We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Acuario Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Acuario Hotel to your Saves list
El Acuario Hotel
Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is awesome very close to walmart el fugon rest. Nice pool very lush landscaping stores are so near by beach is about 10 minute walk all I can say is that this hotel is an hidden gem thank u so much el aquario I will be back during bpm festival to dj see you then 2013

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
61
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is a bit out of the of 5th avenue. It took me about 15 minutes to walk up to 5th. I would recommend this hotel to no frills travellers, for the accomendations are basic. It has a nice Mexican feel, and its tucked away from the noised. It close to cheap Mexican restaurants and food carts. It's a good spot for people who want to brush up on their Spanish. I travelled there alone and I had no issues.
This hotel s good for singles and couples. I would not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at El Acuario Hotel for 2 weeks in Feb/Mar of this year.
The only "con" of the hotel is that there are no safes in the rooms or at reception. Though I had nothing go missing, it would have been nice to have some where to put my extra spending money right after going to the bank.
Pros: All the rooms have fridges in them and some have kitchenettes. My room had 2 double beds, fridge, TV, and washroom. I really liked having the vanity area outside of the shower/toilet room. I was up on the second floor, furthest away from the reception area. Loved my balcony (with its own hammock) and never had an issue with hot water. While I was there the 2 resident turtles and 1 resident tortoise got a new pool and surround. The rooms, grounds and pool were always kept clean. It seemed like there was always someone doing touchups around the property.
I loved the location of the property. Being 4 blocks off 5th it was always quiet, night or day. 3 or 4 times I walked the 3 blocks to El Fogon for lunch and then another 2 to Walmart for snacks.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

El Acuario is a perfect spot just a short stroll from the bus stop and the 'Ave'. Surrounded by local taco stalls it gives you a completely different feeling than anywhere else in the area. The staff are very friendly and the pool is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My two kids and I stayed here the last week of June, room 206. We adore this place and the room was very comfy with a fridge and microwave and little kitchenette. Also, Its hard to find a pool if you aren't staying at a big resort or super pricey place. And we like the location, a few blocks from the beach and 5th ave but with a town feel. I love the it coffee in the lobby at all times. The grounds are lovingly maintained, it's obvious. The maids are great and very sweet.

We have returned this week and now have the suite which is really an apartment that I never want to leave. Price is very reasonable and this place is awesome. 1 and a half baths, full kitchen living/dining room...so comfy. Seriously...never want to leave...but we will have to settle for just coming back again and again :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and really glad we did. Got a very nice welcome and free fresh coffee in reception. Had fridge in the room and a/c so everything we needed. It was all clean and the pool was lovely too. It's only a 5 min walk from the main street and beach so nicely out of the way. There is on street parking straight outside hotel which was also handy. Overall great value for money and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After staying at a somewhat cold 'business' hotel in Cancun, it was a relief to step into the funky lobby of El Acuario! We had a twin room (2 double beds) on the ground floor near the gazebo. Every room has a little area outside with their own hammock. The pool area is really what makes this place - it is so pretty and lovely to look at.

The room was basic but clean. We were glad to have a fridge in the room (not sure if this was standard). The bathroom was small and the hot water wasn't great, but it's hot outside so you don't care in Mexico! The airconditioner in the room was a bit noisy, however we never heard any noise in the hotel itself as all the rooms are built around the courtyard/pool area and don't face the street. The wifi worked well.

This place was about 3-4 blocks from the beach and main shopping strip in Playa. A great location. Playa is fun to walk around in and explore and it was fine not staying right on the beach or over the main street (that would be too noisy and expensive in my opinion).

I would definitely return to El Acuario if travelling to Playa again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Acuario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Acuario Hotel

Address: Av. 25 Norte entre 2 y 4 Norte Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Acuario Hotel is a charming Caribbean hotel with only 12 rooms and one Suite. Located downtown Playa del Carmen, just a few minutes walk from the beach and the pedestrian shopping avenue. Beautiful, calm, relaxing, we offer an ideal environment for your family vacation or business trip! All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, kitchenette (sink, fridge, electric grill, microwave oven, kitchenware and dishes), table and chairs, private bathroom with shower, and a spacious terrace with hammock and view to the tropical garden and swimming-pool. The Suite is available for mid- to long-term rentals (minimum one month), and has one bedroom, 1.5 Bathrooms, living room with sofa bed, dining room, fully equipped kitchen and large terrace with view to the pool. Common areas: large tropical garden, swimming-pool, barbecue and palapa area. Services: free coffee, wireless Internet, 24-hours front desk, laundry, concierge, massages, bicycle and car rentals. We look forward to receiving you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Acuario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Acuario Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Acuario Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.