We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only for chocolate lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
5th Ave & Constituyentes | Or 5th Ave & Calle 30 Or 5th & Calle 38, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not only for chocolate lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I took my three daughters here who each had a hot chocolate and a brownie. They were very happy with their chocolatey choice. My husband and I opted for tea and coffee, carrot cake and cheesecake. Not a cocoa bean in sight but still tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    723
    233
    50
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Oversweetened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to Ah Cacao several times and have found a few things I like. They have a good carrotcake.

That said overpriced hot chocolate and tea's are expensive and not that good. Most of what they sell is overly sweetened chocolate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alternative to Starbucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There were at least two of these along 5th Avenue. The coffee was great and so much cheaper than starbucks!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious hot chocolate: look for a coupon in local maps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I wish we had had more opportunities to visit Ah Cacao! It was delicious and the hot chocolate with chilli very rich. I think we found a 10% coupon on one of the local city tourist maps. Recommended because while it's delicious, it was a leetle expensive. Very friendly staff, would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As the name suggests, this places specializes in chocolate. During various visits, we had hot chocolate, pastries, and ice cream. All of good quality. The place is very friendly and were patient with my son as he tried to make up his mind. The cafe also seemed geared to locals, which is another plus in my book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.