We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit was just as pleasant as the first two...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Velas Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Third visit was just as pleasant as the first two...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

(We actually stayed in Feb 2013, not Sep 2013, but Feb 2013 is not an option anymore.)

Just wanted to write a short notice about our third trip to this fantastic resort, that took place in Feb 2013.

I don't really have that much to add, since I have already written long reviews for our stays in Feb 2010 and Feb 2011, but:

After having stayed at Grand Velas RM in 2010 and 2011, we wanted to do something else, and in 2012 we went instead to Turk & Caicos. We stayed for one week at The Veranda, and one week at Beaches.

And although the Veranda was said to be the similar in standard to Grand Velas, and although it was nice and we enjoyed our stay there, we could not help but compare it to Grand Velas - and it just could not compete. At Grand Velas the food is much better, choise of restaurants/menues much better, service very much better, and the whole property is so much better kept. The only thing better at The Veranda, was that you could get multiple room suites/apartment of different sizes, and in Grand Velas you mainly get 1-room suites.

Beaches is of course a different kind of property to Grand Velas completely and we expected that - so that we were fine with the food/service not being as good there as in Grand Velas. What Beaches had to offer in terms of activities etc for the children made up for that, so we enjoyed our stay there, too.

We've always had Ambassadors Suites in Grand Velas, first time with ocean view, second and third time with pool view. During our stay in 2013 we were shown some larger suites that they have in the part to the left (facing the beach) - i.e close to the breakfast restaurant at Ambassador. These were really, really nice (if very expensive), so that we have decided that sometime we will stay in one of these. We will for sure go back again in a couple of years!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach/walking distance, you cannot choose Jungle Section, since you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued interest and appreciation of Grand Velas. To compare us to your subsequent travels over the years really means that we have left quite a positive impression on you, almost as if we are now your benchmark for a quality and fulfilling holiday and I am impressed with your memory and attention to detail. I have always said that we are very fortunate to host some very detail minded clients and that is why our own internal standards are placed very high. We do that so you and many other valuable guests continue on with unforgettable memories of a truly special place. We look forward to hosting you again for when the opportunity presents itself and please know that everyone here recognizes and appreciates your loyalty to the resort. Thank you again and warm regards to you and your family in beautiful Stockholm, Sverige. Ses snart min van.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    261
    80
    46
    28
See reviews for
715
540
17
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Velas with 3 other couples for a friend's birthday. From check in to check out you're treated as if they really want to please. We stayed in Grand Class for adults only. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. Our concierge made us always feel welcome and met every need. The pool and beach service was always there offering food and drinks. The service in the restaurants and bars was always great and on time.

The ladies used one of the exorcise classes and had a great time. I used the gym twice and found it in good shape, clean and good equipment.

We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
What a very pleasant way to celebrate a friend’s birthday than to do so on the shores of Riviera Maya. And it gives me great pleasure that you and your close group chose Grand Velas to be the host for your good times. Our Grand Class suites are very large and open giving you that feeling of freedom while facing straight out to the Caribbean. Actually all of our well appointed suites would be considered Presidential or Governor Suites in many hotels just based on the sheer size along with the luxury amenities that come standard. To complement your accommodations our dedicated staff was always on hand to provide the eight of you with enough fine service to help make your dining and get-togethers relaxed and entertaining. I hope that you will think of us in the future when that heartbeat urges you to take your next vacation. Thank you for your patronage and for sharing your happy times with everybody. Take care and special regards to all in Arizona.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My recent holiday at Grand Velas was simply Perfect! This was my first experience in the Mayan Riviera and staying at Grand Velas has certainly set the bar extremely high. The hotel facilities were beautiful, clean, spacious and very luxurious. The service was impeccable....from Jose on the beach to Gabriel at Bistro. The culinary treats that I experienced each day left me satiated and wanting for nothing. Eric, the executive chef ensured that each meal was true perfection. What more can I say.....except Grand Velas was most definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in and certainly worth the distance that I traveled from Singapore. I plan to be back soon....very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
It is a very nice feeling as I sit and go through the comments of our valuable guests to know that the great majority are very pleased with their experiences and your delightful descriptions really made my Saturday afternoon. It is such a pleasure for us to represent Mexico and The Riviera Maya region to first timers. And to actually have the honor to be your host is a privilege that I hold high. Please note that what we wish to provide our guests is a confidence in our consistency, so that when you do return to Grand Velas you can be sure that the high bar that you set will be met and eclipsed thanks to the genius creativity of my executive chef Eric. Thank you so much for selecting us for your first taste of Riviera Maya and also for taking the effort of travelling from half a world away to enjoy our cuisine and hospitality. Take care and kind greetings to you and your friends in beautiful Singapore.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you will understand the reason people say it is a step above. Truly grand in every way.

