We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva del Chango

La Cueva del Chango
38th Street Between 5ta Avenue and the Sea | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 0271
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The food at this place was very good. It was fresh Mexican food. The atmosphere was really fun. We had lunch there after a referral from a local. He did not steer us wrong. The prices were good and food was plentiful. We would go to this place again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    335
    74
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth the walk, close to best beach, charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

La Cueva del Chango is a delightful outdoor cafe and restaurant that specializes in organic foods and fresh juices. Their offerings are excellent and the indoor-outdoor design of the restaurant is both unique and charming.

We have enjoyed a number of their dishes and visited four times. Bring bug spray and be sure to order one of the specialty fresh pressed juices!

After your meal you can hit nearby Coco Beach, or Mamitas Beach, two of the area's best beaches. Don't get caught in the awful tourist beach area between Constituyentes and Calle 8 beach, you'll be missing the really beautiful beach areas of Playa del Carmen!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto aventuras
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE FOR BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

As well for lunch and the chiles en nogada in August are out of this world Great breakfasts and delicious salads HOmemade tortillas YUM!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had breakfast here, as it came highly recommended. Our meals were good, though nothing really stood out as remarkable. Prices are average. The coffee was excellent, and we therefore purchased a bag of ground coffee to brew in our room. The jungle-like atmosphere is nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So Lucky We Found This”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Yummy! We wondered around Playa del Carmen looking for a recommended restaurant and stopped here for a drink to get our bearings and cool off. We ended up eating here--it has a stream going down the middle of the restaurant and some beautiful foliage near the entrance and the back. Very good service. The mole and empanadas were spectacular.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva del Chango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.