We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic little restaurant, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of casa mediterranea

casa mediterranea
5th Avenue, between calle 6 & 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
005219848064679
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Romantic little restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose casa mediterranea based strictly on Trip Advisor reviews and once again were not disappointed. Adorable little restaurant off the busy drag. Food was wonderful, paired perfectly with the recommended bottle of Chianti. Service great from beginning to end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    78
    16
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Restaurant & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to Casa Mediterranea after a long day visiting Playa de Carmen with my wife and children, and i have to say its a fantastic hidden gem. Very attentive staff and the chef also from Italy came to talk to us after our meal to check how we enjoyed our meal. The food goes back to Italy-perfect homemade pastas. The key also is the fresh seafood that is caught just blocks away in the Gulf of Mexico.
Congratulations for this fantastic food and service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good authentic Italian food as well as excellent grilled fresh fish. Small, very quiet restaurant where you can actually carry on a conversation over a delicious meal. Can't beat that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was walking down 5th avenue, looking at all the choices for dinner, when we accidentally came upon Cafe Meditterano, hidden near some art galleries between calle 6 and 8 tucked away in a little plaza area. All I can really say is that the service was impeccable, the food and wine outstanding, and the company the best ever! Do yourself a favor and go hungry, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantasic Food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Couldn't believe hardly anyone was there, but it is hidden off the main drag of 5th St. If you want some really good authentic Italian cousine this is the place you must try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed casa mediterranea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to casa mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage casa mediterranea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.