We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Shakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
5th Ave & Constituyentes | Or 5th Ave & Calle 30 Or 5th & Calle 38, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Shakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We usually buy our cocoa here when visiting but this time we got some chocolate and some chocolate shakes. OH WOW! They were wonderful. Great end after a massage at Veronicas (around the corner) then get your shake and get your taxi back to the resort. Great, fast, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    767
    242
    53
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 visits in one day good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Yes, I did indeed visit Ah Cacao twice in one day! And yes I did go back a third time later in the week. And I was only in playa del carmen for 6 days. And I don't drink coffee. It was that good. Mocha frappe was the perfect solution for me to the hot, humid weather. My boyfriend chose iced vanilla latte and it was special.'The brownie was decadent. Boyfriend rarely indulges in chocolate and we were fighting over that brownie! We even met a local who told us this was the place for coffee. Yummy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great place to have chocolate and coffee! The desserts are amazing! I recommend the Mayan chocolate and corn flan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious brownie, even better service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The service here is always great- from the person that takes your to-go order to the waiters that make sure that you are satisfied with your drink/dessert. Great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the best little place for coffee and chocolate I have found. The staff are friendly and speak good english. The cappuccino was just perfect and the chocolate brownie brilliant. Its a great place to sit and enjoy your drink, just watching the world go by. Wish I was there now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.