a major fan of big heat, and even when he requested his food to be spicy it was not. It seemed like too many complaints about the heat level has caused a shift too far in the opposite direction. I am not a huge Thai food eater, but enjoyed what we ordered. The desserts were my least favorite among the restaurants.

As many others have stated, the Oriente breakfast is A+ awesome! A great selection, wonderful pastries, to-die-for granola - I could eat there three meals a day if they would have let me. We did find 7am to be a late start for breakfast (we are early risers and also like to work out in the morning), and were slightly annoyed to have to wait for coffee and juice because the staff meeting was still going on after 7, but they were very responsive when we made note of this service-slip (although it happened 2/3 of the time we dined there)

The Ixchel breakfast on the boat was a magnificent experience. The same wonderful food as at Oriente (with nearly equal selection of pastries, granola, fruit, etc) in a truly unique presentation. As a photo-hobbyist it was very cool to be able to lounge on the front of the boat with my mimosa and take in (and take photos of) the amazing birds, flora, and even a croc! I'm not sure I would have wanted to do this at 11am (too hot), but at 9am it was one of my favorite vacation experiences ever.

The spa is certainly world class. My husband and I got different treatments in the same room which is rarely "allowed" at other spas, and enabled us to get exactly what we wanted. I loved my Indian Head Massage, and the flexibility to get two massages for half the time so I could get a little taste of everything I wanted.

The gym is perfectly fine for even the biggest gym rat, and the resort is so spread out you can cover 4+ miles without leaving the grounds.

We found the wi-fi to be decent - it's wonderful that it's included, because if I was paying extra for it I would have been annoyed with it not working in-room on my phone (but it did work outside, so I sat by the pool to use it).

It is not really a beach resort - as others have noted - and most people will have to take a buggy down to the beach, but there is a pool and restaurant there so you can camp out for the day.

There were LOTS of very little kids around the resort, which while I didn't mind, would have probably been annoyed at if it were my honeymoon. And villas with the pool in the courtyard between the master bedroom and living room area would have made me have a coronary if trying to keep my toddlers safe since there would have been no way to keep them from falling/jumping in. I understand there are rooms with pools on the roof - definitely something to look in to if you want to bring little kids.

Overall, the service is exceptional. The Mexican food fiasco, long wait times for coffee, and lackluster menu at Tamarind are certainly things for the management to consider since they go a long way as dissatisfiers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Jes P

I wish to thank you for the taking the time to write your detailed account about your recent stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba hotel.

It is important for all of us to know where we have fulfilled your expectations and where we have the opportunity to improve; your feedback is of special value for us as it is helpful in detecting shortcomings in the operation.


Your comments are much appreciated.

We do look forward to your return visit, and I do hope you let me personally know when you are coming to ensure you have a flawless stay as you should have had it in the first place.

With best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bed Garden Pool Villa for 7 nights on a Breakfast only basis. These villas are allegedly one of the nicest accommodation types at Banyan Tree & it was certainly a lovely sanctuary to return to at the end of the day. The down side was that our private pool was freezing cold and quite dirty, and the outdoor furniture was a bit tired, considering it's a 5 star resort.
If money is no object and you prefer to stay in-resort, Banyan Tree or Grand Velas down the road are the perfect hotels for you. If however you prefer to explore the country you're visiting and money is not a bottomless pit, this may not be the hotel for you!
On average a 2 course evening meal with one of the cheaper bottles of wine will set you back £130. A cocktail will cost you £15. If you are breakfast only, you are likely to spend £200-£250 a day on food and drink alone (depending on how much and what you drink). It will cost you £40 for a return taxi to Playa del Carmen. There are no restaurants, bars or shops within walking distance from the Mayakoba resort. Eating outside of the resort is a lot cheaper, even with the taxi fee!
Personally I wouldn't go to a luxury hotel in Playa del Carmen again, unless it was All Inclusive, but even then, I would hate to miss out on some of the great restaurants we visited outside of our resort. To mention a few; 'ComoComo' in Playa Del Carmen was reasonably priced, elegant and had great food & wine. The novelty restaurant 'Alux' which is in an underground cave was also amazing and reasonably priced. If you were all inclusive, you might miss these treats!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
4 Thank disco-cop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Disco-cop

The whole Banyan Tree Mayakoba family thank you very much your feedback in regards to your experience with us.

I am glad to read that our facilities met your expectations and I do hope that our service delivery was up to your satisfaction.

Thank you for bringing your discomfort with the pool area to our attention, and we are going to review this subject.

We wish to be given the opportunity to provide you with memorable Banyan Tree experience soon again.

Best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband booked this for our honeymoon, this was suppose to be the last location of our trip around the world! I was hoping it was going to be 7 days of relaxing in the sun! This was more than i imagined! Absolutely FABULOUS!

Upon arrival we were greeted and taken to our villa which was one of the best villa's (located by the beach front) ISLA 806 .
The staff were so friendly! and were also so happy and helpful! The food was outstanding.. clean and well presented we didn't fall ill as expected in these parts of the world.

The only down sides we had were that our villa lights stopped working on the first day! and being on honeymoon that completely freaked me out.. the staff were efficient in fixing the problem, but it was disappointing they didn't do their checks before letting us in.

The pool was not cleaned as often as i liked, we went around late October 2011, so there were alot of mosquito's and bugs in the pool which was of putting.

Room service was amazing..the maids were very discreet an we were left a gift each night we stayed, pretty cute!

Be sure to try the thai green curry at the saffron, its LUSH! and sand beach club is perfect for lunch snacks!

Visit the local tourist attraction i think its called 5th avenue! there are great shops and LA PARILLA is a nice place to eat if you like mixed grills and hearty food! ask the resort to book you a cab, don't take your valuables as you will be walking into the heart of mexico!

Over all this experience was magical! i would recommend this to couples looking for a private relaxing location, no riff raff on the beach very luxurious ! Thank you Banyan tree for making our honeymoon complete!

Room Tip: Go for a villa closer to the beach we had ISLA 806, literally 1 min to the beach! they are more luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsAllAboutLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear ItsAllAboutLuxury

We were glad to have welcome you at Banyan Tree Mayakoba during this very special event, and to be able to make it a wonderful experience. We do appreciate your gracious report regarding our hotel installations and our service as well.

We have taken note of the comments you made in regards to the pool. I thank you for taking the time to write your experience on this website, and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Remaining at your disposal,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#14 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#7 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 12,350 reviews
5.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#10 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region’s most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 117 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing