We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Acuario Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added El Acuario Hotel to your Saves list
El Acuario Hotel
Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a fussy, tricky englander arriving with high demands and high expectations but sometimes careful pockets, i wholeheartedly recommend this cute little diamond of a hotel.
I actually stayed here in May 2012 for a whole month and the fact that i just returned here for another sneaky holiday says alot.
I orginally took one of the standard rooms which was all fine but over time graduated to using the suite which accomodates all my needs and more ( basically a fully functioning apartment inclusive of bathroom, additional toilet, fully equipped fridge, lounge and balcony).
The location is fine, tucked a few blocks from the beach. I more or less arrive there in 7 to 10 mins at strolling place. It also strikes a nice balance with the costly 5th avenue and the more local, welcoming local restuarants and shops. Just across the street you have a fruit vendor who sells every juice you can imagine for a ridiculously good price. There is also a breakfast place across the street with evety manor of egg breakfast you could imagine.
If im feeling lazy there is always a nice pool area to hang round. The pool is always clean.
The rooms are all more than adequate with air con, tv, fridge and fresh bedding.
What really makes the hotel is the manager. I dont have enough good words for her, she is eternally helpful, full of advice about where to go and how to do things. That alone would be worth paying for but its all thrown into the price.
One guy loved the hotel so much he decided to become a permanent resident ! He and the other resident, a cute little cat provide a degree of entertainment and humour.
Whenever im here, i feel like im home from home with the added bonus of a beautiful beach and great weather at my disposal.
ENJOY !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    49
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
58
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What can i say----I have retired and am now living here at the hotel permanently---yes, this is my new home....You gringos may not understand this, but i do not miss the u.s.a.....I love mexico, its people and laid-back/slow pace lifestyle....That is why THE EL ACUARIO fits me perfectly---the staff is wonderful (love ya diane), location only 4 blocks from beach/makinng it so quiet---what more can one ask for? So, if you want to experience the "real" mexico and save muchos $$$, look no further...I guarantee you will not be disappointed....See ya MIKE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome very close to walmart el fugon rest. Nice pool very lush landscaping stores are so near by beach is about 10 minute walk all I can say is that this hotel is an hidden gem thank u so much el aquario I will be back during bpm festival to dj see you then 2013

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is a bit out of the of 5th avenue. It took me about 15 minutes to walk up to 5th. I would recommend this hotel to no frills travellers, for the accomendations are basic. It has a nice Mexican feel, and its tucked away from the noised. It close to cheap Mexican restaurants and food carts. It's a good spot for people who want to brush up on their Spanish. I travelled there alone and I had no issues.
This hotel s good for singles and couples. I would not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at El Acuario Hotel for 2 weeks in Feb/Mar of this year.
The only "con" of the hotel is that there are no safes in the rooms or at reception. Though I had nothing go missing, it would have been nice to have some where to put my extra spending money right after going to the bank.
Pros: All the rooms have fridges in them and some have kitchenettes. My room had 2 double beds, fridge, TV, and washroom. I really liked having the vanity area outside of the shower/toilet room. I was up on the second floor, furthest away from the reception area. Loved my balcony (with its own hammock) and never had an issue with hot water. While I was there the 2 resident turtles and 1 resident tortoise got a new pool and surround. The rooms, grounds and pool were always kept clean. It seemed like there was always someone doing touchups around the property.
I loved the location of the property. Being 4 blocks off 5th it was always quiet, night or day. 3 or 4 times I walked the 3 blocks to El Fogon for lunch and then another 2 to Walmart for snacks.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

El Acuario is a perfect spot just a short stroll from the bus stop and the 'Ave'. Surrounded by local taco stalls it gives you a completely different feeling than anywhere else in the area. The staff are very friendly and the pool is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My two kids and I stayed here the last week of June, room 206. We adore this place and the room was very comfy with a fridge and microwave and little kitchenette. Also, Its hard to find a pool if you aren't staying at a big resort or super pricey place. And we like the location, a few blocks from the beach and 5th ave but with a town feel. I love the it coffee in the lobby at all times. The grounds are lovingly maintained, it's obvious. The maids are great and very sweet.

We have returned this week and now have the suite which is really an apartment that I never want to leave. Price is very reasonable and this place is awesome. 1 and a half baths, full kitchen living/dining room...so comfy. Seriously...never want to leave...but we will have to settle for just coming back again and again :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Acuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Acuario Hotel

Address: Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Acuario Hotel is a charming Caribbean hotel with only 12 rooms and one Suite. Located downtown Playa del Carmen, just a few minutes walk from the beach and the pedestrian shopping avenue. Beautiful, calm, relaxing, we offer an ideal environment for your family vacation or business trip! All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, kitchenette (sink, fridge, electric grill, microwave oven, kitchenware and dishes), table and chairs, private bathroom with shower, and a spacious terrace with hammock and view to the tropical garden and swimming-pool. The Suite is available for mid- to long-term rentals (minimum one month), and has one bedroom, 1.5 Bathrooms, living room with sofa bed, dining room, fully equipped kitchen and large terrace with view to the pool. Common areas: large tropical garden, swimming-pool, barbecue and palapa area. Services: free coffee, wireless Internet, 24-hours front desk, laundry, concierge, massages, bicycle and car rentals. We look forward to receiving you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your El Acuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Acuario Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Acuario Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.