The rooms...All the rooms are spectacular. You truly can not go wrong. The entry level suite is over 1100 square ft. with beautiful decor; the Zen suites are in the jungle just a few minute shuttle ride from the beach. The shuttle is 24 hours a day. next up is the Ambassador at just over 1200 square ft. This is an infinity pool/ocean view. The first two are family resorts. The third is an adult section allowing 12 and up to stay.

So much to love at this place. The food is out of this world. We ate appetizers at Frida and I has escamoles (ant caviar). Weird but delicious. Piaf was so romantic. A man in a black tuxedo played a violin. The food was delicious. The ulitimate in cuisine was at Cocina De Autor and what a treat we had. they said 8 course meal but it felt like ten. Amazing, truly a gift from the food gods.
.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPba-udsP7BIgcwKEDcEBAA
.
We have 4 videos about this resort as it was extra special. Three show the rooms and one about a free kayak ride to the reef where we snorkeled along with a life guard as our guide.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Zen suites. I preferred it because it was truly amazing and the beach was a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I thank you very much for your personal descriptions of the experiences that you most certainly enjoyed while residing with us. Your accolades express very well the personal luxuries that our guests enjoy as well as the savory delights that adorn the menus of our eight culinary options. Options and variety: that is precisely what you convey and what we designed for Grand Velas in its planning and pre construction stages. Three lifestyle ambiences which you so nicely point out and its size. Our suites are quite large compared to other luxury hotels and having a front door that is 1.4 meters wide really justifies the size of our units especially when one first arrives. Some of the dining venues and dishes that you referred to really offer a great variety for even the most distinguished palate. That is why we do not make reference to a “food and beverage program”. But we refer to it as a culinary tour, which is exactly what it is because of the variety that is provided. And I am truly delighted that you delved into some of the specific creations of our chef and most importantly I am pleased that it was all to your great liking. To be considered “the grandest” and “a step above” is testament that we truly have raised the bar on high end all-inclusive resorts. I thank you again for your wonderful praises, for your preference and also for the great videos and photos that you provide. I hope that we can share a table some evening in Cocina de Autor and enjoy the culinary experience together with your family. Take care and all the best for you both in glorious Nashville, TN.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have just come back from 2 weeks in this hotel and we have had a great time, we had a suite in the Zen section which I did not realise when I booked it is probably 0.5 mile from the beach and you need to get a shuttle bus, this is not clear when you book these rooms. Our room was lovely and Paco was our floor concierge, he was brilliant restaurant bookings, spa bookings, trip information, town info, laundry and even late night margaritas. Being in the Zen section ended up being a blessing because we had the Zen pool pretty much to ourselves for the whole time, it was never busy. The one day we went to the beach and main pool we struggled to get loungers and found it a little loud and busy, it was very nice and service was good.
In the Zen pool section special mentions must go to Gerry, Alex, Bautista and Oscar who were the pool guys and were truly excellent, loungers, towels, drinks, food and friendly nothing too much trouble, they really made every day at the pool.

The shuttle bus thing between the 3 hotel blocks was fine once you got used to it and if you use all the restaurants and spa you will definitely use it at least a couple of times a day.

The Spa was great always arrive an hour before your treatment for the whole hydrotherapy experience(sauna, steam, cold room, clay room and great pool, we had a couple of massages and a facial all of which were excellent.

Gym pretty well equipped 8 cv machines and a broad range of weight machines, very quiet and open pretty much all the time.

Laundry service was quick and high quality.

