We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to return!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Velas Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to return!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First I would like to start by saying that I have never felt impaled to write a review after staying at a hotel, but due to the overwhelming experience our family had I just had to. The pictures that are posted by the hotel seriously do not do this place justice you really have to be able to absorb the views because they are incredible!!!!!

We are a family with two boys 10yrs and 8 yrs.

Rooms: The rooms in the Master (Zen) where we stayed were quiet and relaxing. You could hear the tropical birds and animals every morning. NOTE: the Zen area is dimly lit (lighting) for a reason and that is to respect the wildlife that reside in the jungle area (bats etc...) which is impressive in our opinion.

Restaurants: I did want to mention something that I have seen, the restaurants almost always give you an appetizer courtesy of the chef...These are incredible!!!! It's a nice surprise you get at each restaurant. I also wanted to add that the seafood here is by far the freshest we have encountered.

Piaf, this restaurant was by far our favorite the food was to die for the wait staff were not stuffy but ready to explain each item on the menu. Try the chocolate souffle and the apple tart these are delicious!!

Lucca, this one was our second choice. I must mention the Tiramisu was wonderful.

Sen Lin, This was MY favorite just because of the seafood. We recommend the soft-shell crab (we have tried this at other top of the line restaurants and it tasted very fishy), shrimp appetizer and the coconut shrimp. The desserts are certainly not conventional, but surprisingly good.

Frida, This was a bit strange to write that this was our least favorite restaurant. This has absolutely nothing to do with the service meaning wait staff (Saaid and Roberto Awesome) etc..... They were incredible!! The food to be fair was good we recommend the tortilla soup and the Mexican bread one had sausage in it and the other had jalapenos.

Bistro, we had very good wait staff here Cristian and another guy who tried to learn a little sign language(our youngest son is deaf) feel so bad we forgot his name. The Cobb salad we had here was great!

Azul, the omlettes were great every morning a local suggested on our last day to eat Oaxaca cheese Quesadilla in a corn tortilla (the tortillas are not cooked until you order) and ham.... It is delicious the kids loved it too!

Spa, Thanks to Paulina she did a wonderful job on my massage!!! My favorite part of the Water Journey was the different rooms you get to go into for example the Clay, Steam, and Sauna these are the beginning of the treatment.

Zen Pool, Santiago was awesome here and he was always very attentive. When we were here there were never more than 3 other people here it really felt like a spa/tropical get away from the hustle in bustle of the beach portion of the resort.

Beach, AWESOME!!!!! white sand galore...the beach was pretty calm and the real thing is even better than the pictures, seriously.

Ambassador Pool, this pool is great the kids liked it here most.

All in all we are definitely going back and the staff from the bell boy to Martha (tried to teach me a little Spanish) who cleaned the banos by the pool were so friendly and not in an artificial way. The concierge Vanessa was great. Must do the Free Eco Tour they grow all herbs at the hotel and the chefs pick what they need everyday.

A quick note about the tipping issue: THERE IS NO ISSUE!! The service here is impecible and those who serve you either at the beach, pool, bar, room service, baggage...do not EXPECT a tip although they all deserve it. We brought $150 USD for tipping and would simply give a few dollars here and there for the service and it was ALWAYS appreciated. Yes, you need to sign for food service but we would always tip in cash and therefore put $0.00 on the tipping portion of the receipt and not once felt it was an imposition nor MADE to feel as such. Of course you can always give a tip on your receipt if you don't have cash so as not to neglect the gratuity for the workers as they all truly enjoy working here and serving the guest.

In our opinion, this place is by far the best, or at least one of the best All-Inclusive resorts you could find.

Room Tip: Room 2134 in the Zen area is on the 2nd floor with vaulted ceilings and is very nice. Shuttle servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Google Translation
Con el placer de saludarle.
le agradecemos su valioso que invirtio al escribir este comentario sobre nuestro hotel y sus maravillosas vacaciones familiares que pasaron con nosotros.
aun seguimos trabajando para ser siempre mejores, capacitandonos dia a dia, para siempre ofrecer lo mejor de nosotros, somos una familia atendiendo familias y sobre todo cumpliendo espectativas.
los esperamos pronto para asi tener la oportunidad y el placer de volverles a servir .
a nombre del staff de hotel grand velas riviera maya, les deceamos un feliz año lleno de bendiciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    211
    67
    43
    26
See reviews for
592
481
17
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

this place is amazing. They do not miss a beat. anything you want at anytime they will get find or make without a question. Food it like going out to a boston restaurant every day/night!

Make it happen and go, you will be so glad you did!

