We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WISH THEY HAD 7 STARS! WOW!....JUST WOW! IF IN PLAYA, YOU MIST GO HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of casa mediterranea

casa mediterranea
5th Avenue, between calle 6 & 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
005219848064679
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I WISH THEY HAD 7 STARS! WOW!....JUST WOW! IF IN PLAYA, YOU MIST GO HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden jewel in Playa. It is set back off the strip, so it can be hard to find. TAKE THE TIME TO FIND IT! :D. The service was outstanding. Seated promptly and never needed a thing. The second the wine was running low, it was refilled. I am not one who likes to be served, but I couldn't react fast enough to beat their staff! I had fish and shrimp raviolli. The pasta was perfect. The taste was supreme. Most Italian places rely on garlic to give the flavor. Not here. Their chef cooked the pasta and the halved cherry tomoatoes to perfection. Our waiter paired wine perfectly. Honestly, this was the best place I ate at in Playa. Check it out. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    86
    19
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Romantic little restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose casa mediterranea based strictly on Trip Advisor reviews and once again were not disappointed. Adorable little restaurant off the busy drag. Food was wonderful, paired perfectly with the recommended bottle of Chianti. Service great from beginning to end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful Restaurant & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to Casa Mediterranea after a long day visiting Playa de Carmen with my wife and children, and i have to say its a fantastic hidden gem. Very attentive staff and the chef also from Italy came to talk to us after our meal to check how we enjoyed our meal. The food goes back to Italy-perfect homemade pastas. The key also is the fresh seafood that is caught just blocks away in the Gulf of Mexico.
Congratulations for this fantastic food and service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good authentic Italian food as well as excellent grilled fresh fish. Small, very quiet restaurant where you can actually carry on a conversation over a delicious meal. Can't beat that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was walking down 5th avenue, looking at all the choices for dinner, when we accidentally came upon Cafe Meditterano, hidden near some art galleries between calle 6 and 8 tucked away in a little plaza area. All I can really say is that the service was impeccable, the food and wine outstanding, and the company the best ever! Do yourself a favor and go hungry, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed casa mediterranea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to casa mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage casa mediterranea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.