We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lobster

Blue Lobster
12th Street and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
+52 984 8031200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1a sur y 5ta
Description: In July 1996 Blue lobster opens in Playa del Carmen to become a favorite of locals and tourists to enjoy a delicious lobster, fish and seafood. Built with tropical wood, stone slab, thatched roofs and waterfalls that give an extra relaxation touch. We always try to satisfied and exceed our customers’ expectations. Excellent food, polite waiters and a fantastic view of the fifth Avenue will make you spend an unforgettable night.We have capacity for 130 persons on two levels and an air conditioning area to 22. Blue lobster makes a compromising bet on mexican wine and regional sea dishes that result in a perfect union. They have created perfect unions for their wines’ selection through a very special menu that proposes the perfect combination between their gastronomy and their wines. As three dishes’ menu with different wine suggestions in order to please every palate: reds, whites, roses and foamy wines.
Dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband had lobster, which was very good and not overly expensive, I had the lobster ravioli and was pleasantly surprised to find large chunks of lobster on top of the ravioli.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are grateful that our dishes managed to top your expectations, here in Blue Lobster we are always trying to deliver the most exquisite dishes mixed with authentic Mexican dining experience, it was a pleasure to have you with us, come back anytime soon, thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    195
    59
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westphalia, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great restaurant right off 5th avenue. Basically open air and you can sit near street and people watch. Great fun. Ask them to make you flaming Mexican coffee...great show and very good too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
You are very welcome, and Blue Lobster thanks you for your review and your comments, we are always improving ourselves in order to provide the best Mexican dining experience, please do come back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“meal of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

No words can describe the food here ......
Never been so happy .
Well priced about $120 for 2 with drinks.
Only wish we had one in glasgow ....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your comments, its an honor to hear about your wonderful evening, as always is a pleasure to serve guests who enjoy themselves in the Blue Lobster experience, we aim to provide the most exquisite dishes accompanied with Blue Lobster's unique treatment, please do come back whenever you like, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dinner too but take care of the tips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great dinner too and the lobster tail was delicious but the dinner has been a bit spoiled by the behaviour of the waitress forcing us to leave a tips.

The dinner costed us around 1000 Pesos for two main courses which is already quiet priced then he charged me of around 150 Pesos for tips telling me 3 times is it ok ? is it ok ? when my card was already inserted in the payment machine. So what would happened if I would say no ? I had no clue if the waitress was only living on tips or if he also gets a salary.

To leave a tips should be only at our discretion, including the amount. This is not professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your comments, followed by this incident our staff had a meeting regarding the matter, and we will make sure nothing like such, ever happens again, Blue Lobster staff sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we hope this incident didn’t ruined your stay in Mexico, thank you very much for your comments because they are what keeps us improving and growing to assure our guests the best dining experience.
Whenever you wish to come back we are awaiting for you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemboke, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a great dinner here with my wife in april. The food was excellent, I selected a lobster tail and she had rissotto. We will definately go back. It was a little pricey but we didnt really mind paying the extra for a great experience dining out in mexico!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit is always a pleasure to serve guests who enjoy themselves with the Blue Lobster experience, our main goal is to provide the most exquisite dishes accompanied with Blue Lobster's authentic Mexican atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lobster also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.