We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third year in a row and still loving it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Velas Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My third year in a row and still loving it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have been at this resort for 3 years in a row due to company convention and still loving it! The last year were there later into the year and got hit by a huracane! It was very evident there staff was properly trainend and perfectly executed every step of the shelter in place plan; steps clearly tighten as the severity of the storm scalated. Our meeting went on almost flawlessly (it was hard to believe we were in the mist of a huracane; staff even slept on site for their on security but that help to for the meeting to carry on).
The food is amazing, the location prestine, the all-inclusive is truly that; you can drink, eat all day long (even the in-room minibar stuff is included). The beach is groomed every (early) morning so that by the time you hit the beach is clean and ready for enjoyment. In the 3 times I have never experienced crowded pools or poor service (even though in on of the ocasions there was a second convention going on long side the one I was attending). What I like about this resort in particular, is that even thought there are 3 invironments, guests are free to enjoy all three without restrictions. All onsite restaurants are top of the line; my favorite is the Mexican (Frida) but the Asian is also very good!. You have to try the Chilaquiles and chocolate donuts for breakfast (at Azul Restaurant); the best way to start your day!!! Make sure to try the spa, is one of the best in the world!

Room Tip: If you want a beach view; have to stay at either the Ambassador or Grand class environments. if at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest;
Thank you very much for your preference on Grand Velas Riviera Maya .
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our property, restaurants and service. All of your kind comments inspire us to continue providing the best quality of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Velas Riviera Maya!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    206
    65
    41
    28
See reviews for
579
466
16
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

You heard that right. "All inclusive" and "foodies" was just used in the same description. As a proud lover of great food - and frequent sufferer of not-so-great food- this resort was absolutely amazing. Yucatan specialties, asian delicacies, inspired nouveau cuisine - every restaurant had amazing food. Even the standard buffet had a gourmet assortment. The Spanish restaurant has a mobile tequila cart with fine spirits mixed tableside with a variety of inspired glass-rim salts and sugars. Great attention was paid to every detail of every meal.

But it's not JUST about the food. Stumble back to your room stuffed and a little tipsy to find a super chic, modern room with the finest appointments: jacuzzi tub, multi head showers, lots of tasteful fixtures and stone surfaces of every color and pattern. We stayed in the jungle area, which was a little less expensive than other parts. But it didn't disappoint. The "jungle" was gorgeous to look at, with wild birds and lizards. A bed on the patio was great for relaxing.

The only slight drawback was the tipping culture. At the end of every meal, you're given a bill which itemizes everything you ordered - but with a zero balance, since it is an all inclusive. The idea is that you will include a tip that is a portion of the "bill." We gave a standard tip for each meal, regardless of what we ordered.

We went in July and didn't see a lot of people. It felt a little deserted. But that didn't bother my wife and I one bit.

I can't rave enough about this place. The people are friendly, the service is fast and attentive, and the food ... oh the food!

Room Tip: Head to the adult pool for a little peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Public Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best not only to maintain the quality of the service we provide, but also to go beyond our guests’ expectations.

We recieve a lof of clients that just come to our restaurants for dinner. This is the reason why we have the checks on restaurants. It is a little confusing for people. But it is also a way to have a better control for us.

Looking forward to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The managment doesn't care about lots of people swimming in the pool with flip flops, underwear (only underwear), and clothes. No Food nor beverage service in the pool area. Very expensive VS the service you get. The hotel was crowded with people from a convention with minimum education which gave a very bad impression. In all, my family and I felt as if we were at a public beach in the mexican Bronx..., at best. Come at your own risk...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Besides the ghost town you are staying in, you need to see the pool concierge for a chair because you are " assigned " one. If you can stand it it's true. You cannot choose a lounge chair they do it for you . it's a sun shade lottery. Good luck andI hope you get a good seat

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Like many others, I thoroughly enjoy the Riviera Maya area. We have been to the region for the past 4 years and have stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach, which we love. This year Secrets was booked up, so we figured we would try what looked like an "upgrade" to Grand Velas based on reviews. Boy, we're we mistaken! First, through no fault of our own, due to an airline mechanical problem, we arrived 24 hours late. I called Grand Velas and let them know of the problem 24 hours prior, and was told too bad, that was my problem, I still had to pay $930 for the night that I did not stay. Second, upon Arrival, I was told that all of the restaurant reservations that I had made online in advance were invalid, as several restaurants were closed. We had to try to rebook reservations through a very inexperienced concierge who could not have cared less. Then out to thr pool area where although there were very few guests, it took forever to get a warm beer in a plastic cup that was represented to us ad Corona but turned out to be Sol... Apparently they just changed liquor distributtors and the staff has no idea what they are serving or even what is available. It soon became apparent that occupancy at the resort was pretty much non-existent... As I am writing this at 9:50 PM on a Saturday night, we are the only people in the piano bar/ karaoke area of the main area of the resort. Looks like the neutron bomb went off and all the people are gone... It is actually very creepy! It is obvious that this resort is an epic failure and is circling the drain. Do not, under any circumstances, come here. Service and food is horrendous, and you will pay twice the price for half the quality and service of other all inclusives in the Riviera Maya area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We overall enjoyed our stay in the Grand Velas. The installations, service, food, rooms and general settings were incredible and you get the feeling of being in an exclusive place.

Downsides: 1) you would expect 'all inclusive' of a 5* to include free WIFI. 2) service by the pool/beach significantly changed when we checked out - going from every 15min 'check point' to 'not even acknowledging your presence'...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Velas as your holiday destination
Our hotel is always open to receive suggestions as our mission is to exceed the expectations of our guest. Thank you for taking the time to send your impressions, they will be shared with the staff at the pool in order to improve the service.
Regarding the internet we are working in to provide a better service
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Incredible experience.....the food was off the charts, the room was always spotless, my butler always laid out my robe and slippers at night, left me a bottle of water along with my medications at my bedside. The pool at the Ambassador was relaxing and I loved the swim up bar. The beach was to die for and the wait service was consistent and frequent. Supplied plenty of towels or anything needed. The drinks were always consistent, not worried about going to a particular bar or bartender. Each and every restaurant was fabulous. The bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in!!!! They were a little difficult about putting tables together to accomodate our large group. The staff was helpful and courteous. Unfortunately there was a hurrican in NY while we were away and we were stuck for 2 extra days. They would not budge on the price to help us in our time of need. We traveled in a group of about 28 people so they could have been a little more helpful in that respect.

Room Tip: Stay in the Zen!!!! It was tranquil and beautiful. Short ride to the beach - shuttles were always r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm regards from the Sunny Riviera Maya! We feel very honored that you celebrated an unforgettable event with your group , with us at Grand Velas Riviera Maya. We deeply appreciate the time you took to provide us with such an extensive review with all your impressions and great memories of your stay with us.

All your positive comments are certainly a reason to keep doing our best effort in every service we provide and encourage us to continue in our research for excellence. Rest assured that they will be sent to all our staff that participated in creating those memories in your life.
We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you and your family in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Velas Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.