We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fusion Bar & Restaurant

Fusion Bar & Restaurant
6th street and the beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
0044 203 027 7155
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Mediterranean, Grill, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little slice of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My other half and I stopped by in the evening for a few drinks to relax and take in the wonderful views along the beach. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the entertainment was a variety for everyone! We had already eaten that night but decided to come back for breakfast the following day. The food did not disappoint! Pancakes were so fluffy and light, the best we'd had in playa so far. The presentation of the food was excellent, with great attention to detail. The service we received was really friendly as if nothing was too much trouble. Overall a fantastic spot to relax, enjoy delicious food, and unwind overlooking the beautiful caribbean ocean! We will definitely be visiting again before we leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    349
    68
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San José
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reggae Nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A friend that lives in Playa took my wife and I there. There was some very good live reggae band that played through the night, also some fire twirlers appeared. Cold beer, very good hummus. A little pricey but overall worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“If all you're looking for is a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The restaurant has a beautiful view and seating right on the sand. However, the tables are very low as are the chairs. There is no was you can manage your legs under this table, so dress appropriately ladies. The food is only average. The prices are too high here. The waitress got 2 of 3 drink orders wrong. Service is slow. It does stay very busy but it struck me as a typical tourist trap. I won't be back for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FusionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Fusion Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view. As you said, the tables and chairs on the sand are low. We do offer the option to sit in the deck where you can find high tables and chairs still with the ocean view.
About the prices, we would like to precise that people must realize Fusion doesn't just offer food but also a great spot on the beach, a beautiful view, entertainment since the afternoon till the end of the night (2 different live music bands, a belly dance show and a fire show every night)

Also, Fusion is very known for being loved by local people.

We are sorry that the experience wasn't as high as your expectations and the service disappointed you. Nevertheless we would be glad to see you again! We always try to do our best and our goal is to make your experience fantastic.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stop during a walk on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took a walk down the beach on our first day of vacation and stopped here for lunch. The margarita's were good and the nachos were excellent. They were big enough for my husband and I to share. Service as good. We sat at low tables, with umbrella's and our feet in the sand. It was a perfect stop!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FusionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Fusion Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the experience @ Fusion.
We hope to see you soon!!

Saludos

Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food & service on the beach! Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family loved FUSION. Ate and drank here several times. Friendly staff, great food (loved the shrimp tacos!) and you can't beat the ocean view as your just steps from the sea. Highly recommend! Great fire dance show at night too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FusionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Fusion Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review!! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food, service and entertainment and hope to see you again soon!!

Saludos

Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Fusion Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusion Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.