We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy trails in Yucatan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Acuario Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Acuario Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Acuario Hotel
Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
sonoma county, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Happy trails in Yucatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

A sweet little spot, darling courtyard with clean pool and lovely gardens. Room is super clean and comfortable with lots of space for our belongings and nice little frig to boot. Love not being in a resorty feeling hotel, this feel like real Mexico.
From
Maureen and Dave
Sonoma co., CA

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    47
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
58
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon a sudden change of plans, we needed a place to stay for a one night stopover on our way from Mérida to the Cancún Airport. We found El Acuario at the very last moment on Tripadvisor. This hotel is small, quaint, clean, and inexpensive. The beds were a bit firm, the pillows were a bit insubstantial, and the room decor was spartan, but we knew what we were getting, and this place was an excellent value for the price. The pool is very nice, the location is just perfect, parking on the street was easy, the towels were big and soft, we all enjoyed the hammock on the patio, and the staff was excellent. Kudos to Diane in reservations for making arrangements for our family of two parents and three teenage daughters and for doing it on such short notice--and at a GREAT price!!

Room Tip: I believe every room in the hotel has a patio that opens up to the pool and central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed three nights with my Son. Can't wait to come back. Enjoyed it all, especially the hammock. I needed to feel I was in Mexico, which you can't get at a mega resort in cancun. clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere. 3 blocks from walmart for supplies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 9 days with a disciunt for staying the week!, and we had a great time! bed sheets spankin' clean, Pool was crystal clear, even the courtesy coffe was great!

The AC was pretty decent, considering the heat there, it was a welcoming experience to have some good AC!
The fridge was great, we didnt have to use the microwaev which was furnished to us!

We strugled a bit with WIFI, but we just had to put the cpu near the window and problem solved!

We made great friends, including Mike, and COCO the household cat who greeted us and would visit our room when we called Her!

Diane really told us where to go the good and worth-while places and warned us of the toursit traps and everybody was always friendly and helped us with everything!

It was overall a great stay and want to thanks Diane, Mike, Fabys Vannessa and her mom for a wonderfull stay!! Watch out for us next year!
Playa, here we go!! THanks alot you guys!!

Room Tip: Choose upstairs I think it is more spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I found this place on tripavisor because of the great reviews. Used this as a jumping off point to find a 6 month rental. Staff gave me a great weekly rate. Everyone is nice and friendly. Maids even did my laundry.

Location is close to FUSION so in 5 minutes your sitting on the beach listening to Live reggae music and enjoying the ocean

El Fogon is 1 block up and a must for affordable but the best luches Ive had in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a fussy, tricky englander arriving with high demands and high expectations but sometimes careful pockets, i wholeheartedly recommend this cute little diamond of a hotel.
I actually stayed here in May 2012 for a whole month and the fact that i just returned here for another sneaky holiday says alot.
I orginally took one of the standard rooms which was all fine but over time graduated to using the suite which accomodates all my needs and more ( basically a fully functioning apartment inclusive of bathroom, additional toilet, fully equipped fridge, lounge and balcony).
The location is fine, tucked a few blocks from the beach. I more or less arrive there in 7 to 10 mins at strolling place. It also strikes a nice balance with the costly 5th avenue and the more local, welcoming local restuarants and shops. Just across the street you have a fruit vendor who sells every juice you can imagine for a ridiculously good price. There is also a breakfast place across the street with evety manor of egg breakfast you could imagine.
If im feeling lazy there is always a nice pool area to hang round. The pool is always clean.
The rooms are all more than adequate with air con, tv, fridge and fresh bedding.
What really makes the hotel is the manager. I dont have enough good words for her, she is eternally helpful, full of advice about where to go and how to do things. That alone would be worth paying for but its all thrown into the price.
One guy loved the hotel so much he decided to become a permanent resident ! He and the other resident, a cute little cat provide a degree of entertainment and humour.
Whenever im here, i feel like im home from home with the added bonus of a beautiful beach and great weather at my disposal.
ENJOY !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What can i say----I have retired and am now living here at the hotel permanently---yes, this is my new home....You gringos may not understand this, but i do not miss the u.s.a.....I love mexico, its people and laid-back/slow pace lifestyle....That is why THE EL ACUARIO fits me perfectly---the staff is wonderful (love ya diane), location only 4 blocks from beach/makinng it so quiet---what more can one ask for? So, if you want to experience the "real" mexico and save muchos $$$, look no further...I guarantee you will not be disappointed....See ya MIKE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Acuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Acuario Hotel

Address: Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Acuario Hotel is a charming Caribbean hotel with only 12 rooms and one Suite. Located downtown Playa del Carmen, just a few minutes walk from the beach and the pedestrian shopping avenue. Beautiful, calm, relaxing, we offer an ideal environment for your family vacation or business trip! All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, fridge (or kitchenette), table and chairs, private bathroom with shower, and a spacious terrace with hammock and view to the tropical garden and swimming-pool. The Suite is available for mid- to long-term rentals (minimum one month), and has one bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms, living room with sofa bed, dining room, fully equipped kitchen and large terrace with view to the pool. Common areas: large tropical garden, swimming-pool, barbecue and palapa area. Services: free coffee, wireless Internet, 24-hours front desk, laundry, concierge, massages. We look forward to receiving you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Acuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Acuario Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Acuario Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.