Restaurants breakfast buffet in Azul most days food all fresh and tasty and a wide range of just about everything. Chaka day time Mexican for lunch very tasty. Luca Italian great food, great service. Sen Lin, pan Asian some truly excellent food try the starter soft shell crab, entree curried chicken and the desert peppered strawberries. The best restaurant and our absolute favourite was Frida fine dining Mexican we went 4 times and worked our way through most of the menu, every dish was inventive, well flavoured and seasoned and the staff team were professional, knowledgable and very very friendly, spoiling us on our anniversary, our leaving night and really looking after our 8 year old son.

We will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had 2151 and 2150 in the Zen block, jungle views and great rooms, as per my note above if you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you very much Sr. Cotta for first of all deciding to make your holiday plans with us at Grand Velas. We are indeed very proud that we could live up to your expectations and at the same time generating a definite desire to return. I am pleased that you have the confidence to know that even on a two week holiday there is much variety and enjoyment to be had especially in terms of our culinary tour. Your ability to try each and every gastronomic venue at least once really lends to the overall satisfaction of your vacation choice. I am also glad that your accommodations in our Zen ambience were to your great satisfaction and that my staff Paco, Gerry, Alex, Bautista and Oscar were true to form in providing you and your family those extra touches that certainly set us apart from other resorts. And of course having two weeks to relax means indulging yourselves in our world recognized spa. The hydrotherapy alone is a very satisfying ritual, but to top it off with massages and facial treatments really lifts one up to another level of relaxation. Sr. Cotta, it would be our great pleasure to host you and your family again in order to exceed even more the expectations that you will have in us and also for our chefs to provide you with many more inventive dishes to help satisfy your culinary curiosities.

Thank you again Sr. Cotta and from all of us we congratulate you on your anniversary and we wish you all the best in beautiful London, England. Cheers!

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The resort was perfect- service by Jose on the beach was amazing!!! Rooms were very spacious. The food was incredible many restaurants to choose from. Service was 5 star, staff was friendly and helpful. Beach was clean and very nice, spent most of our day relaxing on the beach with the occasionally cool off in the ocean! We can't wait to go back!!!! Was a memorable amazing trip! So worth it!!! The spa was SO SO worth it - very romantic and relaxing!

Room Tip: Very spacious beautiful! Absolutely wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Why thank you Kelsey for your glowing comments on your July visit with us. The dedicated and pro-active service by Jose and all of our team really culminated in making a good holiday a really terrific and unforgettable one. I am glad that one of the highlights was your relaxing time on the beach. The memory of that time will help to inspire you return to where everything was to your extreme satisfaction. Kelsey, I hope that your subsequent visits to Grand Velas are as fulfilling as your first one and what better way to relax than on the beaches of the Caribbean. Thank you again and all the best to you in McKinney, Texas. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our holiday at Grand Velas was amazing! Having been to the Mayan Riviera on various occasions, I can confidently say its beautiful, white sand beach is by far the best along the coast. Everything else is also top-notch - gorgeous pools, luxurious suites, pampering spa, elegant restaurants, fantastic food … the list goes on. Beyond the infrastructure, what stands out at Grand Velas is the service. My friends and I kept talking about our “rock star experience”. Staff throughout the resort, and at every level, is attentive, professional, friendly and genuinely warm. You feel that each and every single person is invested in making your stay exceptional. Value for dollar, 10 out of 10. No question – Grand Velas Riviera Maya deserves the AAA Five Diamond award and the many others it has received!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Heather, thank you for your glowing observations on what you lived and felt while on vacation with us. And believe me when I say that the privilege was truly ours from the moment that you selected us to be your hosts. It pleases me immensely that every aspect of your stay was to your great satisfaction and that you and your friends continually talk about your recent holiday, particularly on the quality of the warm and professional service that you all received. I have stated before to other valued guests that the awards that Grand Velas has generated over its brief history are certainly milestone achievements, however the accolades that you and many other prior guests have bestowed upon us is truly the most important recognition that can be received. After all, you are the reason that we are here and your great satisfaction is the best indicator for us in terms of pride and of a job well done. I hope that we will again have the privilege in hosting you like “rock stars” for many splendid moments to come. Thank you Heather and a big hug for you and your friends up north. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Velas Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.