Room Tip: jungle for family beach side for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks ladies for your lovely comments.
is a pleasure to serve our guests and make them feel better than at home, we look forward to his presence again in this paradise.

on behalf of the staff of Grand Velas Riviera Maya we send warm greetings and wish you a happy 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were at Grand Velas for a wedding over the weekend for 3 days. Having just spent our Spring break here this year,it was such a treat to be able to come back again so soon. This is such a beautiful,classy,spotless and well run resort. It was nearly empty at this time and our wedding party and another wedding party were probably the only ones there.
Check in was smooth,food was good,the beach is super white,soft and super clean at all times and the pool is the best I've ever been to. We were in the Ambassador class and all rooms are ocean view here. The sea was pretty rough and the beach had red flags all 3 days we were there. The service at this resort is impeccable. Anytime you want anything or ask something,it's done right away or exactly at the time you want it done!
Although very short,we had a beautiful time at this beautiful property. We hope to be back some day again,maybe at their Nueve Vellarta resort as we haven't been to that one.

Room Tip: All ambassador and grand class rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Mr. and Mrs..
thank you very much for your significant comments about their stay at Grand Velas Riviera Maya.
it was our pleasure to have had an opportunity of serving you and give them our best care in the service, all with the warmth that distinguishes us.
respect to the beach and this is seasonal flags, and it is precisely in high winds, but most of the time the sea is very calm like a pool.
the back hope to return soon to serve once again.
The Riviera Maya Hotel staff wishes you a happy new year. 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

You cannot beat the Grand Velas Resort. Hands down, the best place I've had the privilege of staying during my time down south. Nestled between the coral reefs and tropical jungle of the Riviera Mayan. Photos don't do the resort any justice! You must experience it in person!

The suite was gorgeous with an amazing balcony view of the ocean, huge jacuzzi tub, and turn-down service every night. Each Suite has its own butler service available 24hrs. Room service is quick, friendly, and aways a treat. You even have a pillow menu with a dozen or so different types of pillows you can order for your bed.

The many restaurants at the resort were top notch, food was highest of quality, service everywhere on the result was immaculate. The resort was extremely tranquil and very relaxing.

Even though we were told there were over 600 guests at the resort, it never felt like it. We barely saw a 2 dozen people around at any given time.

If you have the chance, visit this resort. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: I understand there are some suites with a balcony containing a private pool. From what I heard these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been to many different resorts both for family trips and business trips and the Grand Velas in Playa del Carmen has been the best resort yet! We went toward the end of October and it was not crowded at all. In fact there were several days when we were the only family out at the pool. We did spend a little extra to get the Ocean Front Suite with pool in the Ambassador section - well worth it. The restaurants were all excellent, but our favorite was Lucca (we ate their twice). Pool food was great too! Room service for breakfast out on your balcony is a must do! The service all over the entire resort was outstanding. My children loved it as well. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: Must get the Ocean Front Suite with lunge pool in the Ambassador Section - soooooo nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Words can't say or express the extent of 5 Star Service at this Hotel! The beautiful room (even though we were in a Zen Suite) it did not disappoint us. Our personal concierge Vanessa was a dream and so sweet to work with. She was instrumental in advice and suggestions and made us feel right at home. Thank you Vanessa ~ I wish all hotels had someone like you! You make the hotel and the connection with the guest genuine and sincere with first class expertise. Now, for the really cool part ~ our bartender Augusto at the Sky Bar ~ Wow! He should be in Napa as he discovered our personal likes about wine and found the perfect blend! His level of professionalism and true desire to make us happy made us feel like rockstars and the real rockstar is servers like himself! Way to go Augusto! We can't wait to come back and visit you! The rest of the staff must be mentioned...the drivers and service from arrival to departures are all outstanding! They truly love their jobs and have been wonderful and gracious hosts! Way to nail it Grand Velas! Best HOTEL EVER! Second time here since March and coming back soon! Love it!
Grace & Mark Nungesser
Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: Ambassador room but Zen is ok but must take the shuttle to get to the beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Nungesser Family:

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Velas Riviera Maya in this second time as your Home away from Home.

Your kind comments inspire us to continue providing the best quality of service and keep doing our best effort in every detail. We also appreciate the time you took to recognize the effort of Vanessa and Augusto we will certainly share your comments with them.

We are looking forward to serve you in the future

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I visited here for a week back in May and did not think to write a review until i stayed in a very sub par resort in Playa last week. This place was fantastic- not crowded and every little detail was there for me to use with ease. Every night when i would come back to my room from an amazing dinner the room would smell like jasmine and be so nice! The towels, sheets and bath robes provided are so soft! Room service is the best i have ever seen anywhere and every thing tastes unbelievable- especially the breakfast buffet!
This is a pricey resort but worth every penny to help you truly relax and enjoy your vacation without those tacky routines and skits by staffers dancing on the bars and asking you to play volleyball 45 times a day while you try to sleep. .
Hope to go back for my honeymoon in June.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm regards from the Sunny Riviera Maya! We will be very honored to hosting such an important celebration in June. We deeply appreciate the time you took to provide us your review with all your impressions and great memories of your stay with us,

All your positive comments are certainly a reason to keep doing our best effort in every service we provide and encourage us to continue in our research for excellence. Rest assured that they will be sent to all our staff that participated in creating those memories during your stay.


We truly hope to have you with us on you next visit to celebrate together this amazing Ocassion

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Velas Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.